ChickenNugget
Member Since 2025
Hi everyone,
My cat Artemis was recently diagnosed with diabetes on 9/17/25, with BG levels at 585 and NEG on Ketones in urine. His vet prescribed him the insulin ProZinc at max dose of 3 U with diet change of 1/3 cup serving of food every 12 hours and depending on his food intake, if he eats half of his serving, to give him half dose of 1.5 U. In addition, she prescribed the Free Style Libre 3 Plus sensor, which has been the bane of my existence both in numbers and technical issues; and a probiotic for 30 days called Proviable due to reported soft stools. Artemis was going to get prescription kibble but the vet clinic did not have any in stock so I googled/reddited and found out about switching to Fancy Feast Classic Pate - which I started soon enough even though Artemis was a Certified Hater of Pate for his entire life until now, lol. Picky eater.
I started Artemis on 1.5 U, mind you this was before I knew more about the dosing information of ProZinc from this forum. There were slight changes to 0.5 U to 1 U and then back to 1.5 U until now he's been on 0.5 U on suggestion of the Facebook forum page due to Artemis having dipped into the low 40s when his dosage was 1.5 U. He's been on 0.5 U for the past 8 cycles (?) and his latest PMPS was in the blue and I gave him 0.5 U with the +3 PM now showing 78 with glucose meter test.
My question is, should I lower his dose to 0.25 U considering this trend? I've had to supplement during the +3 and +4 AM/PM slots with Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - starting with 2 TSP on +3 and depending on the reading on +4, another 2 TSP.
Also on food, has anyone had any issues transitioning a senior cat from FF Classic Pate to the FF Senior Classic Pate? His vet recommended that after I informed the vet of the food change. With the insulin treatment, his constant hunger episodes and frequent-saturated urination have drastically decreased.
Artemis's spreadsheet is in my signature. Anything with * on it are glucose meter readings. As of 10/02/25, I'm not using the sensor due to technical issues that have driven me up the wall.
Thanks in advance,
-America
My cat Artemis was recently diagnosed with diabetes on 9/17/25, with BG levels at 585 and NEG on Ketones in urine. His vet prescribed him the insulin ProZinc at max dose of 3 U with diet change of 1/3 cup serving of food every 12 hours and depending on his food intake, if he eats half of his serving, to give him half dose of 1.5 U. In addition, she prescribed the Free Style Libre 3 Plus sensor, which has been the bane of my existence both in numbers and technical issues; and a probiotic for 30 days called Proviable due to reported soft stools. Artemis was going to get prescription kibble but the vet clinic did not have any in stock so I googled/reddited and found out about switching to Fancy Feast Classic Pate - which I started soon enough even though Artemis was a Certified Hater of Pate for his entire life until now, lol. Picky eater.

I started Artemis on 1.5 U, mind you this was before I knew more about the dosing information of ProZinc from this forum. There were slight changes to 0.5 U to 1 U and then back to 1.5 U until now he's been on 0.5 U on suggestion of the Facebook forum page due to Artemis having dipped into the low 40s when his dosage was 1.5 U. He's been on 0.5 U for the past 8 cycles (?) and his latest PMPS was in the blue and I gave him 0.5 U with the +3 PM now showing 78 with glucose meter test.
My question is, should I lower his dose to 0.25 U considering this trend? I've had to supplement during the +3 and +4 AM/PM slots with Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - starting with 2 TSP on +3 and depending on the reading on +4, another 2 TSP.
Also on food, has anyone had any issues transitioning a senior cat from FF Classic Pate to the FF Senior Classic Pate? His vet recommended that after I informed the vet of the food change. With the insulin treatment, his constant hunger episodes and frequent-saturated urination have drastically decreased.
Artemis's spreadsheet is in my signature. Anything with * on it are glucose meter readings. As of 10/02/25, I'm not using the sensor due to technical issues that have driven me up the wall.
Thanks in advance,
-America