Dosing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Member Since 2016
Smoky is on vetsulin twice a day, his new vet may switch him to Lantis at some point. How can I tell what dose to give smoky based on his blood glucose levels?
The vetsulin doesn't seem to be lasting the entire 12 hours judging by his numbers. Do you give more of a dose of less if his BG numbers are higher? So far his highest has been 333 and 380 but both of those occurred in the vets office.

I started testing him on Sept 17 in the am after I came back from vacation. So far his low was 76 with his crash Sat night and then bounced to 322, this was testing at home. Posted update of smokys spreadsheet.
 
Dosing is based on the lowest BG value between shots. With Vetsulin that is 4-6 hours after shot.
You want the lowest BG to be about 100. Based on your spreadsheet 1 1/2 units and likely 1 units is two high. I would increase to 3/4 unit.
Yes, vetsulin does not last 12 hours and if yo have too high a dose the BG will get two low.
There are two solutions, one is to dose Vetsulin every 8 hours and the other is to change to a longer lasting insulin (Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc)
 
Dosing is based on the lowest BG value between shots. With Vetsulin that is 4-6 hours after shot.
You want the lowest BG to be about 100. Based on your spreadsheet 1 1/2 units and likely 1 units is two high. I would increase to 3/4 unit.
Yes, vetsulin does not last 12 hours and if yo have too high a dose the BG will get two low.
There are two solutions, one is to dose Vetsulin every 8 hours and the other is to change to a longer lasting insulin (Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc)

I really can't do the dosing every 8 hours, there are days when I work a 10 hour shift and some days an 8 hour shift. I am switching vets right now and my first appt with the new vet is next Tuesday.

She usually starts with Lantus but told me I have to switch over gradually from vetsulin. So for now I can test AMPS, after work, and PMPS. I like your advice on giving 3/4 of a unit but how would I measure that on a U40 syringe? There was only one day so far that I did a BG, ,+7 after AMPS and that was after a crash the night before, and it was 173, am looking at my SS right now.
 
Last edited:
Your vet is wrong.....there's no reason you can't give Vetsulin in the morning and start on Lantus that night

Vetsulin is an "in and out" insulin, so once the shot has worn off, it's gone...outta there....there's no reason you have to "gradually switch"

The easiest way to give smaller doses is to use U100 insulin syringes instead of U40 and use THIS CONVERSION CHART

If you switch to Lantus, you're going to need U100 syringes anyway

If you still need to shoot this morning and don't have the U100 syringes, it may be best to just stick with the .5 for now unless you happen to have the U40 syringes that have half unit markings
 
It turns out the vet who told me I have to switch gradually is not going to be my regular vet. That will be the person who specializes in feline internal medicine including diabetes and pancreatitis.

I switched my appt day so I can see THAT vet instead. Smoky had some blood work done on Friday and some of his liver values are a little high plus he had a little yellow tinge to his eyes and ears. I am going to see the specialist on Wed for that, He did not seem to have any issues trying smoky on a different insulin right away.
The syringes have 1 unit markings on them but it is easy enough to measure half units as lines are fairly large.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top