BethB
Member
Hello!
I posted for the first time in the Welcome thread today. Since Riker is on Vetsulin, several members suggested I repost my dosing questions here. Riker was diagnosed 12/18/18 with a BG of 430.
The vet put him on an initial dose of 3 units of Vetsulin 2x a day and also recommended a switch to a low carb diet. Because I didn't have a glucometer at home yet, I was worried that this dose recommendation was too high. I never gave him more than 2u while dosing blind.
We started home BG testing on 12/23/2018 using an AlphaTrak 2 meter. I was just trying to get the most accurate meter, though now I've learned that I set myself up for extra expense on test strips. I've since learned that FreeStyle Insulinx strips can be substituted with the AlphaTrak 2. If true, that could save me some money.
BG testing was difficult at first, both Riker and his ears resisted! But we are in a good rhythm of testing 3x a day: AMPS, +5 or +6 and PMPS. Unfortunately, I am shooting with U40s and have been following the Vetsulin dose scale from that other forum. Fortunately, I have been home with Riker all day every day since the Friday before Christmas, and haven't noticed any behavior that would suggest an overdose.
(Scale I've been using)
Imperial BG……….Metric BG………..Dose of insulin
151-170………….……..8.3-9.4……………….0.25u
171-185……………….9.5-10.2……………….0.50u
186-200……………..10.3-11.1……………….0.75u
201-220……………..11.2-12.2……………….1.00u
221-250……………..12.3-13.8……………….1.25u
251-290……………..13.9-16.1……………….1.50u
291-350……………..16.2-19.4……………….1.75u
351-410……………..19.5-22.7……………….2.00u
411-450……………..22.8-25.0……………….2.25u
451-500……………..25.1-27.8……………….2.50u
He went back to the vet on 12/26/2018 for a BG check. He tested 288 at +4. I explained that I had started home testing and referenced the numbers I'd recorded. The vet reiterated his recommendation of 3units 2x daily, but congratulated us for being so vigilant.
Here is his BG spreadsheet so far: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1WTLPRrfYUQpYNXl4S-lPNqfZ7wpgm13qC2YW2gBIHa0/edit?usp=sharing
My head is swirling with everything I've read and all the variables. I just really want to get him regulated.
Questions:
-Anything I'm not doing that I should, or vice versa?
-Any advice on how to interpret Riker's BG numbers with regard to dosing/insulin effect?
-Does FDMB have a different dosing scale for Vetsulin?
-Should I be feeding in the middle of the night to avoid high AMPS numbers? I have an auto feeder I could use.
-Yesterday and today, I've noticed his breath smelling bad. Not sweet/fruity, but kind of foul. Is this bad? Or could it be because of the new high-protein food?
Thank you so much in advance. -Beth
I posted for the first time in the Welcome thread today. Since Riker is on Vetsulin, several members suggested I repost my dosing questions here. Riker was diagnosed 12/18/18 with a BG of 430.
The vet put him on an initial dose of 3 units of Vetsulin 2x a day and also recommended a switch to a low carb diet. Because I didn't have a glucometer at home yet, I was worried that this dose recommendation was too high. I never gave him more than 2u while dosing blind.
We started home BG testing on 12/23/2018 using an AlphaTrak 2 meter. I was just trying to get the most accurate meter, though now I've learned that I set myself up for extra expense on test strips. I've since learned that FreeStyle Insulinx strips can be substituted with the AlphaTrak 2. If true, that could save me some money.
BG testing was difficult at first, both Riker and his ears resisted! But we are in a good rhythm of testing 3x a day: AMPS, +5 or +6 and PMPS. Unfortunately, I am shooting with U40s and have been following the Vetsulin dose scale from that other forum. Fortunately, I have been home with Riker all day every day since the Friday before Christmas, and haven't noticed any behavior that would suggest an overdose.
(Scale I've been using)
Imperial BG……….Metric BG………..Dose of insulin
151-170………….……..8.3-9.4……………….0.25u
171-185……………….9.5-10.2……………….0.50u
186-200……………..10.3-11.1……………….0.75u
201-220……………..11.2-12.2……………….1.00u
221-250……………..12.3-13.8……………….1.25u
251-290……………..13.9-16.1……………….1.50u
291-350……………..16.2-19.4……………….1.75u
351-410……………..19.5-22.7……………….2.00u
411-450……………..22.8-25.0……………….2.25u
451-500……………..25.1-27.8……………….2.50u
He went back to the vet on 12/26/2018 for a BG check. He tested 288 at +4. I explained that I had started home testing and referenced the numbers I'd recorded. The vet reiterated his recommendation of 3units 2x daily, but congratulated us for being so vigilant.
Here is his BG spreadsheet so far: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1WTLPRrfYUQpYNXl4S-lPNqfZ7wpgm13qC2YW2gBIHa0/edit?usp=sharing
My head is swirling with everything I've read and all the variables. I just really want to get him regulated.
Questions:
-Anything I'm not doing that I should, or vice versa?
-Any advice on how to interpret Riker's BG numbers with regard to dosing/insulin effect?
-Does FDMB have a different dosing scale for Vetsulin?
-Should I be feeding in the middle of the night to avoid high AMPS numbers? I have an auto feeder I could use.
-Yesterday and today, I've noticed his breath smelling bad. Not sweet/fruity, but kind of foul. Is this bad? Or could it be because of the new high-protein food?
Thank you so much in advance. -Beth