? Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manami Tsutsumi

Member Since 2023
So, Lucas is doing well on 0.5U/dose BID. Last night, we dosed at 0.25U and he is 135mg/dl this morning. He is free-fed. Should we continue to dose him at 0.5U/dose BID or QD or drop to 0.25U/dose BID? Thanks for any advice. Manami

upload_2023-9-7_8-15-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-7_8-15-33.png
    upload_2023-9-7_8-15-33.png
    224.4 KB · Views: 162
It would be helpful if you can set up what we call your signature
Tap on the blue link or you can tap on your name above then tap on signature and answer all the questions on the blue link I gave your

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. It is at the end of everyones post in gray letters.
This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly

Looking at your spreadsheet you are changing doses to often , Lantus likes consistency meaning staying with the same dose for both cycles unless he earns a reduction or need an increase, that's why you need to read the 2 dosing methods and pick one to follow
Have you read about Lantus ,especially then2 dosing methods, they will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
So you need to pick a dosing method to follow and add it to your signature when you do your signature and to your SS up top where it asks you
Here is the link , read all the yellow sticky
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Mean time I will tag Elise for you and to take a look at your SS
@tiffmaxee

I copied what you said in your intro post here it is
He was on Royal Canin Satiety Support dry and wet for a long time (because another cat of ours is on constant weight watch). I thought that was good food for what it costs!!! Since the diagnosis, switched to recommended low carb Fancy Feast canned food. Some other ones like Tiki, Wellness, cats don’t like. Did a lot of research- now I have read through all the latest articles on feline diabetes and lantus treatment and guidelines for diabetes treatment. (I am a scientist so I tend to get really picky about all the data and info).

Are you still feed these low carb foods? No more dry correct?
Also you should definitely get one more test in after PMPS number ,we have no idea what's happening at night, so you are missing half the picture
 
Last edited:
Thanks. Appreciate your thoughts. Yes, I've read all the journal articles regarding treatment options. Trying to follow guidelines per Roomp and Rand (2009), Bloom and Rand (2014), 2018 AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats. Also Tilly's Diabetes Homepage (but go more to the published paper). And I have read up on Lantus.
Agree that we should definitely get one more test after PMPS! Thanks for that. I'm afraid some nights when he is already pretty low, and he does not eat much at night, he might hit lower BG than desired.

He absolutely does not eat dry. He is strictly on recommended lowest carb wet food (mostly Fancy Feast). He is not a big eater.
I will fill out the info on my profile. Thank you!
 
So, Lucas is doing well on 0.5U/dose BID. Last night, we dosed at 0.25U and he is 135mg/dl this morning. He is free-fed. Should we continue to dose him at 0.5U/dose BID or QD or drop to 0.25U/dose BID? Thanks for any advice. Manami
Lantus needs to be given twice a day because a cat’s metabolism is faster than a human’s metabolism, so I would definitely not give it only once a day (QD).
Are you able to get a test in every pm cycle? A before bed test is a good option.
I would not like to give any dosing advice up until I can see what is happening in the pm cycle. Cats often drop lower at night and at the moment there is no data to tell us what Lucas is doing for 12 hours.
He looks as if he is doing very well, by the way.
If you could start getting a pm test routinely, you could follow the Tight Regulation protocol. But until then, you need to be reducing the dose if the BG drops under 90 as per the SLGS (start low go slow) dosing method.
With TR you reduce the dose if the BG drops under 68 on the alphatrak meter.
 
Thank you so much the helpful input. Will follow up. I am leaving for a trip today but my husband Jason S. will be tracking. Thank you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top