Maybe 2 weeks it's not enough time to let Lantus acts, but I do not know about Lantus, but about Prozinc. With Prozinc you have to lower the dosage by 0.25 every time the Nadir drops below 90 and keep the new dosage for at least a week. There is also a protocol to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS.
I can see that it's almost the same protocol for
Lantus:
Starting Dose:
1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
- Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
- Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
- Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:
Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "
Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
I can see that Purina DM is a good option. You are doing great with Oliver
