Dosing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I'm a little confused about what to do. Squeakers nadir was 85 so I reduced his PM shot from 1U to .75U per the prozinc SLGS protocol. My question is--do I continue on the .75U for a week and then do a curve? Or was the .25 reduction just for the next shot and I go back to 1U tomorrow morning?
No not just for one shot. He was below 90 and earned a dose reduction. You stick with .75 now for the next 3 days or 6 cycles at least and see if he holds it well. I think you only have to do a curve when you’re increasing right @Deb & Wink ?
 
What Ale said on this reduced 0.75U dose not being for just one shot. That lower dose is Squeaks new dose, until he tells us differently, with higher BG numbers, another BG <90 or some other indicator (like pre-shots too low to give him the full dose).

Curves once a week when using the SLGS protocol (either for lantus or Prozinc). But it's much more informative to get data in each test cycle.
 
232 is a great ps number. You’ll only know if he’s bouncing if he stays consistent in the 200’s all day, but if his nadir is anywhere between 90-150, he’s fine so just continue testing today :)

that 168 last night was a bit low, but he was going up. Does he eat overnight? It’s possible he went too low after that, but again let’s see what happens today and he needs to clear the bounce for you to really know how to adjust the dose
 
Last edited:
232 is a great ps number. You’ll only know if he’s bouncing if he stays consistent in the 200’s all day, but if his nadir is anywhere between 90-150, he’s fine so just continue testing today :)

that 168 last night was a bit low, but he was going up. Does he eat overnight? It’s possible he went to low after that, but again let’s see what happens today and he needs to clear the bounce for you to really know how to adjust the dose

That's good to know! I feed him his last feeding right before I go to bed. He doesn't usually eat it all at that time so he does have a little something to eat when he gets hungry overnight. We'll just keep testing away!
 
If not and he holds in the yellow's for the next week, I would then increase back to 1U, correct?

Yes is the easy answer (I'm a big fan of the KISS method of answering questions....LOL)

Sorry for so many questions--just want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.

Never apologize for asking questions! That's what everybody is here for! It would be a pretty boring message board otherwise!

The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top