? dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

RRaptor

Member
Liv had some low numbers am +6 this morning and I asked for some advice over in the health forum and was advised maybe we should try a lower dose this evening. Just took pmps and it is 209. Any thoughts or suggestions?
 
I suggest you reduce to 1 u tonight. That lime green was a sign that 2 u is too much. If 1 u is too little it can be increased carefully in 0.25 u increments over the next several days.
 
@RRaptor usually when you land into one of those lime green numbers that earns a dose reduction. Are you comfortable trying 1.5u dose? Are you able to get a couple mid cycle test this evening to see how she is dropping?
 
I'm using u40 syringes, so I dosed at what I assume is 1.75. I can try to get a couple of mid cycle tests tonight.
 
262 at +4. She may have had a few pieces of the other cats' kibble. I think it's probably safe to sleep the rest of the night so close to +6?
 
I'd stick with 1.75 u this AM. The higher number is likely bounce-inflated after the lime green yesterday. It's best to keep a consisten dose AM and PM unless you need to reduce because of BG dropping too much. Frequent dose changes can make numbers even more erratic.
 
I'd stick with 1.75 u this AM. The higher number is likely bounce-inflated after the lime green yesterday. It's best to keep a consisten dose AM and PM unless you need to reduce because of BG dropping too much. Frequent dose changes can make numbers even more erratic.

Thanks! I'll do 1.75 again
 
It's a little hard for me since we do not know how low she went last night or this morning. Personally, I would probably stick with 1.75 because I have found consistent dosing to be important; however, I would also be sure to test at +4 and +6 so that I would be able to see how low she goes. That would accomplish two things - one, being sure to know if she is going too low so action can be taken; two, seeing the impact of the dose to help with future dosing decisions.
 
If you can, maybe get in a +6 and +8 during the day tomorrow. Trying to get an idea of when she is normally at her lowest.
 
If you can, maybe get in a +6 and +8 during the day tomorrow. Trying to get an idea of when she is normally at her lowest.
I'm home all day tomorrow and should be able to do more checks. Today I find that we are both much more comfortable with home testing.
 
@FurBabiesMama do you think a +5 tonight would be alright? I've only got two lancets and live in a rural area! I'd like to check tonight and amps before I'm able to get to the store tomorrow.
 
do you think a +5 tonight would be alright? I've only got two lancets and live in a rural area! I'd like to check tonight and amps before I'm able to get to the store tomorrow
That would probably be an ok time to see if she appears to be going too low or not. I would hold on to the used lancet in case you need to reuse it. It is not ideal to reuse, but if you have to, it is better than nothing. You could always wipe it with alcohol, if you have some.
 
I missed the +5 last night and Olivia got into the kibble before bed. We'll need to find a low carb kibble for the others or weigh the cost of moving everyone to friskies.

So, high numbers this morning 431 AMPS. I'll test more frequently today so we can have more data.
 
366 at +6. Has only had a bite of string cheese after last test / preshot meal
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top