Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly1988

Member
Ok Jax was at 388 pmps at +3 he was at 152 and now at +5 he is at 78. Lowest number I've come across with him. Gave some FF and retested approx 45 mins to 1 hour later and had 128.Nervous that he is going too low in the daytime when I'm not here. We are recently diagnosed. 2u of prozinc 2x a day. I have not been able to do a lot of testing outside of the amps and pmps. Wondering if I should reduce his dose since I am not able to test during the day.
Here is his ss.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...Ef1HC1dvfqfRItlirD0t3CFtK1c/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
Last edited:
Hi Holly! You're using a human meter, correct? 78 is actually a really good number, not too low at all. I would have been tempted to avoid feeding and retest in an hour to see what happened....but I know it's scary when you see double digits the first time! FF was a good choice...I assume it was a low carb version? I do think you might still be okay at 2 units, though it's hard to know...if you're nervous you could reduce to 1.75 (or as close as you can get to that). What time zone are you in and what time do you shoot? Forgive me if you've told us before...my memory isn't great! Any chance you could add that info to you signature so we'll know next time? I have to leave for work in a few, but I'll check in as soon as I can...I'm usually on my way to work from around 6AM to 6:30/6:45 AM CT and I'll check in as soon as I get to work.
 
Hello!
Yes i am using a human meter the relion confirm. Its was scary being his first time in double digits during a reading. Yes I did the low carb fancy feast he ate about .25 of a can. When I retested he was 128 that was approx 20 mins after he ate. We then fell asleep...he sleeps in my arms. I was so scared about 2 units I ended up doing 1.5 this morning since I won't be home to monitor. This weekend I was planning on doing some curves. Do you think i should go back to 2 or stay at 1.5 and do the curves just to see. Btw Jax is approx 9, diagnosed less than a month ago. Takes 2u prozinc 2x a day. I am on eastern time. Thank you for the support I just had a panic moment. I know green is good but seeing a number that feels so low is hard to get used to.
 
Scary but nice green last night. There was quite a drop from PS! Do you have an AMPS yet? I see you're on eastern time as I am.

I think a curve this weekend is a great idea. Why not keep the dose at 1.5 u for the next few cycles. That steep drop last night could be a hint that 2 u is a little too high but we need data to assess that. The dose can always go back up if needed but we like to do that in 0.25 u increments. If you have syringes with half unit marks that can be eyeballed fairly easily with a little practice.

Keep posting here for help. :)
 
I am hoping to move his schedule to 6am/pm from 645. How would i go about doing that. That way i could at least monitor him an hour or so before I leave. He was 398 this morning. I only have needles that are increments of 1. I'm using ud40.
 
You could move his shot time by 15 minutes for 3 cycles until you get to the new time. I think that’s a great idea...being able to monitor a bit in the AM will make life a bit easier!
 
There should be a link at the top of the thread. Its up to date.

So do i stay at 1.5u or go back to 2u? At his dose tonight?
 
Maybe stay at 1.5 u until you can do a curve at that dose. That can be a good baseline to start from.

We'll have easier access to your SS if you copy and past the link to it into your signature text (the pale grey text under a post).
 
Ok I will do another at +3.... I'm feeling another sleepless night coming on. You mean +3 right....not 3 more hours which would be +5.
 
My guess is he’ll be OK. Maybe one last test before bed? You could give him a little low carb food as a snack before you go to bed if you want a little more peace of mind.
 
I have been staying up with him and its really starting to take a toll on both of us his ears are bothering him today and I'm hoping to do a curve on Sat. Id like them to calm down a bit before hand. Any suggestions on helping them heal up a bit? I will give him a snack right before bed how much lc wet food do you think I should give?
 
I have been staying up with him and its really starting to take a toll on both of us his ears are bothering him today and I'm hoping to do a curve on Sat. Id like them to calm down a bit before hand. Any suggestions on helping them heal up a bit? I will give him a snack right before bed how much lc wet food do you think I should give?
Lots of people use Neosporin ointment (not the cream) with pain relief to soothe and heal the ears. The snack can be a tablespoon or two of regular low carb food.
 
Also apply pressure to the ear for a few seconds after the poke and blood sample...helps reduce bruising.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top