? Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daisygirl^^

Member Since 2016
I finally filled in last week of numbers on my spreadsheet. I wanted to do an increase because she's in 300s and 200s . However, there was few times she went low.

Any helpful advice is great.

Thank you.
 
Since you're following SLGS she's earned a reduction twice recently. Any time you get a number under 90 the dose gets reduced by .25u. Those higher numbers could be caused by lower numbers or big drops that you are not catching on days with no mid cycle tests. Tomorrow morning her dose should be 1 unit. See the last bullet underlined which is from the SLGS sticky.

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
If I reduce her numbers will be higher then they are now. In the 200 and 300?
They might, but those yellow numbers right now are from bouncing (see 2nd post in this thread for an explanation.) Her green cycle yesterday triggered a bounce to the yellow numbers today.

When you're dosing with Lantus, you're most interested in answering the question "how low does this dose make Daisy's blood sugar go?" Right now you know that the 1.25u can get her under 89, so that puts her in for a reduction to 1.0u according to the SLGS guidelines.

If you want to try to get her more in greens, you'd want to switch to following the Tight Reg Protocol guidelines. I'm sorry I don't recall why you're using SLGS - I'm not seeing that she eats dry food so perhaps it's just a choice? You test enough for Tight Reg. With Tight Reg, you wouldn't reduce until she goes under 50 on a human meter. That would mean she would stay at the 1.25u.

Hope some of that is helpful for your dosing question.
 
They might, but those yellow numbers right now are from bouncing (see 2nd post in this thread for an explanation.) Her green cycle yesterday triggered a bounce to the yellow numbers today.

When you're dosing with Lantus, you're most interested in answering the question "how low does this dose make Daisy's blood sugar go?" Right now you know that the 1.25u can get her under 89, so that puts her in for a reduction to 1.0u according to the SLGS guidelines.

If you want to try to get her more in greens, you'd want to switch to following the Tight Reg Protocol guidelines. I'm sorry I don't recall why you're using SLGS - I'm not seeing that she eats dry food so perhaps it's just a choice? You test enough for Tight Reg. With Tight Reg, you wouldn't reduce until she goes under 50 on a human meter. That would mean she would stay at the 1.25u.

Hope some of that is helpful for your dosing question.
Thank you
Choose SLGS because I work 7-5 and can't test if she gets low.
 
Gave her 1u this morning. Her AMPS was 477. So high


That high AMPS number is a bounce from the lower 125 Daisy had last night. It is even possible that she may have dropped a bit lower after that reading. One of the most frustrating parts of treating FD is the bounce. This unfortunately is quite normal with many kitties and it just takes time for their bodies to adjust being back in more normal levels. Hoping she clears the bounce quickly.

:bighug: :bighug:
 
That high AMPS number is a bounce from the lower 125 Daisy had last night. It is even possible that she may have dropped a bit lower after that reading. One of the most frustrating parts of treating FD is the bounce. This unfortunately is quite normal with many kitties and it just takes time for their bodies to adjust being back in more normal levels. Hoping she clears the bounce quickly.

:bighug: :bighug:
Thank you
 
I agree on the bounce. Looking at her SS there have been a few times where she really has big drops but both the AMPS and PMPS are high (7/4, 7/5, 7/14, 8/6, 9/10, 9/29 and last night). Remember low numbers or lower numbers with a big drop will create high numbers (bounce) which is why a mid cycle test here and there is so important. Hang in there, she'll come back down soon.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top