Mary & Simba
Member
Hello,
I've never posted to the forum for a dosing question before, but my cat's latest string of numbers have me frustrated. A little background, Simba is 1.5 months from being 18. He was diagnosed in December 2011, and then spent a lovely year at the falls. He was rediagnosed in December 2012, and we are back on the juice. His condition includes inflamed liver and constipation.
Once he started getting Miralax his numbers came down into a workable range. Then all of a sudden his regular shot started to carryover into the following day, giving AMPS in the low 100's, so either I am getting really skilled at the fat layer shot or the shot is too much now. So the vet had me try to adjust at will to his test numbers, and that worked a little, but we just had a week of icky weather that seemed to aggravate his arthritis. A little buprenex assisted that, but his numbers were back up in the reds and pinks. (He had an all blue day today, first day out of the crappy weather.) His PM numbers were back in the high 300's (some of it food).
My question is, on a .4 -.6 shot his BG plummets and sometimes hits nadir around +3/ +4 instead of his usual +6 / +7, then the shot wears off early leaving him in the 300's by preshot. Is this common for a smaller shot? Or do I need to increase rather than decrease? Or is a further decrease needed to get him to a nice preshot number as well as a green nadir? In the past I would have shot a 1u or 1.10u on a 300-500 number and everything was great, but now even those preshot BG's tend to hit the 2 digits on .6 or lower. What am I missing??? confused_cat
Also important to note we are still using U-40 syringes, so all these smaller shots under 1.0u are eyeballed.
I've never posted to the forum for a dosing question before, but my cat's latest string of numbers have me frustrated. A little background, Simba is 1.5 months from being 18. He was diagnosed in December 2011, and then spent a lovely year at the falls. He was rediagnosed in December 2012, and we are back on the juice. His condition includes inflamed liver and constipation.
Once he started getting Miralax his numbers came down into a workable range. Then all of a sudden his regular shot started to carryover into the following day, giving AMPS in the low 100's, so either I am getting really skilled at the fat layer shot or the shot is too much now. So the vet had me try to adjust at will to his test numbers, and that worked a little, but we just had a week of icky weather that seemed to aggravate his arthritis. A little buprenex assisted that, but his numbers were back up in the reds and pinks. (He had an all blue day today, first day out of the crappy weather.) His PM numbers were back in the high 300's (some of it food).
My question is, on a .4 -.6 shot his BG plummets and sometimes hits nadir around +3/ +4 instead of his usual +6 / +7, then the shot wears off early leaving him in the 300's by preshot. Is this common for a smaller shot? Or do I need to increase rather than decrease? Or is a further decrease needed to get him to a nice preshot number as well as a green nadir? In the past I would have shot a 1u or 1.10u on a 300-500 number and everything was great, but now even those preshot BG's tend to hit the 2 digits on .6 or lower. What am I missing??? confused_cat
Also important to note we are still using U-40 syringes, so all these smaller shots under 1.0u are eyeballed.