Dosing question - see my latest post...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Woke up this morning to Pumbaa racing around the house like he was a kitten again! It was so good to see this activity level, especially considering his high numbers in the last 16 hours...

Unfortunately, the Mr. Wiggle Butt personality was back as well, and he kept dancing around the food bowl when I was trying to inject him...he may very well have gotten a fur shot this morning. :(

Yesterday, someone pointed out a link to NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) to me. Great thread! Pumbaa definitely exhibits NDW!

I stayed up last night to get a +6 and to make sure he was dropping quickly with the increased to 1.5U dose. Kinda bleary-eyed this morning due to a lack of sleep. I need some of Pumbaa's energy!
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412

I don't think we have stopped by Pumbaa's condo before. It is so nice when they start feeling better. I would love to have some of my fur babies energy as well. Hope you have a great day and welcome!
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412

Hi guys .. what a nice report to read on pumbaa .. it's always encouraging to see them being active and feisty isn't it? Pumbaa, bring this number down and you'll feel even better, promise! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412

Nice to hear he's feeling so good! It's amazing really isn't it. It seems like the higher numbers don't affect them nearly as badly as they would in a human. I also wonder if the higher numbers that they 'create' themselves as a result of a bounce, feel different or less horrible than numbers caused by food or 'normal' circumstances.. if you get my meaning! Hope Pumbaa comes down a few floors today (but don't follow Rupert's example.. he's a bad influence!)
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412

Pip & Rupert said:
Hope Pumbaa comes down a few floors today (but don't follow Rupert's example.. he's a bad influence!)

*LOL* Rupert may be a bad influence, but at least he gets some blue and green numbers in there. Our two cats sure are bouncers, aren't they?
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451

Here's from the NDW sticky:

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

and here's from the TR guidelines:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

it's been more than a day since you increased pumbaa's dose. i don't think we're looking at NDW or bouncing - to me it just looks like high, like there isn't enough insulin. the numbers look very similar to a couple of days ago before you increased to 1.5u. unless you see a change, i would wait the full 6 cycles since you increased to 1.5u and then increase again.

you did mention that it might have been a fur shot this morning - if you think that's likely, then your count for 6 cycles would begin tonight, rather than with the increase to 1.5u. you want 6 consecutive cycles at a dose and then re-evaluate.

does that make sense?
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451

i'm feeling for you - i know it's crushing to see the high numbers. i'm thinking it'd be a good idea for you to do a profile on pumbaa and attach it to your sig line. in the absence of that, i'm going to ask you a zillion questions, because sometimes there are other factors that affect bg:

so

- has pumbaa had his teeth cleaned? does his breath smell bad (worse than just cat food breath, charming as that is!)
- has he ever had steroids?
- does he have asthma or take any meds for any other conditions?
- any possibility of other infections?

i assume he had bloodwork done when he was diagnosed. were his blood counts all normal? thyroid normal?
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451

Thank you, Julie.

Here's another weird thing. His +9 dropped 90 points from his +6 reading!

In my "spare" time, I've been trying to do Pumbaa's profile. Not done yet.

1) Has not had his teeth cleaned.
2) Breath smells like normal kitty breath. I just looked at his teeth/mouth and everything looks healthy. (But man, are the cats ever creating stinky poops these days!)
3) Never took steroids.
4) No other medical conditions and no other meds.
5) No sign of infection when he was at the vet 3 weeks ago.
6) Yes, bloodwork was done. Thyroid was normal.
Hgb abd Hct were slightly low - I don't know what those are.
Alt (sgpt) and Ast (sgot) were high - I don't know what those are.
Cholesterol was high at 380.
Glucose was high at 336.
Phosporus was slightly low.
Chloride was low at 101.
A/G ratio was high at 1.0
Anion Gap was high at 35 - I don't know what this is.
Absolute Reticulocyte was high at 99. That has something to do with anemia.
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451 +9/361

i'm not an expert at the lab interpretation, so can't help you. i was wondering specifically if he had high white blood cell count indicating an infection somewhere.

at these numbers, any drop is a good drop! :-D
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451 +9/361

Nope, WBC was normal. I didn't know if any of the other items that were not in the normal range were something that could be affecting Pumbaa's numbers.

I've been trying to look up some of the things that were low or high, but the vet was only concerned about the diabetes at the time.

Yep, any drop is a good drop, but it was just strange to see such a high number at +6 and then have it go down at +9. I'm confused. I think Pumbaa is messing with my mind! *LOL*
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451 +9/361

I don't know either. *sigh*

But I am rethinking trying to give Pumbaa his shots while he is eating, now that he is dancing around and wiggling and causing me to do fur shots.

I'm afraid of doing it while he's on my lap like with the testing, as I don't want the lap-sitting to become a negative experience for him. And I don't shoot him with cold insulin. I draw the insulin and let it sit on the counter while I do the BG test and then feed the cats. I'll figure something out 'cause I feel like every time there is a fur shot, his numbers are screwed up worse than before.
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451 +9/361

it does mess with trying to get consecutive doses.

i draw up the insulin in the syringe, hold it between my thumb and forefinger for a few seconds. it only take a few moments to get it to body temp. then i put the bowl of food down, punkin's face goes in, we draw up a tent and shoot. we used to try to shoot while he wasn't eating - this worked out 1,000 times better for us.

you don't want to leave the bottle/pen sitting out to warm up - i think you're saying you only have it in the syringe, but i think you don't need long for that.
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451 +9/361 PMPS/358

Yes, I put the vial back in the fridge immediately. But the syringe sits on the counter for the 3-5 minutes it takes me to test Pumbaa and get their food ready.

New thought on my part...

Since Pumbaa missed a dose this morning, and since his numbers have been so wonky, and since I am now feeding them exclusively the EVO low-carb canned, I am thinking that I might want to drop his dose down to .5U and start over with tight regulation, counting tonight at his first cycle. His numbers couldn't possibly get any worse than they've been, and maybe, by sticking to one kind of cat food, there will be some better consistency in the numbers.

What do you think?

Well, that is what I did. Decreased Pumbaa to .50U and basically started over again. After the fur shot this morning, he spiked to 451 at +6, but then went down to 361 at +9 and down to 358 for his PMPS. Totally bizarre. BTW, Pumbaa made a total little pig of himself on the EVO 95% Duck tonight.
 
oh suze, i would definitely not drop his dose and start over. he's way too high to consider that, imo. if he's getting too much insulin, we'll see low numbers.

his best bet is to follow the proven TR protocol. hang in there for the 6 cycles, starting tonight, and re-evaluate the dose at that time. it's great you've been able to get a food that will work - having consistent carbs will help us remain focused on his dose. hopefully we're going to see some better numbers soon.

edited to add - i don't really see wonky numbers. i just see high. but the good thing is that insulin and following the protocol to increase the dose will bring down those numbers. he'll get there. you're doing all the right things.
 
ok - seeing you just edited your last post.

i'm sorry - but i would encourage you to re-consider giving him the rest of his dose. if you do it within 1/2 hr i think it would be ok to just add enough to get the total you would've shot.

are you still checking for ketones regularly? he just looks like he needs more insulin to me and i hate to see him sit in high numbers any longer than necessary. we don't want him to develop ketones from not enough insulin.
 
Julie, sorry...I didn't get home to post what I was thinking of doing until too close to shot time. Already gave Pumbaa his .50U, so we'll see what happens.

What has concerned me is those black numbers, and how his numbers were so much higher than they were before he started on the insulin. That just didn't make sense to me! The insulin is supposed to help him, not make him worse. And I've read several people who have stated that the black numbers mean either too little insulin, or too much insulin. Logic would say that if it was too much insulin, we would see more blue numbers or more green numbers, but all I've been seeing is more red and black numbers.

Maybe Lantus isn't for my little guy. I'll probably wait and see what happens over the next two weeks, and if he keeps charting the same way that he has been, I will talk to the vet about changing him to another insulin.

I just want what is best for my little guy, and seeing him test in the high 500's is just killing me. :YMSIGH:
 
oh i can totally appreciate how hard it is to see him in high numbers! but what i know from my year + here is that *usually* the answer is more insulin for high numbers, not less. you've only had him on lantus for a few days - it WILL work for him, but he needs consistency for it to get there. you think you've had a couple of fur shots - everyone has those so it's not the end of the world, but it does start the count over.

there isn't any other insulin that's better.

there are many reasons for a cat to be in high numbers, but while we try to see if he's got anything else that we need to address (which is why i was asking all the q's earlier) he needs more insulin.

i hope you'll reconsider. those numbers have me concerned too, but i am thinking the answer is more insulin, not less.
 
I agree with Julie. I would not have decreased Pumbaa's dose.

The ALT and AST are liver values. Several of the other values are electrolytes or related to electrolyte balance. I would suggest you specifically ask your vet about these test results. If it's been several months since the tests, it may be worth having them repeated to rule out lab error.

Also, as far as a dental, it's almost impossible to assess what's going on in a cat's mouth when the cat's awake. The only exception is if the teeth are truly a mess.
 
Checked his urine the other day and it was negative for ketones. I'll try to grab him in the morning and test him again.

And Julie, I thank you, and understand your concern for Pumbaa, and appreciate it, as well! I'll test him at +2, +4 and hopefully +6 tonight, and see how he's doing. If his numbers go up drastically, I can always change his dose in the morning.

I've been studying and studying his chart, and there was just something so not right about how he was reacting to the insulin. Maybe it takes him more than 3 days/6 cycles to adjust. Maybe I haven't found his nadir point. I just don't know the answer.
 
Sienne and Gabby:

You know how sometimes you have to go with a gut feeling? This one has been gnawing at me for a few days. One more night of high numbers won't kill Pumbaa. Then I can evaluate in the morning. At least he got some insulin, and not a fur shot tonight. He was so distracted chowing down on the EVO Duck that I could have done just about anything to him. *LOL* (Oops...I forgot...) These lab results were done just 3 weeks ago when Pumbaa was diagnosed. I was assuming that some of the high/low numbers were that way due to his diabetes and weight loss, etc., since the vet was the most concerned with the diabetes. I should call her in the morning and ask.

Julie:

I didn't mean to imply that Lantus is bad...but it may not be the best insulin for Pumbaa. Other people have switched their cats from Lantus to another insulin with better results. All cats are different. :) And if Pumbaa is diving and bouncing on the Lantus, maybe a different insulin would work better for him. That's all I'm saying.
 
you just don't have enough time on it yet - he does seem to have a nadir - yesterday and the day before it was about +6. today's numbers were wonky.

i'm sorry to be so Henny Penny, but truly, i am worried about your decision. when you are new to this, you simply don't have enough experience to know and we see often on the main health board that people want to back away from doses hoping that the numbers will come down.

that can happen under certain circumstances - especially if the cat's insulin dose was increased too rapidly by too big of increments. outside of that situation, the answer is not to back away from the dose. and that situation is not pumbaa's case. you got him to canned food first, then started him on a very reasonable dose, you are increasing appropriately so you will not miss the "fitting" dose. but lantus likes consistency, and if you have a fur shot, it starts your count over again. that doesn't make it a bad insulin, and we all have had fur shots, you just get back on track and keep marching.

one reason lantus is so good is because it is slower acting and longer-lasting. that means that cats are less likely to become hypoglycemic on it. it's a safer insulin because of that.

any insulin you try has to be given a fair chance to work - like months to a year, not a few days. you have to be patient, go through the steps and find the right dose. it's there, but pumbaa hasn't gotten to it yet. pumbaa is not the first cat to arrive here and have high numbers at the beginning - he WILL come down. promise. we just gotta go through the steps.

the saying here is that this is a marathon, not a sprint. you have to be prepared for the long haul.

can you get a ketone test tonight? oh, and what does "5" mean in your column on ketones a few days ago?
 
:lol: you posted while i was writing.

he's not diving and rebounding.

all i can say is that Lantus is proven as better for cats. lev is good as well, but you haven't given lantus a chance yet. there is absolutely no reason to switch. there are no miracle quick insulins except the ones that aren't good for cats.
 

Attachments

There is a point that is made in the TR protocol on the Tilly website:
Tilly website said:
When selecting a starting dose, it is important to know that while Lantus and Levemir have a longer duration than other insulins, they also have a lower potency in most cats.
I think this point is relevant. First, because Lantus (and Lev) isn't harsh and doesn't yank numbers down the way the short and intermediate acting types of insulin do, you will not see an immediate response. It means that Lantus curves are flatter and that it takes longer to see a good response. You are trading an insulin that has a long duration, has overlap between doses, and had a cumulative effect for a type of insulin that will drop numbers like a rock.

It also means that Lantus and Lev teach patience. If you want to see a good response you need to give this a reasonable try. That means several months, not weeks. There is no guarantee that Lantus is the "right" insulin for your cat. But, if you contemplate switching too soon, you'll never know.
 
Julie:

I appreciate your being Henny-Penny-ish! I truly do! I love how you, and others on these boards, care about our cats and have the patience of saints answering the same questions over and over from us newbies! :YMHUG:

My vet wanted to start Pumbaa on ProZinc I think it was...but after everything I read here and other places, I was sold on Lantus because of the high remission rate. And I wanted the best for my little guy. I still do.

Maybe the wonky numbers did have to do with the FF Classic, and had nothing to do with the Lantus. Or maybe, just like some humans can take morphine and others get violently ill taking it, Pumbaa's body doesn't react to the Lantus correctly. Now that I've changed the food, I just want to start over with the dosage, and see if there is any difference in the huge bounces and dives.

I know I don't have enough history, but I do have my gut which has proven to be reliable in the past. What keeps bothering me the most is that he had lower numbers before I started him on the insulin. Why would putting him on insulin make his numbers go up so high, so regularly? I can't get my head around that.

The low dosage tonight is no different than if I would have given Mr. Wiggle Butt a second fur shot in a row. I'm really looking forward to testing him tonight and in the morning, to see how his body is reacting.

You keep being Henny-Penny, Julie! I know you're only doing it because you care!

PS: the 5 on the keytones is trace...one up from the negative reading on the test strips. He had ketones in his urine when he was tested at the vet 3 weeks ago, so I am pleased that they have gone down. And yes, I add lots of water to his food. :)
 
sienne posted while you were no doubt writing.

when i look at the day you tested before starting insulin, i see comparable numbers - 277-325. i don't see some low numbers that are better than before he was on insulin. on lantus i see a 182 and a 140.

he will get there, but as sienne said, if you weren't patient before, FD will teach you patience. there is no hurrying any of it.

adding water to the food doesn't prevent ketones - it is a first line of defense, but the recipe for ketones is not enough insulin + not eating + infection. i didn't realize he had a history of ketones, however, with that history we are extra vigilent about dose to try to prevent their recurrence. cats who have had ketones before seem to be more prone to them recurring.

we're just now getting the bbq going, so i've gotta go. see you tomorrow.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
There is a point that is made in the TR protocol on the Tilly website:
Tilly website said:
When selecting a starting dose, it is important to know that while Lantus and Levemir have a longer duration than other insulins, they also have a lower potency in most cats.
I think this point is relevant. First, because Lantus (and Lev) isn't harsh and doesn't yank numbers down the way the short and intermediate acting types of insulin do, you will not see an immediate response. It means that Lantus curves are flatter and that it takes longer to see a good response. You are trading an insulin that has a long duration, has overlap between doses, and had a cumulative effect for a type of insulin that will drop numbers like a rock.

It also means that Lantus and Lev teach patience. If you want to see a good response you need to give this a reasonable try. That means several months, not weeks. There is no guarantee that Lantus is the "right" insulin for your cat. But, if you contemplate switching too soon, you'll never know.

If I did any switching, it would be to Levemir, as that is more like Lantus, for the reasons cited above. The ProZinc would be my third choice. :) I truly do learn from all of the reading I have done here, I swear! :lol:
 
I hadn't realized that Pumbaa tested positive for ketones at the vet, either. I was concerned about the labs -- they looked to me like values for a cat on the brink of DKA. Given you had a positive ketone test, I don't think it would hurt to get the labs repeated in the near future. It's good that you're testing for ketones. Like I said earlier, I'd ask about whether the liver values are anything to be concerned about. There are some supplements that are good support for the liver (e.g., milk thistle, denosyl, or marin) that you might want to discuss with your vet. FWIW, I've seen people here use either the milk thistle or the denosyl.
 
hehe - i have one more link for you tonight - then i'm going to go eat and watch NCIS! wahoo!

this site is linked in the sticky above for the Tight Regulation Protocol. Tilly's Protocol is basically the same, and she's got great basic information that's pretty accurate. she also includes a lot of links that are very helpful - and if you scroll down and look at her stuff on insulin she's got some studies linked.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6importantfactors.htm

just a small point to make (hehe for now) - just because it's said on this site doesn't make it great information. make sure you look at the ss of the cats of the people speaking. what you want to see is a cat that's, for the most part, controlled and in green numbers daily. some cats are bouncy, so if you see a bouncy cat not yet controlled, that's not the same thing. but you want to see green most days.

many people try to offer advice but sometimes it is opinion rather than fact-based.
 
Re: 4/24 Pumbaa AMPS/412 +3/385 +6/451

Pumbaa said:
fection when he was at the vet 3 weeks ago.
6) Yes, bloodwork was done. Thyroid was normal.
Hgb abd Hct were slightly low - I don't know what those are.
Alt (sgpt) and Ast (sgot) were high - I don't know what those are.
Cholesterol was high at 380.
Glucose was high at 336.
Phosporus was slightly low.
Chloride was low at 101.
A/G ratio was high at 1.0
Anion Gap was high at 35 - I don't know what this is.
Absolute Reticulocyte was high at 99. That has something to do with anemia.

The Alt and Ast are liver values; elevation suggests the liver may be irritated. This could have happened by breaking down fat to use for energy, since there isn't enough insulin on board. If the liver gets very inflamed, it can mess with the glucose values, and may make control more difficult.

Hemoglobin (Hgb) and hematocrit (HCT) are red blood cell values. These cells transport oxygen and nutrients through the body. Lower levels can happen with illnesses.
 
You guys are absolutely wonderful!

I am working on Pumbaa's profile now, so that some of this information will be available.

Just so you know, Pumbaa's +2 test was 314, or down 44 points from his PMPS. What I am praying for is that he drops down into the blue, and doesn't spike up into red or black by his AMPS. Please pray for little Pumbaa as well.

I'm watching the little guy. Tried getting urine but was subjected to a big stinky poop instead. ohmygod_smile
 
julie & punkin said:
ok - seeing you just edited your last post.

i'm sorry - but i would encourage you to re-consider giving him the rest of his dose. if you do it within 1/2 hr i think it would be ok to just add enough to get the total you would've shot.

are you still checking for ketones regularly? he just looks like he needs more insulin to me and i hate to see him sit in high numbers any longer than necessary. we don't want him to develop ketones from not enough insulin.

I don't believe it has ever been advised to owners to shoot split shots except in very out of the ordinary situations and shooting too low a dose is not one of those situations..... all you will do is mess up nadirs..... not a good idea at any time. Stick to the 12/12.

It is safer to adjust your dose on the next shot.
 
Size

Hi...I can't remember if I've been on your condo to welcome you to LL but think I have not so welcome! :-D

I agree 150% with Julie and Sienne.....I would not have decreased his dose. What I'm seeing is he has been very flat today. For any number, there can be up to a 20% variance in the reading. So the 361 today is within the variance range for the 451..... In fact, all his numbers today except the 314 were within 20% of his highest number. Also, because of the cumulative nature of lantus and the depot, one dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. That means that if you continue to shoot .5u, if his numbers come down, it is likely due to his 1.5u shed for possibly up to six cycles.

Many times we see a cat start to do well on a dose and then numbers creep up. We're not really sure why but it happens.

I'm only seeing one huge bounce and a couple of dives. Overall, he just looks relatively flat to me considering meter variance. Insofar as black numbers can mean too little or too much insulin, I could say the same thing for red, pink, yellow, blue, or even green numbers depending on what the curve looks like. If you increase per the protocol, the likelihood of him being overdose is slim.

I hope you will reconsider and take his dose back up to 1.5u tomorrow and continue to follow the TR protocol.

Please let us know if you have questions.
 
shooting the rest of the dose a few minutes after the first part is hardly splitting the dose, nor will it mess with nadirs. suze & i were posting at the same time.

suze, i want to clarify what i said earlier about advice-givers. people can really understand their stuff and have a difficult cat - you just have to pay attention who you are taking advice from. i think i gave a poor description of how to do that, but i don't have a better way to say it.
 
Marje, thank you for the welcome and for the information about the shed, and the numbers creeping up with no explanation.

Wow...I like your interpretation of Pumbaa's numbers looking flat! I've tried taking into account the 20% variance, but those 500+ numbers are what are concerning me/stressing me out the most. Maybe what you said about numbers creeping up with no known reason has something to do with how the cats are reacting to changing over from needing insulin to getting their bodies producing it again. I don't know either...I just wanted to start over with Pumbaa and see if we could stop what I see as huge variances in the numbers, now that I know more than I did when he started getting insulin.

Don't worry...I'm not shy about asking questions! :) I freely admit that I was born without the patience gene, but I thought I was being very patient dealing with all of this. Really, truly, my concern was Pumbaa going into black numbers when he was not over 327 before we started the insulin.

Good news as well, at +4 tonight, he just tested at 393. Would he have tested better had I not done a fur shot this morning and had I given him the 1.50U tonight? I don't know. All I know is that his numbers are dropping. And I'll pull an all-nighter if I have to, to keep testing him every 2 hours and see where he is going (taking into consideration that the shed is also a factor).

Communication is interesting. Your explanation for sticking with the 1.50U dose made more sense to me. It didn't change my mind, yet, but I appreciate your taking the time to educate me.

BTW, what the hell is the "condo"? *LOL* I looked on the jargon list but it wasn't there. All I can surmise is that the "condo" is the daily reporting of BG levels.

Suze
 
julie & punkin said:
suze, i want to clarify what i said earlier about advice-givers. people can really understand their stuff and have a difficult cat - you just have to pay attention who you are taking advice from. i think i gave a poor description of how to do that, but i don't have a better way to say it.

Julie, don't worry...I never base any decisions on what one or two people say. I also do my own research to try and figure out what to do...not just regarding Pumbaa and his FD, but in all life stuff. And I know you weren't negating anyone on these boards for their opinions. You were just pointing out that we all have our own frames of reference when it comes to giving opinions.

We also have different ways of expressing our opinions. What Marje was saying about the shed now helping Pumbaa along really clicked in my brain, and I will take that under advisement. At the same time, if the shed is going to get Pumbaa's numbers down for a few days, then restarting with tonight's low dose and using the tight protocol from here on out should not be a problem, other than losing time on getting Pumbaa regulated.

I just really believe in my gut that this dropping of the dose and starting over was the right thing to do for my boy. I'm praying that it was the right thing to do. Please, God, no reds or blacks for Pumbaa in the next couple of days!
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
I don't believe it has ever been advised to owners to shoot split shots except in very out of the ordinary situations and shooting too low a dose is not one of those situations..... all you will do is mess up nadirs..... not a good idea at any time. Stick to the 12/12.

It is safer to adjust your dose on the next shot.

Gayle, this was a very out of the ordinary situation as I decided to drop Pumbaa down from 1.50U to 0.50U and start over tonight, since I gave him a fur shot this morning. Wonderful people were trying to convince me to not do this decrease, and to give Pumbaa the rest of his 1.50U shot within 1/2 hour of the initial 0.50U shot.

I love how much you all care about our feline family members and try and look out for their best interests, especially with this wild and crazy FD roller coaster (as well as the nutty humans dealing with all of this)! :YMHUG:

Suze
 
+6 tonight = 270.

While I understand that these dropping numbers might be due to the shed, they also might be due to too much insulin and they might also be due to getting Pumbaa away from FF Classics and eating EVO guaranteed low carb canned food.

I'm just happy that his numbers are dropping, in small increments instead of diving, and that, so far, I haven't seen a bounce.

I am pooped and need some sleep. I'm still praying for a good number (maybe blue) for his AMPS!

Thank you all for trying to talk me out of this experiment due to my gut feelings. Only time will tell if the experiment at the dose decrease did more good than harm. I can only pray that it did more good, overall. And, if not, following the tight regulation protocols from the new beginning might make a difference in how Pumbaa reacts to Lantus.

This is such a crap shoot, isn't it? I wish it was easier, not just for me but for our sugarkitties!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top