Dosing Question and replies to ?s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zinda

Member Since 2011
I finally have Splitzie's spreadsheet set up. Yay me! lol
So far I am still using the 200 no shot rule. Seems to be working pretty good for her so far. She's eating better, too.
Still figuring out the posts and what is ok and all on here, but getting there, and reading up. I'm posting her spreadsheet on here, too. Still waiting to hear from the vet. I called yesterday and he wasn't in, they took a message, but will probably call a bit later if I haven't heard anything.

Splitzie's SS
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

Good morning! We have never stopped by your condo before, so we wanted to say hello and welcome! You are in a great place with a lot of smart people. We are still pretty new, but have found this board invaluable. There is so much information that it can be pretty over-whelming, at least it was for me.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

Great job getting your SS up and running and linked to your signature!

A couple of thoughts....
I'd like to encourage you to get some spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles. Even on days when you may have skipped a shot, it's helpful to get a test or two in to see what's happening. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot tests.

When you skip, you end up depleting the shed. At this point, you're putting a lot of effort into getting the shed in place. So, rather than having to frequently skip, it may make more sense to lower the dose so you can shoot consistently at AMPS and PMPS. I'd suggest dropping the dose to 0.75u in order to see if you are getting a pre-shot value that you are comfortable shooting.
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

Right now she's getting 1u per day, so pretty much .5 each shot. So the .75 would be split between the 2 shots?
And definitely need to check more. I completely agree. It's getting myself set to doing more than just those 2 times. I've let my own go. And need to get myself in gear as well. Then could do both of ours.
Thanks,
Kathy and Splitzie
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

kathy, if you add your question to your subject line (edit the very first post here) then sienne or another dosing advisor will see it. also change the "none" post icon to a "?" post icon. that's right above the subject line. they don't check every condo if there isn't something to flag that you have a question.

then once you have an answer you edit the subject line and post icon again.

good job setting up the spreadsheet!
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

When you have a chance, review the Tight Regulation sticky. We typically change doses by 0.25u at each shot time.

Just to be really clear: Your SS shows you are shooting 1.0u most days. Are you shooting 1.0u once a day or are you shooting 0.5u twice a day? If you are shooting 0.5u twice a day and still skipping shots, you want to reduce the dose to 0.25u twice a day. The goal is to get Splitzie on a dose you can shoot BID (twice a day).

Remind me -- you use Lantus or a different insulin? If you're using anything other than Levemir, the dosing strategy is very different with Lantus and Lev than with other types of insulin. The pharmacology of Lantus is unlike the shorter acting forms of insulin. Lantus dosing is based on nadir whereas with other types of insulin, the dose is based on pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

Hi Kathy --
Does the "no am or pm" mean that you did not shoot any insulin?

If Splitzie is keeping herself below 200 with no injected insulin - she may be on her way to "diet controlled" and OTJ (off the juice)
 
Re: Splitzie's spreadsheet

Phoebe_Tiggy_NortonGA said:
Hi Kathy --
Does the "no am or pm" mean that you did not shoot any insulin?

Was wondering about that, too. I think she means that no insulin was given because the bg was under 200.

In the future, you can put "n/a" or "none" or even just "0" in the units column so that people will know that no insulin was given.
 
Yes, the no am or pm meant no shots because it was under 200. I will change my wording on that. :-) That's kind of the pattern I've been seeing and from what I've read on here.
I would love if she would go to OTJ or diet controlled. That would be great. {fingers crossed}
The vet started her at 1u once a day. She was getting the shot in the pm, then her am BG was high. So my mom started her on 1u twice a day, then she started to go low. So, she started .5u twice a day. She is on Lantus.
Forgive me if I kinda skip around, I'm rereading everyone's posts and trying to answer everyone. I think I got everyone.
Thank you so much for helping me through this. :-)

Kathy and Splitzie
 
Hi Kathy and Splitzie-

Just popping in to say "hey"! You're doing a great job, glad you got the SS up and running!

There is tons to learn here, just by reading the condos (threads) of other kitties and checking out their spreadsheets as well as reading the stickies at the top of the forum. It seems overwhelming at first, but everyone is here to help eachother out. Keep testing, and keep asking questions!

Amy & Trixie
 
So, it sounds like you are currently shooting 0.5u twice a day providing you don't have a pre-shot number that's below 200.

The goal is for you to shoot twice a day. In order to do that, it sounds like you need to lower the dose to 0.25u.

Also, if you take a look at the "Data Ready" sticky, we generally advise newbies to skip if the pre-shot is below 150 but if you are comfortable using 200 as your cut off, that's OK. Eventually, you will want to be shooting much lower numbers.
 
Ok, will start using 150 as my shot cut off. I know for myself 200 is still pretty high and I don't want her to be uncomfortable. So .25 anything over 150 and see how she does with that. And will go back over the stickys. I've printed most of them up so I can refer to them even when I don't have the laptop close by.
Thanks so much,
Kathy and Splitzie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top