Without data it's impossible to be very specific about dosing however if you got a reading of 47 yesterday, then the dose DEFINITELY needs to be reduced. Since you are still learning to test I'd reduce the dose to 0.5u for now until testing is a little more consistent.
It's important to test BEFORE you give insulin every time. If BG is below 200 on a human meter or about 250 on the AT meter, stall, don't feed and retest to see if BG is rising on it's own. It's also important to get tests mid cycle to see how low a dose is dropping BG. At night make it a habit to at the bare minimum, get a test before bed every night as most kitties have a tendency to go lower at night than they do during the day.
It would be very helpful if you could set up a signature (the light grey text below our messages) with information about you and your kitty. You should include your name, your kitty's name, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of glucometer, any other health issues and a general location or time zone.
To set up a signature, hover your mouse over your user name in the upper right screen. This drops down a menu from which you can pick Signature in the left column. A text box will open up and you can type in your info there. When done, scroll down and click on "save changes" and you are done.
When you are ready, setting up one of our spreadsheets to track the readings you are taking will help us help you. We can help you set that up if you'd like.