Dosing Marathon Continues

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks for the feedback, Sue. I summarized what's on the PDF in my lengthy post. I felt straitjacketed when he was on Lantus - so little latitude! I might be better able to handle it now with my greater experience but not yet. So - I'll raise his dose to 2.8 u either tonight or tomorrow and then hold it there at least 6 cycles. My impression is that I can't make changes too close together and I have to look carefully at the nadir number to gauge dose effectiveness, while not ignoring PS values. I think with Teasel, if I look too closely at the trees, I miss the forest. And I've been staring intently at branches and twigs for the last 2+ weeks! :)
 
@Carol & Murphy
Hi Carol,
I know you switched from ProZinc to Levemir because Murphy is hard to regulate. Would you mind reading my LONG story to Sue when you have time? You'll likely have valuable insights.
 
BG at +5 is 20.8. I think he's getting stuck on the ceiling again ... definitely needs a dose increase. His bounces don't necessarily clear. He can end up chronically rebounding, staying high, and then becoming insulin resistant. Basing that on past experience, both with Lantus AND with ProZinc.
 
Last edited:
Kris - unfortunately, I don't know what to tell you I switched from Prozinc because Murphy was swinging wildly from low to high most cycles. I thought Levemir would smooth him out. When looking at his spread sheet, be careful because when I switched to Levemir, I also switched to a human meter His SS looks better now, but in reality, his old blues are now greens, yellows are now blues, pinks are now yellows, reds are now pink. He's still bouncing all over the place with big steep drops (which I didn't think would happen with Levemir) I stuck with Prozinc for 10 months, and it's only been a little over 2 for Levemir, so the jury is still out. But the problems I had with Prozinc remain in large part. There are things I miss about Prozinc (the flexibility in both dose and timing) but I like the idea of a depot insulin. I really think most of it is individual cat related and the type of insulin is just secondary - Others probably have other ideas
 
:( I'm so sorry Kris I had hoped things would settle and improve for you both.

Just a thought - not that I know much but when your feeding your low carb food are you always feeding the same brand/flavour?
 
Kris - unfortunately, I don't know what to tell you I switched from Prozinc because Murphy was swinging wildly from low to high most cycles. I thought Levemir would smooth him out. When looking at his spread sheet, be careful because when I switched to Levemir, I also switched to a human meter His SS looks better now, but in reality, his old blues are now greens, yellows are now blues, pinks are now yellows, reds are now pink. He's still bouncing all over the place with big steep drops (which I didn't think would happen with Levemir) I stuck with Prozinc for 10 months, and it's only been a little over 2 for Levemir, so the jury is still out. But the problems I had with Prozinc remain in large part. There are things I miss about Prozinc (the flexibility in both dose and timing) but I like the idea of a depot insulin. I really think most of it is individual cat related and the type of insulin is just secondary - Others probably have other ideas

Thanks for this, Carol. I totally agree with you that it's likely cat related versus insulin related. My experience with Lantus, also a depot insulin, wasn't great. I didn't have as clear an understanding of bouncing, etc. then and he was on it only two months before his DKA session. However, my feeling is that going back to it or on to Levemir is no magic bullet because of Teasel's individual physiology. He might never be well regulated. I might change my mind but for now I'll stay with ProZinc and aim for a dose that keeps Teasel in OK, if not ideal, numbers as much of the time as possible. If I can find a dose that puts him around 300 at most preshots and gets him down to 120-150 at nadir, I'll be satisfied. Short of monitoring a day with some uncomfortably low BGs, I'll feel more relaxed/less stressed about all this if I stick mostly to PS and nadir tests, ie., less testing. Too much focusing on numbers (the trees) makes me forget about how he is over all (the forest).
 
:( I'm so sorry Kris I had hoped things would settle and improve for you both.

Just a thought - not that I know much but when your feeding your low carb food are you always feeding the same brand/flavour?
Hi Tara. Teasel eats prescription wet low carb food from the vet. I mix in a little store bought low carb wet food in different flavours of two different brands to vary the taste for him. He gets no dry food, no wet food with gravy, no free feeding, etc. I have three cats so the only way I can deal with Teasel's requirements is to feed them at set meal times in separate rooms.

We'll get somewhere eventually. He's reacting the same way as he always has since his diagnosis. The difference is that all the testing is giving me many "snapshots" through the day of where he's at. Same cat, more information ... :)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top