dosing/low BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I read the guidelines
Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
  • a.) give nothing
  • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)

  • I have not gone thru this before just before dosing Corky's dose 0.75 Is 10-25% 0.5 or .25 please advise. His Bg is 168
  • Im' kinda freaking out, I'm going to give just a bit less than 0.75, and mix a bit of medium carbs with his fish food, I am afraid when I dose him his BG will go too low, normally at this time his BG rages in the high 300's
  • Hope I am doing the right thing, I am trembling about this decision.
 
Last edited:
I read the guidelines
Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
  • a.) give nothing
  • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
  • I have not gone thru this before just before dosing Corky's dose 0.75 Is 10-25% 0.5 or .25 please advise. His Bg is 168
  • Im' kinda freaking out, I'm going to give just a bit less than 0.75, and mix a bit of medium carbs with his fish food, I am afraid when I dose him his BG will go too low, normally at this time his BG rages in the high 300's
  • Hope I am doing the right thing, I am trembling about this decision
I guess my instincts were good, I just checked his BG before dosing and by giving him the carbs it went well dosed the same, I get so so nervous when something new happens with Corky's BG especially upon dosing, even reading the guidelines, I am a bit dense on what to do, I will keep testing every 2 hours until 11 PM, just to be sure, I'm crying like a baby, he's so important to me it petrifies that on my account something happens to him, I apologize for my desperation
 
On 8/31, you shot an 83 with 1.5u. On 9/8 you shot a 125 with 0.75u which is the same dose he’s on now.

As a refresher, we “generally” don’t feed more than LC food between +10 and PS and certainly not so we can shoot. When I say “generally” the exception is if the kitty is below 50 on a human meter and we need to feed a little bit of LC to keep them safe. That might mean you need to stall shooting a bit because you don’t want to shoot a food influenced BG.

The other thing is you don’t need to panic about any number above 50 at +10 or +11. For SLGS, you would just reduce the dose at shot time (or when it’s safe to shoot) by 0.25u and recheck the BG in 30 mins to see if it’s going up or down. If it’s going down, then feed a small amount of LC and test 30 mins later.

If you get a low BG at PS, don’t feed, and post for help. Make it very clear that you have a low PS and are stalling by using a title like “PMBG 49 Stalling, Need Help Pls”. We use PMBG and AMBG if we haven’t shot yet. If no one responds and you have a BG below 90, skip the shot. Feed a LC meal and test after 30 mins to see if it’s coming up. You would want to keep an eye on the BG for at least two hours to be sure it’s staying up.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top