Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone, this was an old post that I posted in the Vetsulin forum, this is what my vet told me to go by when giving his insulin and how to adjust it, does this make sense to everyone, As I wrote she told me to look at what his last insulin dose I gave him, let's say the am units, now I test him at night, I look at what she wrote down for me about dosing and I then go by that, either stay at what the morning unit was, it increase or decrease going by what his BG was. Does this sound right

Mamakin
Joined:
Sep 21, 2018
Hi everyone I just started to home test finally, right now I have been giving Tyler 4 units. I went to the vet last night so she could show me how to prick the ear. I got it first try. So this is what she told me about adjusting the insulin. She wrote out. If greater than 220 increase by 0.5 units. If 100-220 do not change the dose. If 80-100 decrease by 0.5 units. If 60-79 decrease by one unit. If less than 60 skip dose. She told me that I would go by what his last dose was,trying to explain this lol .So he was at 4 units, I did the test this morning and his BG was 240 so by doing what she told me I increased it by 0.5 units, so I gave him 4.05 units. Now when I do it tonight I would go by his last dose which was 4.05 units and see what his BG is tonight and then adjust it accordingly. Does this seem right to all of you .