Dosing input

Tony’s person

Member Since 2020
Hi - I’m using Alphatrak2 and you can see my Tony’s numbers in his spreadsheet. We’ve been titrating down over past few weeks as his numbers have gotten better.
Unfortunately I have a big screw up on Saturday night wherein I gave 2.5u rather than 1.5u. I’d been debating whether to go with 1.5 or 1.75 and I stupidly focused on the “.5” part and did a brain blank on the whole number. Please no scolding. It was a horrible mistake and I’ve beaten myself up enough. I brought him into emergency vet where he spent the night on an IV of fluids and dextrose. Disaster averted.
Anyway, he didn’t get any insulin yesterday AM and only 1unit last night and this morning. His BG numbers look pretty good. Pretty blues.
My question is- should I stick to 1u or go even lower? What is the nadir number on an Alphatrak2 which would call for a further reduction?? And would I go down by .25 or by .5?
Thanks in advance.
 
He earned a decrease to 1.25 on 12/6. Are you following TR? If so the reduction number is if he falls under 68. I would stick with 1.0. With SLGS it’s under 90.
 
He earned a decrease to 1.25 on 12/6. Are you following TR? If so the reduction number is if he falls under 68. I would stick with 1.0. With SLGS it’s under 90.
Thanks for the input. So, sticking with 1unit now. With the threshold numbers is that at any point, or presumably the nadir? Is there a high number at which the dose ought to go up?
Are the reductions in .25 increments or .5 increments?
When are they considered a candidate for OTJ?
 
Read this snd see if it helps. Decrease are in .25 increments as well as increases.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

when to reduce depends on which method you follow.
Thanks. I’ve read that a couple of times, but I thought those values were if using a human glucometer? We’re following SLGS I guess. I say I guess because the vet hospital which initially treated him had him on such a high dosage, and it’s been me who’s lowered the dosage repeatedly. I got more aggressive about lowering it in past couple of weeks based on feedback from the forum.
At this point I’m looking for some direction of the sort in that article, but using AlphaTrak2 or other pet monitor values. thanks.
 
With the threshold numbers is that at any point, or presumably the nadir?
The nadir is the lowest point of the cycle, regardless of when in the cycle it occurs. On Lantus, my girl nadired anywhere from +3.5 to +13. So reductions are made based on how low the dose takes the cat, whenever that is.
 
Back
Top