dosing help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucy and Julian

Member Since 2011
Hello all!
Jules just tested a PMPS of 130! He was keeping a nice flat curve (however contradictory that sounds, haha!) yesterday, and I spent the day at work today so he only got an AMPS and a PMPS and he is lower than this morning.
Thanks to all your kind words and help, he is now on a dose of 2 units, and this seems to be great for him. with a bg reading of 130, what should I give him? When does it become not safe to give insulin?
He has eaten his dinner, and I need to dose him within the hour if possible.
 
Good afternoon, Lucy! I'm not going to be around to help, so I'm hoping someone will be along shortly to give some dose advice. One thing they'll want to know is... will you be around to test frequently if needed this evening, do you have plenty of test strips, karo, high carb food, etc., and how soon after PS would you need to leave in the morning!

Hopefully we can get you an answer shortly!!
 
I do have a hypo kit, obviously I do not want to use it! (who does?) tomorrow I have to leave for work at 7am, so pretty much just after I test him. Tonight I will be around, however, and I can test him.
 
Good deal! For future reference, it is best to not give food but only a treat until you actually give the insulin. If you are stalling because numbers are lower, or if we need to confirm whether the number is still falling or has hit bottom, it is best if we know that absent any influence from the food. Food will rise the number in the short term, but then wear off fairly quickly. We don't want to base a dose recommendation based on a food-influenced number, because the food will have worn off by the time the insulin is really kicking in, and you could be fighting all cycle to keep numbers in the safe range.

You'll see that many of shoot pretty low numbers, but we all always get advice when shooting for the first time at a given number. So you absolutely did the right thing asking on the 130 before shooting!!
 
Thanks for the food advice Christie! I will keep that in mind! And yeah this is the lowest I will (possibly) shoot at, and that is a really scary thought :o
 
it has been about an hour, have you shot yet? If not, I would test again and see if he has gone up at all.

I'm having storms here and keep losing my internet, but if you'll post the next number someone should be able to help you.
 
sorry you were on your own tonight...

I'm glad you got the +14. What it shows us is that Julian started a pretty fast rise after +12. In most cats, the insulin doesn't start working until about 2 or 3 hours after the shot is given. If you HAD given the shot at 130, then the insulin would probably be starting to work soon, and he is already in the high 200s. So shooting probably would have been safe. Usually the first time somebody gets a low preshot, we'll ask them to stall for maybe 1/2 hour (without feeding), then test again to see if the cat is rising and how fast they are rising. Usually they are rising by then, so the person is comfortable shooting.

For future reference, if you find yourself on your own again you can refer to this post on Dealing With Low Preshots. I agree, though, that for your first time with a lower preshot that asking for help was the thing to do. It's just a slow night here, evidently.
 
Lucy: I'm so sorry, too. I actually was around and could have helped you with a low PS and shooting but your subject line kept me from jumping in; I thought you just needed dosing advice and I typically don't want to do that with a new kitty.

Might I suggest that in the future if you are stalling that you post the +12 number and put "stalling" in the subject line with it? I bet you'll get more eyes faster if you do. I feel so bad that you needed help and I didn't pop in as I am just sitting here helping someone else.

It's ok...tomorrow is another day!!! Take care and get some rest!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top