Dosing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

NancyJH

Member Since 2020
Hi - I posted this this morning on the Prozinc page but got no replies so I thought I’d try here.
Can someone please give me some dosing help to avoid high morning numbers. I’m not sure if I should be increasing or decreasing his dose. Thanks!
Nancy and Lenny
 
Nancy --

I think your cat needs more insulin! I'd really encourage you to read over the dosing guidelines from the Prozinc forum. In particular, I'd suggest sticking with Start Low Go Slow unless you're comfortable with the modified method -- the doses are held for a shorter time. In general, I think you've held doses a bit longer than necessary. I'd also not be fattening or shaving the dose. That's typically done when you're closer to what is a good dose for your kitty.

It's likely that the higher AM numbers are due to dawn phenomenon. There's a normal biological cycle whereby stress hormones begin to rise in preparation for the stress of the day. This causes AM numbers to be a littler higher. However, Lenny's numbers are higher than I'd like to see them in general.

I'm tagging @JanetNJ who is a Prozinc user. She's not been around as much so it may be some time before she weighs in.
 
If it were my cat is raise to 1.5 or 1.75. We want to see the lowest numbers closer to 100

You had a nice 90 on the 17th but then lowered the dose a lot. How come?
 
If it were my cat is raise to 1.5 or 1.75. We want to see the lowest numbers closer to 100

You had a nice 90 on the 17th but then lowered the dose a lot. How come?

i lowered the dose because I panicked because the 90 was lower than my other numbers. I’m always so afraid the number will drop too low.
 
i lowered the dose because I panicked because the 90 was lower than my other numbers. I’m always so afraid the number will drop too low.
90 is right where you want to be. :) If youre nervous than just raise to 1.5. Leave it for a week and reevaluate.
 
Copying and pasting my reply from the ProZinc thread...

Have you read through the ProZinc dosing methods here? Overall you are holding doses for what seems to be far too long. Ideally, your tests would be spread out throughout the cycle so we can have a picture of each point in the cycle - meaning some tests at +2 and +5, or +4 and +7, +1s and +10s. Not all on the same day, but over the course of a few days to a week, just be moving the test times around. Alternatively, a weekly curve.

I do think he needs an increase but am not comfortable saying that when there are very few to no tests in the first 6 hours of cycles
 
Copying and pasting my reply from the ProZinc thread...

Have you read through the ProZinc dosing methods here? Overall you are holding doses for what seems to be far too long. Ideally, your tests would be spread out throughout the cycle so we can have a picture of each point in the cycle - meaning some tests at +2 and +5, or +4 and +7, +1s and +10s. Not all on the same day, but over the course of a few days to a week, just be moving the test times around. Alternatively, a weekly curve.

I do think he needs an increase but am not comfortable saying that when there are very few to no tests in the first 6 hours of cycles
I will reread the dosing methods. Even though Lenny has been on insulin for two years I’m still not comfortable with this whole process☹️. I will start testing him at different times to get a better idea. Thanks!
 
It can take time to get used to lower numbers. Those green numbers can become a bit addictive, though! Please let us know how we can help.
 
It can take time to get used to lower numbers. Those green numbers can become a bit addictive, though! Please let us know how we can help.
This is where I get confused. If I get a lower number I think I need to lower the dose so it doesn’t go too low, but I’m guessing that when the number is low I should continue the higher dose? I mostly get nervous for the overnight numbers.
 
This is where I get confused. If I get a lower number I think I need to lower the dose so it doesn’t go too low, but I’m guessing that when the number is low I should continue the higher dose? I mostly get nervous for the overnight numbers.
This is where the dosing methods will help - they put a method to the madness, so to speak. We dose based on nadir, that 90 was perfect (the more aggressive method doesn't reduce until 40s-ish for a long term diabetic, so 90 is nice and comfy). Now if you get an unusually low preshot, that's where you'd stall without feeding and ask for advice in the main forum.
 
I increased Lenny’s insulin to 1.5 units. I had a 514 one morning and last night it dropped half in two hours and went back up to the 400s. I was going to test him mid morning but I give him a snack three hours after his insulin so I’m afraid the snack will affect the test.
 
I increased Lenny’s insulin to 1.5 units. I had a 514 one morning and last night it dropped half in two hours and went back up to the 400s. I was going to test him mid morning but I give him a snack three hours after his insulin so I’m afraid the snack will affect the test.
Nice blues last night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top