If it were my cat is raise to 1.5 or 1.75. We want to see the lowest numbers closer to 100
You had a nice 90 on the 17th but then lowered the dose a lot. How come?
90 is right where you want to be.i lowered the dose because I panicked because the 90 was lower than my other numbers. I’m always so afraid the number will drop too low.
I will reread the dosing methods. Even though Lenny has been on insulin for two years I’m still not comfortable with this whole processCopying and pasting my reply from the ProZinc thread...
Have you read through the ProZinc dosing methods here? Overall you are holding doses for what seems to be far too long. Ideally, your tests would be spread out throughout the cycle so we can have a picture of each point in the cycle - meaning some tests at +2 and +5, or +4 and +7, +1s and +10s. Not all on the same day, but over the course of a few days to a week, just be moving the test times around. Alternatively, a weekly curve.
I do think he needs an increase but am not comfortable saying that when there are very few to no tests in the first 6 hours of cycles
This is where I get confused. If I get a lower number I think I need to lower the dose so it doesn’t go too low, but I’m guessing that when the number is low I should continue the higher dose? I mostly get nervous for the overnight numbers.It can take time to get used to lower numbers. Those green numbers can become a bit addictive, though! Please let us know how we can help.
This is where the dosing methods will help - they put a method to the madness, so to speak. We dose based on nadir, that 90 was perfect (the more aggressive method doesn't reduce until 40s-ish for a long term diabetic, so 90 is nice and comfy). Now if you get an unusually low preshot, that's where you'd stall without feeding and ask for advice in the main forum.This is where I get confused. If I get a lower number I think I need to lower the dose so it doesn’t go too low, but I’m guessing that when the number is low I should continue the higher dose? I mostly get nervous for the overnight numbers.
Nice blues last nightI increased Lenny’s insulin to 1.5 units. I had a 514 one morning and last night it dropped half in two hours and went back up to the 400s. I was going to test him mid morning but I give him a snack three hours after his insulin so I’m afraid the snack will affect the test.