Dosing help

Mhpfed

Member Since 2020
I mentioned in my new member post that Furril had a glucose level of 38 2 nights ago and we brought him to the ER. The vet never discussed checking glucose before each injection but I will do it from now on. I've updated his spreadsheet-although it's a bit messy because until yesterday I'd only been doing glucose curves so I added those to it as well.

Basically I'm really scared about sending him into hypoglycemia again and with his glucose at 198 how much insulin should I give him today? He was on 3 units for a few days which was clearly too high. Should I give him 2 this AM?
 
Okay he's on the way up so if you can monitor today I'd try 1.5u

If you've skipped any shots like yesterday please put "skipped" in the dosage section on your spreadsheet. Also for today put 198, 245 (+12.20) in the AMPS cell and manually color it blue.
 
thank you so much! Spreadsheet is updated and yes, I do have karo syrup on hand.

I'm working from home but do have to go into the office a bit today from 1-7. It's a 4 minute walk from home so I can keep checking on him. How often should I check on him and just monitoring for sx or actually doing readings?
 
Get a +2 (2 hours after insulin) if you can, that will tell us what he'll be doing today. You do feed small snacks of food throughout the day, yes? He'll need some at +2.
 
Most gravy lovers from Fancy Feast will be medium-high carb. The more I think about it the more I'd like to stunt that drop early.
 
just gave him some med-carb food. should i test sugar again since it's been 30 mins since last one or wait til food kicks in?
 
Put it in with the same hour, for example if it was

+2 98
+2.20 107
+2.40 127

You'd put them all in the +2 cell, like so

98, 107 (+2.20), 127 (+2.40)

And then color the cell green.
 
Just tested again and he is still at 98. I'm assuming no insulin tonight?

Thank you for all your help!
 
Probably - could you update your spreadsheet for us? I'm hoping Deb will have time to peek here and give dosing advice going forward.
 
I think you are going to need to skip the insulin again tonight, if Furrill's BG level is not >150 mg/dL.

I know it's a pain to do this, but could you please add a row for each day?
I realize you don't have test data for all those days, but it helps my mind process the SS (spreadsheet) information better if there is a row for each day.
Plus, Furrill was probably getting insulin back in August and early September, and it's good to know what dose he was on.

Did you change the food recently?
Would you please tell us what you are feeding Furril? Be very specific if you would please.

I think the 1.5U dose is too high. But if could let us know about the food, that would be great. Thanks.

p.s. Waving to you from the North Shore of Massachusetts.
 
Never mind on the food, I found your other thread. See that you changed from Fancy Feast and Friskies to Walmart's Special Kitty wet food. Is that correct?

Which flavors/kinds of the Fancy Feast/Friskies was Furril eating before?
 
Put it in with the same hour, for example if it was

+2 98
+2.20 107
+2.40 127

You'd put them all in the +2 cell, like so

98, 107 (+2.20), 127 (+2.40)

And then color the cell green.
@Panic I’m just following along quietly and don’t want to distract ... but are we really at the granularity of tenths of an hour (6 minutes) these days? For example, +2.20 is 2 hours and 12 minutes after the last shot, and +2.40 is 2 hrs and 24 minutes. I’ve always just rounded to the quarter hour as in every 15 minutes (+2.25, +2.5, +2.75) but if that’s no longer the standard, I’d like to make sure I’m keeping up to date since I haven’t been around as much recently...
 
@Panic I’m just following along quietly and don’t want to distract ... but are we really at the granularity of tenths of an hour (6 minutes) these days? For example, +2.20 is 2 hours and 12 minutes after the last shot, and +2.40 is 2 hrs and 24 minutes. I’ve always just rounded to the quarter hour as in every 15 minutes (+2.25, +2.5, +2.75) but if that’s no longer the standard, I’d like to make sure I’m keeping up to date since I haven’t been around as much recently...
As far as I understand, 2.20 just means a third into the hour, or 20 min past +2.
 
As far as I understand, 2.20 just means a third into the hour, or 20 min past +2.
A decimal by definition means “tenths” so 1/10 of an hour is 6 minutes and 2/10 of an hour is 12 minutes.

One-third of an hour (twenty minutes past the hour) would be +2.33.

But thanks — I think I understand what’s happening now. :)
 
A decimal by definition means “tenths” so 1/10 of an hour is 6 minutes and 2/10 of an hour is 12 minutes.

One-third of an hour would be +2.33.

But thanks — I think I understand what’s happening now. :)
Yes I see where you're coming from too! That's just the way I was taught to input data, I suppose there's multiple ways to do it as long as the reader knows what you mean. :confused:
Perhaps it would make more sense if it was 2:20 instead!
 
Yes I see where you're coming from too! That's just the way I was taught to input data, I suppose there's multiple ways to do it as long as the reader knows what you mean. :confused:
Perhaps it would make more sense if it was 2:20 instead!
To the best of my recollection, we always talked in 15 minute (quarter-hour or 0.25) increments, but I was here way before the FDMB spreadsheets even existed. I suspect someone along the line got confused and then the erroneous math propagated forward. It’s a technicality, I suppose, but I’d sure like to go back to teaching newbies the (technically) correct way to record results. Anyway, I took this thread way off topic so I’ll drop it now. I’ve been wondering about this for awhile so thanks for answering!
 
To the best of my recollection, we always talked in 15 minute (quarter-hour or 0.25) increments, but I was here way before spreadsheets even existed. I suspect someone along the line got confused and then the erroneous math propagated forward. It’s a technicality, I suppose, but I’d sure like to go back to teaching newbies the (technically) correct way to record results.
You raise a good point though - because I also would do 2.5 for half hour, but 2.40 is supposed to mean more than 2.5 so now I'm re-evaluating everything. :confused: I'm very bad at math so never questioned the technicalities of it all. So I'm assuming you just rounded up/down if you tested in 20 min, so instead of 2.20 it would be 2.25 for "15". Blech, making my head hurt just thinking of it! I've seen it done multiple ways (2.20, 2.25, 2.33, etc). Wonder if there's a note on it on the spreadsheet instructions :bookworm: But yes thank you for bringing that up, gonna go look into it.
 
at 126 now

also where would I put these last 2 numbers on the spread sheet?
You put multiple BG values in one cell along with the amount of time (in 15 minute increments) since the last shot. You’ll also have to manually color code that cell. So +2 is two hours after the last shot, +2.25 is two hours and 15 minutes after the last shot, +2.5 is two hours and 30 minutes after the last shot, and +2.75 is two hours and 45 minutes after the last shot. (Hopefully that makes sense)

To the best I can interpret the time stamps on your posts, you tested at +2, +2.5, and maybe +3?

If so, in the +2 cell, you’d put:
98
107 @+2.5

And in the +3 cell, you’d put the 126.

It’s not an exact science — some people prefer parens to the @ sign — but the important thing is that we can quickly assess where in the cycle the readings occurred and how quickly they’re shifting. It also helps to add notes in the column at the far right to notate if you intervened with food to help bring up the numbers.

The whole diabetes thing is a lot to wrap your head around and you’re doing great. :-)
 
thank you for all the assistance yesterday, everyone! I've updated Furril's spreadsheet with more info of glucose and BG from the vets office. I will add all the other dates like DebandWink suggested but am not able to do so right now.

I'd like some help with insulin this AM as well. His BG was 132. This is all so confusing! I feel like it should be a good thing that I skipped insulin last night and his sugar is still pretty low but it seems like it just makes it more complicated.
 
Definite no insulin/skip number. Can you get a couple of tests in today see how he does without insulin?

How long ago did you remove all dry food?

ETA - Have you been doing a transition or stop all at once?
 
Last edited:
Definite no insulin/skip number. Can you get a couple of tests in today see how he does without insulin?

How long ago did you remove all dry food?

ETA - Have you been doing a transition or stop all at once?
switched to all wet food by 8/28. Will do some more BG today
 
It's time for insulin tonight. Not sure if he should get a shot or not. Hasn't had one since yesterday AM. BG at 191. I'm so scared of another late night hypo event.

@Deb & Wink if you have a moment to advise
 
Deb may not be online yet.

How would you feel about just a token dose, 0.10u? He is heading up but I think 1.5u is too much, especially since you've been skipping lately.
 
Back
Top