Dosing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mphair84

Member Since 2018
So yesterday my cat had his dental done. I had to skip the morning dose and I gave him his regular dose in the evening so he was in the blacks. This morning he was lower than usual but I could still give his dose. It wasn't that much out of the ordinary, but usally its the PMPS. He's in the green right now. I only have until 7 to dose him. I'm assuming his insulin will go up but I'm not quite sure how high it will go up. Now depending on how low his BG is I don't want to skip a dose. So I should give him a token dose. I can monitor him tonight.

I didn't know if this is usual for insulin to last so long after a cleaning or it probably has something to do with the infection that's no longer in his mouth?
 
I am not a Prozinc user but I don’t think I would give any insulin tonight with a Preshot of 70. I would skip. Better to be safe.
Now that the dental is done your kitty may need a reduction in dose.
I will tag @Rachel @Kris & Teasel to help with the Prozinc dosing going forward.
 
That's what I was thinking and tomorrow starting .Him off at 1.25. I'm a little nervous because I can't get a PS and I don't know how low he got. About ready to test him now.
 
Where I couldn't dose him tonight because he was too low and it would mess the schedule too much. I think he's going to be high tomorrow, but if off chance he's in the blues I could do 1 unit and if he's in the yellow/pink them try 1.25?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top