Dosing Help- SLGS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deena and Malby

Member Since 2016
Hello,
Thanks in advance for any advice! I need some help with dosing. I literally JUST read the SLGS.
Malachai switched from Vetsulin to Lantus about 5 weeks ago. The vet started his dose at 1unit 2X day. I have been increasing the dosage every 7-10 days. I am currently giving 1.75 units of Lantus two times a day. I read SLGS and am thinking maybe I should have kept him on the 1.25 dosage longer or possibly have done a curve to see if there were any hidden lower numbers? I had him in the yellow for a few tests at 1.25/1.50 but am back up to pink at 1.75.
I was going to do a curve on 1.75 this weekend and possibly go up to 2 units but am re-thinking it. He is still drinking a lot/peeing outside of the litter box, coat looks horrible and crazy for food. His numbers only went down (barely) once we got him up to 3units when he was on Vetsulin however I know that sometimes you will get better results with less insulin.
Should I revisit a lower dose or go up to 2units? Torn 0n what to do. He is just stuck in pink.
Any help would be appreciated- thanks!!!
Deena
 
Before making a commitment to raising Malachai's dose, I would try to get at least one test after PMPS. It's hard to know what's going on at night if you don't have any tests. It's entirely possible that Malachi's numbers are dropping during the PM cycle and then bouncing back up during the day. If you can get another test or two in at night, you'll be able to see if that's what's happening vs needing a dose increase.

 
You are doing a good job of getting mid cycle tests during the day, but you barely have any at night. There could be some lower numbers at night that you are not seeing and the could cause boucing during the day. Is there any way you can get some mid cycle tests at night this weekend to see if Malachai is going lower at night? That will let you know if you need to change the dose.

If you are planning to follow SLGS, can you update your signature and add that? That will help when people give you advice.
 
You are doing a good job of getting mid cycle tests during the day, but you barely have any at night. There could be some lower numbers at night that you are not seeing and the could cause boucing during the day. Is there any way you can get some mid cycle tests at night this weekend to see if Malachai is going lower at night? That will let you know if you need to change the dose.

If you are planning to follow SLGS, can you update your signature and add that? That will help when people give you advice.

Hello,
I will try and get some test done this weekend during the PM cycle.
He just looks horrible and is miserable. All he does all day is lay next to his food bowl and scream bloody murder 2hrs before his meal :( We're coming up on 5 months of being on insulin with his nadir constantly being in the 300's. I just wish I could consistently get his numbers down, even the 200's would make me happy...
I just feel like I am letting him down.
 
Don't be hard on yourself. You are doing the best you can for him by testing and giving insulin. It takes time to find a good dose, but for safety's sake you need to follow the protocol. When you get some PM cycle tests in, you can post here and ask about increasing the dose. He most likely does need an increase, but it's best to be sure. Once you find a good dose, his hunger will settle down. If you have any freeze dried treats, you can give him some of them in the 2 hours before his meal to try and help tide him over.
 
Unfortunately I was only able to get 1 PM test in this weekend. He was 335 at +5.5 which is much higher than I expected. I know it's not enough to go off of to increase the dose but seems that he is just staying in the 300's for the majority of his cycle...thoughts?
 
I think Malachai needs a dose increase to 2.0 units. Just keep getting any mid cycle tests at night when you are able to. It is always good data to have.
 
Hi Deena, just wanted to say I feel your struggle too. Big HUGS!!
Sprocket & I are doing the same thing. He had ketones 4 times. He keeps going up n down. I am hoping I am nearing a balance.
I would say make sure you have enough food too. I was told enough food +enough insulin + no infections.
Hope you get down to yellows and blues soon!
Sleep when ya can. Maybe try to find some local pet people to help ya. I found vet techs to help us with fluids n stuff. It helps alot.

Hugs! Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top