? Dosing HELP please: Lola 11/18 AMPS 108

@Suzanne & Darcy @JL and Chip @SmallestSparrow

I JUST GOT A BG READING OF 199 AT +6

Trying not to get TOO excited because I know how these things flip flop all over the place but I am thrilled.

She is back to refusing wet food mostly but likes the Dr. Elsey's and the Young Again food arrived today. She gets her 2nd dose of the Zenequin this evening. We retest her blood next Wednesday and I'm doing her next at home BG curve that day as well as long as nothing happens before then. The one thing I miss about the hospital is the ability to get her renal values at any time.

Thank you all for hanging in here with me. I know the battle has only commenced but I am letting myself feel a tiny bit of relief.
Oh my gosh. I haven’t even gotten past your first sentence! I am sooooo excited! I hope the SS is updated because I want to see it. Now I will read the rest of what you wrote!
 
Last edited:
The one thing I miss about the hospital is the ability to get her renal values at any time.
It can be hard on an anemic cat to test their blood too frequently. I have also been told that testing too frequently will not be able to detect mean changes in bloodwork. Next Wednesday will be good enough.

How does she seem today?
 
It can be hard on an anemic cat to test their blood too frequently. I have also been told that testing too frequently will not be able to detect mean changes in bloodwork. Next Wednesday will be good enough.

How does she seem today?

The SS is updated. I'm giving her ears and my nerves a little break and only doing AMPS/+6/PMPS for today. There will be another update at 9!

I haven't put out any of the Hills k/d or d/m (though I did give my other kitty some of the k/d in a place Lola can't reach because now it's the dry food she wants ). I assume HC means high carb? Either way, she hasn't had those foods. I've been offering her both the Dr. Elsey's and now the Young Again. I know you're supposed to do a slow transition, but she has been off and on so many foods lately and hasnt had any noticeable gastric issues, so I'm just going for it. I offer her a little of something to gauge her interest and go from there. She is NOT wanting wet food today despite the magic dust and churu additions. I'm going to keep playing around with the wet food to see if I can trick her into enjoying it somehow. I'm still waiting on the aluminum hydroxide powder so I am still on my getting it in her 2x per day in liquid form hidden in a Churu right now and she mostly is willing to take it. I will need help figuring out dosing once it does arrive!

She seems to be doing okay today. She isn't a very active cat overall but she's been jumping on the bed (where she looked into my eyes as she peed on it, thankfully on the one of 4 "pee blankets" i have purchased for this reason) and couch here and there and has eaten pretty well! We've had some cuddles. She has arthritis and it's pretty bad at the base of her tail, so her back legs give her some trouble sometimes, but she's moseying around when she cares to and gave Dan a few good hisses and baps.
 
Okay. It’s probably the LC food then that has helped her BG to go down so much.
OKAY. SO. PMPS IS 121 ON ALPHATRAK. 101 ON RELION. WHAT...DO I DO?

P.S. Is it possible it could be the antibiotic helping as well?

@Suzanne & Darcy I think that I am going to skip this shot based on the guidelines I found on the main page of the ProZinc forum. I'm not sure if this is the right thing to do, but I'm afraid of bringing her BG too low overnight.
 
OKAY. SO. PMPS IS 121 ON ALPHATRAK. 101 ON RELION. WHAT...DO I DO?

P.S. Is it possible it could be the antibiotic helping as well?
Yes. It could be the antibiotic as well as the low carb food. Normally I do not recommend completely skipping a shot as it’s usually better to do a reduced dose, but we have such limited data and she’s never been this low before at preshot time. Question: can you retest her now to see if she’s going up? I am sure she ate though?
 
If we skip the shot tonight, I would still like to see what happens with her cycle a little bit. Can you get at least one test in tonight? How long until you go to bed?

I would have recommended a very low dose of perhaps 1 unit, but it’s now 45 minutes past her shot time. Gradually, you can learn to shoot lower and lower numbers, but this was just a real shock. She hasn’t bounced yet, but she may. She definitely broke the bounce today. Often when a bounce is breaking the numbers will trend downward all day.
 
If we skip the shot tonight, I would still like to see what happens with her cycle a little bit. Can you get at least one test in tonight? How long until you go to bed?

I would have recommended a very low dose of perhaps 1 unit, but it’s now 45 minutes past her shot time. Gradually, you can learn to shoot lower and lower numbers, but this was just a real shock. She hasn’t bounced yet, but she may. She definitely broke the bounce today. Often when a bounce is breaking the numbers will trend downward all day.

Noted for future occurrences!

Have I ruined the breaking of her bounce by skipping this dose? I'm afraid of doing the wrong thing, but I felt like the risk of giving her too much insulin was greater than skipping.

Will I need to be adjusting the dose each time her numbers are in different ranges? Or will this more likely be until we find the right dose for her?

I work at 7am so I should really be asleep by 10:50 at the latest, but I will get a reading as close to the +2 mark since the last test as I can. Then when I inevitably wake up to use the restroom I will try to get another.

Thank you so much for all of your help. This is so stressful and has taken over my life in addition to trying to work and keep up with the house and caring for the three other animals on my own. Any bit of help is deeply appreciated.
 
Yes. It could be the antibiotic as well as the low carb food. Normally I do not recommend completely skipping a shot as it’s usually better to do a reduced dose, but we have such limited data and she’s never been this low before at preshot time. Question: can you retest her now to see if she’s going up? I am sure she ate though?

Just saw this! She had, in fact, eaten. I did another test 30 minutes later regardless and she'd only gone up to 128.
 
Yes. Please try to get the test when you wake in the night. It’s going to be okay. Good things are happening! :cat: Let’s just keep moving forward. Just think. We’ve gone from HI and blacks and reds to blue in a matter of a couple days!
 
Just saw this! She had, in fact, eaten. I did another test 30 minutes later regardless and she'd only gone up to 128.
Okay. Let’s hope she won’t climb too much tonight. But it is going to be okay. Once we find a good dose for her we most likely won’t need to move the dose around too much. In the early days it can be like that sometimes. Every cat is different. Have a good night.
 
Okay. Let’s hope she won’t climb too much tonight. But it is going to be okay. Once we find a good dose for her we most likely won’t need to move the dose around too much. In the early days it can be like that sometimes. Every cat is different. Have a good night.

Have a great night! I'll keep you posted. Thanks again
 
Okay. Let’s hope she won’t climb too much tonight. But it is going to be okay. Once we find a good dose for her we most likely won’t need to move the dose around too much. In the early days it can be like that sometimes. Every cat is different. Have a good night.

Last night at around +2 she was at 181, then at +6 she was at 280, now at AMPS she is at 213. All on AlphaTrak. So she needs insulin but I doubt 4.5 is appropriate?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy waiting to see what my vet says but if he doesn't answer and I don't hear from you before it feels like too long to wait, I may to the 3.5 dose she was on a couple of days post hospital. I am NOT complaining about these low numbers. I'm amazed ahaha!
 
Please try to keep your SS updated as much as possible. I would shoot 2 units and monitor her. If it’s not enough then we will know next time to give a little more. It’s better to work up a dose rather than down. If we decide it’s not enough in this cycle, we can increase tonight even. We don’t have to wait.
 
If you retest her right now and find that she has gone up a whole bunch then maybe I would shoot a little more, but otherwise I would only shoot 2 to 2.5 units
 
Then I guess it's a good thing I just noticed I did a freaking fur shot. So she did not get the full 4.5. This is so stressful.
The only problem is that we have no idea how much she got. But it will be OK as long as you are able to intervene today if necessary. What you need to do is write 4.5 FS in the units column of your spreadsheet
 
If you retest her right now and find that she has gone up a whole bunch then maybe I would shoot a little more, but otherwise I would only shoot 2 to 2.5 units

She also doesn't seem to have much of an appetite this morning. I'm offering her a lot of different foods to tempt her but so far she's only licked at her wet food and won't touch any of the dry.
 
She also doesn't seem to have much of an appetite this morning. I'm offering her a lot of different foods to tempt her but so far she's only licked at her wet food and won't touch any of the dry.
Keep trying. We don’t need the extra downward BG due to not eating. I hope she’s not nauseated. Do you have an Cerenia at home?
 
Keep trying. We don’t need the extra downward BG due to not eating. I hope she’s not nauseated. Do you have an Cerenia at home?

She turned her nose up at everything but Greenies treats, which she ate like her life depended on it. So I gave her a pile of them and will keep trying to get entice her to eat all day. I do have a couple of doses of Cerenia that were sent home with me from the hospital. Should I go ahead and give it to her?
 
So you definitely felt wet on her fur and did you smell insulin?

I would give her a Cerenia. Can’t hurt. May help. It’s not the best anti-nausea drug (Zofran is) but some cats really feel better on Cerenia.
 
So you definitely felt wet on her fur and did you smell insulin?

I would give her a Cerenia. Can’t hurt. May help. It’s not the best anti-nausea drug (Zofran is) but some cats really feel better on Cerenia.

1000% felt, saw &, smelled the insulin. She jerked right as I shot. I can't really tell how much went in or came out but there it wasn't a tiny amount.
 
I hope she will eat something besides the high carb Greenies. ☹️. We were just getting such better numbers with the LC food. But she needs something. Do you have any food she may like at home? Do you have any pure meat baby foods like Gerber ham or turkey or chicken— or Beech Nut? Do you have Forti Flora you could sprinkle on her Young Again or Dr. Elsey’s? I would leave a bowl of those out for her so she hopefully will nibble on it/them.
 
So you definitely felt wet on her fur and did you smell insulin?

I would give her a Cerenia. Can’t hurt. May help. It’s not the best anti-nausea drug (Zofran is) but some cats really feel better on Cerenia.

Just gave her the Cerenia and some more Greenies. I think she's in a picky mood today and while Greenies treats are far from appropriate for her dietary needs, I'm glad she's willing to eat SOMETHING. Hopefully the Cerenia helps her want more.
 
I hope she will eat something besides the high carb Greenies. ☹️. We were just getting such better numbers with the LC food. But she needs something. Do you have any food she may like at home? Do you have any pure meat baby foods like Gerber ham or turkey or chicken— or Beech Nut? Do you have Forti Flora you could sprinkle on her Young Again or Dr. Elsey’s? I would leave a bowl of those out for her so she hopefully will nibble on it/them.

I've left out small piles of Dr. Elsey's, Young Again & even some of the Hills k/d along with the wet food she barely touched. I'm certain her sister is going to gobble up the latter, but I am trying! I do have Florti Flora and will sprinkle some on everything.
 
Any tests? I just checked the SS and there are no entries for today at all. I was just trying to check in and see how she doing.

That is strange because the 213 was definitely there since this morning! I have been working and as it's Friday I am playing catchup from being laser focused on baby girl all week. But I just added as 12pm reading as well, which was 295. So she definitely didn't get much of the 9am fur shot!
 
Any tests? I just checked the SS and there are no entries for today at all. I was just trying to check in and see how she doing.

I'm sorry that it took until now to add the 12pm test. I'm trying to get to the SS as quickly as I can. I update her Alphatrak app immediately and then screenshot for my future reference but the SS I keep forgetting to hit the check mark on when I've updated. I think that's why you maybe didn't see the 213 either, though I added it hours ago. I'm trying to get the hang of everything and keep flubbing up. I am so sorry for any inconvenience!
 
Any tests? I just checked the SS and there are no entries for today at all. I was just trying to check in and see how she doing.

I will be checking her again at 3pm which is +6 and I will try to get another test in before her PMPS but if I can't I will make sure that st the very least I immediately upload the +6.

I'd like to try to have a plan in place for tonight, though! My vet is stating that for anything above the 150s he wants me to still give the 4.5 units and for anything 150 and under he wants me to give 4 units, which is also what the specialist is advising. I think even 4 units (much less 4.5 units!) will be too much too much unless she's in the 300s or higher at 9pm.

I'd like to get your input and a plan in place for reading ranges for her shots, both AM and PM got future reference while we are still unsure of her dosage sweet spot. Luckily it is the weekend so I can stay up later and get a +2 easily after her pm shot.

Would you be okay with helping me with this? I'd like to be as prepared as I can be!
 
I will defer to @Suzanne & Darcy on dosing but I will say categorically that I wouldn’t go with 4.5u given that (a) you switched to (mostly) low carb food and that can cause the BG to plummet, (b) you added antibiotics, which could be addressing any underlying kidney or other infection and thus could also be a force that’s contributing to lower BGs, and (c) she’s not eating well today.
 
I will defer to @Suzanne & Darcy on dosing but I will say categorically that I wouldn’t go with 4.5u given that (a) you switched to (mostly) low carb food and that can cause the BG to plummet, (b) you added antibiotics, which could be addressing any underlying kidney or other infection and thus could also be a force that’s contributing to lower BGs, and (c) she’s not eating well today.

Her lack of appetite today is scaring me a bit but I continue to try to give her many little offerings of various types.

At +6 she was at 448 which leads me to believe that almost none of the insulin got into her when I did the fur shot. I feel so bad.

I am interested to see what @Suzanne & Darcy thinks about how to dose with these numbers.
 
I’d also check for ketones for good measure.

I'm not entirely sure how to read the ketone strips. As in, I see the chart and what the colors mean but I don't know what color on the chart we go to that's cause for concern or what to do about it if it is. I am trying to catch her doing a pee but the best I've caught is pressing it onto a pee pad under the litterbox (she misses frequently now). It is very very very lightly and maybe not actually the 1st color. "Trace".

I just got her to eat almost an entire Sheba perfect portions by feeding it to her on a spoon by hand
 
@Suzanne & Darcy somehow the link to my spreadsheet in my signature was still going to an old version of the spreadsheet that stopped working for me, so I had to create a new version. I have NO clue how, but it has been fixed and all of the numbers I've reported on this thread are there.
 
I'm not entirely sure how to read the ketone strips. As in, I see the chart and what the colors mean but I don't know what color on the chart we go to that's cause for concern or what to do about it if it is. I am trying to catch her doing a pee but the best I've caught is pressing it onto a pee pad under the litterbox (she misses frequently now). It is very very very lightly and maybe not actually the 1st color. "Trace".

I just got her to eat almost an entire Sheba perfect portions by feeding it to her on a spoon by hand
Good about the Sheba! Thank you for still trying to get her to eat wet food. I know she doesn’t make it easy on you.
 
Her lack of appetite today is scaring me a bit but I continue to try to give her many little offerings of various types.
Maybe the Cerenia helped. How many mg. did you give? Of she keeps up not eating then you may need to ask the vet to write you a script for Zofran (Ondansetron) 4 mg orally dissolving tablets (which you would still put into a gelatin capsules — to address possible nausea.
 
Back
Top