Mrs B. Thomas Mom
Member Since 2021
Hello. Thomas has just come off a large bounce over the weekend. The AMPS this morning is 100. Is that too low for the normal 1 unit shot?
Just got a 141 30 minutes after eating.How long since the last test and has he eaten since then?
The challenge is that without being able to test, we would not be able to give dosing advice or even ask you to shoot a low pre-shot. I know testing can take a lot of practice initially. Are you using a lancing device or just freehanding with a lancet? Warming the ear or massaging it to increase blood flow?
Next time you are unsure about whether to shoot or not, stall without feeding and post here.Just got a 141 30 minutes after eating.
Not at all! Happy to help!Ok thanks. Sorry for the hand holding. I'm a bit gun shy after the weekend's highs and lows. Yes I'll try to get several tests today throughout the day.
Not at all! Happy to help!
All of this can be pretty overwhelming when you are first starting out.![]()
So ask as many questions as you need.He's tolerate about 3 pokes. After that he gets testy . Going to get better at this. I must!![/QUOTE said:You are giving him a low-carb treat of some kind every time you poke his ear, right? That's important. But you will also get a lot better at getting the blood out more easily and more quickly. I always free handed. A lot of cats don't like the sound of a lancing device (not sure which you are using.) You boy is beautiful! So glad you are not listening to the vet about testing! You have already seen what you miss when not testing.
Hi and welcome. I personally won't suggest that someone shoot if they may not be able to test.yes, it will disrupt his insulin depot. Also the cycle count starts over after a skip.
The vet who diagnosed butters also dismissed home testing. He refused to help me with it. We've gone through three more vets since then, but her current vet is very supportive. I've been managing her diabetes with help from members here since the start, and honestly she otherwise would not be doing as well as she is.
So, all that to say don't be sorry for the hand holding, that's why we are all here and it's how we learn. I urge you to post a daily condo for Thomas if you are able.
A few observations from your spreadsheet:
-Is all of your BG data in your spreadsheet? If so, I recommend that, going forward, you always test at the very least before every insulin shot, so at AMPS and PMPS. That's the only way to know with certainty that it is safe to give Thomas insulin. Otherwise, you are basically shooting blind and that can be scary and unsafe, since there are threshold numbers we never shoot below: <90 is the cutoff for shooting when doing SLGS. <50 is the cutoff for TR.
-Also important is consistency in dose. You've been doing that for the most part, giving 1u.
-On SLGS, a reduction is earned if kitty drops <90. Thomas technically earned a reduction on 03/26 and the new dose would have been .75u. I'm not telling you to reduce; I'm just merely offering up an observation.
-The high numbers that you're seeing are very likely Thomas bouncing from a low number...you can see a clear bounce during the day on 03/26: he nadirs at 60 but then is 409 by PMPS. If I had to guess, I bet he was breaking his bounce last night and probably went lower. It would've been good to get a couple of tests in overnight.
-There are no nighttime tests, so we have no clear picture as to what Thomas is getting up to overnight.
In addition to always getting an AMPS & PMPS, if you can get a +2 test for every cycle? A +2 is usually the "tell" for most cats on Lantus, in regards to what the cycle is going to be like:
If +2 is lower than preshot, it means he is likely going to have an active cycle and go even lower, so you'll want to get more tests in.
If +2 is higher than preshot, it is likely a good day to put away the lancet and take a poke break.
If +2 is similar to the preshot, then it will probably be a typical lantus cycle, with Thomas dipping to nadir and then coming back up. Good to get a midcycle test or two for these types of cycles.
Regarding testing issues, have you tried warming his ear first to help with testing (rice in a sock, and heat it) , and always giving a treat (food treat, brushing, whatever floats his boat)? Consistency is key. I always test butters in the exact same spot. She is treat motivated, so she will come trotting over when she hears me pop the lid on the test strip container. In the beginning, I'd treat her just for jumping onto the testing spot. I'd treat her for letting me hold her ear. And of course, I give her a treat for every test, whether I get enough blood or not.
We all stood where you are now.So ask as many questions as you need.
Yes he did eat. I do give mini meals, glad to hear that's a good thing to do!!Welcome. You have gotten lots of good advice from Bhooma and Lyla. Has he eaten since the amps? If so this bg is food influenced which is fine but no guarantee that it won’t be an active cycle. We actually suggest feeding mini meals throughout the first half of the cycle to avoid dropping too low.
Thank you!! It's nice to have the supportMay i suggest that you put that 141 as your AMPS and maybe make a note that it was after feeding. I recommend you put the following in your AMPS cell: 100; 141@12.5.
See for ex:
View attachment 60367
Otherwise i want to assure you that all of us have passed thru testing horrors and it gets better, pretty quicklyand don't be stressed about testing, our Chico is purring while we do it
It is frustrating to hear so many people complain about vets not recommending or even discourage testing... ours just didn't care
Otherwise you are doing a great job at testing. With newly diagnosed cats it is easier to turn it around (you can check Chico's spreadsheet), so you are lucky to have found the forum so early on![]()
I'll check that link out here shortly. I just tested him again +8 ~ 119. I'm so excited, today has been great so far. He's so active and bright eyed ❤.Looks like Thomas is back to business. Might be worth getting another test soon. FWIW, in all likelihood the greens were due to the incorrect 2u dose given, which is why it made sense to me to hold the dose, and continue to test, including spot checks mid cycle especially at night. Others of course may have a different view.
Last night he was breaking the bounce, might have been interesting to see a before bed test.
If you are giving snacks, especially during more active cycles, it will help you and those checking his SS to note in the remarks what % carb you are feeding when and how much. It becomes more important when you need to intervene with higher carb food, since you then get a feel for how the carbs are influencing the cycle. As I said yesterday, this is part of the process in learning how your cat responds to insulin and carbs.
Lastly, we do have a guideline for posting here in the LBL subforum, since it can get quite busy, please have a read
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/
Here is a link for calculating carb content in food, just keep in mind that we are interested in caloric carb contentI'll check that link out here shortly. I just tested him again +8 ~ 119. I'm so excited, today has been great so far. He's so active and bright eyed ❤.
I alternate feeding him Friskies pate and FF pate. I cut a serving in half of a Friskies can. Whole can if FF. I'll have to research how to get the carb content of those. A snack is usually chicken breast chunks, a treat when testing is chicken or freeze dried salmon.
He's one of my 8 cat tribe. I switched them all to pate to make sure he's not able to sneak bad stuff.
Sorry I didn't do an intro. I was in panic task mode,, so I didn't really read up on the does and don'tsHere is a link to the food chart that most of us use for reference...
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Usually people start off in the main forum, and provide a little introduction, so if I may ask, how was Thomas diagnosed? Was he showing symptoms of diabetes? Did the vet run any blood work and urinalysis, or fructosamine? If you have those results, that would be good to share.
Was the diet change from dry to wet food for your crew after Thomas' diagnosis?