Marlena
Member Since 2015
Case, I think decreasing the dose slightly would be good if what you get is a light green number as you are in the hypo territory. If the nadir is dark green sticking with the same dose is probably going to be ok but bear in mind that kitty will bounce if the nadir is 50% lower than the preshot number. What we need to understand is that we don't want bounces if we can help it, we want to slowly get kitty in better numbers so if your preshot is 300 you want your nadir to be above 150 and you need to give your cat time to adjust to lower numbers. The main thing here is to really act reasonably (meaning we have to lower the dose) if we suspect Somogyi so if you have a nadir in hypo range and then you have a high number pretty quickly and it is higher than preshot number at the beginning of the cycle.
Regarding decreasing the dose, yes, you need to wait few days and observe.
Regarding decreasing the dose, yes, you need to wait few days and observe.

The numbers are such a mystery to me and I don't think too many vets understand it either. Especially since he is so far along his journey and doesn't need a lot of insulin. We all need to rant once in awhile, no need to apologize for it! I wish I had answers or advice for you but the best I can say is don't give up! Sometimes all it takes is time and the answer will come to you. I know its easy for me to say, but I really do feel for you! Don't be too hard on yourself, you obviously take great care of him and what an accomplishment to come so far with his diabetes. Just the fact that you know something's up with him when the vet and tests may say otherwise, speaks volumes of your relationship together, and that's something to be grateful for! Sending you both lots of love!!

I'm thinking about going to 2 units while I'm away and have the sitter leave out extra food just in case. Haven't decided yet for sure. It's hard because I don't want to lose our progress but I still want her to be safe. I'll be nervous no matter what. I can really use the time off!