Dosing help..need advice URGENT

Status
Not open for further replies.
She seems to be only wanting to eat a little bit of food. How much wet food do you normally feed? Sam is 10 pounds and seems to only eat 2 1/2 tablespoons of food at a time. Sometimes not all of that. I know the AD is calorie dense so maybe that is why. She has always been more of a grazer throughout the day than a 2 meal cat but we have had her on 2 meals a day since the diagnosis. I don't mind leaving food in the bowl all day but there is no way for me to know if she ate within 2 hours of her PMPS everyday when I get home from work.
 
There is an automatic pet feeder that you could use and have it close 2 hours before her PS. Most kitties don't do well on 2 meals a day, it's an old school of thought. @JanetNJ can confirm if 2.5 T of food is enough for Vetsulin. :)
 
There is an automatic pet feeder that you could use and have it close 2 hours before her PS. Most kitties don't do well on 2 meals a day, it's an old school of thought. @JanetNJ can confirm if 2.5 T of food is enough for Vetsulin. :)
Not sure. Ad is high in calories but if the cat is dipping low you may need to lower the dose until the appetite improves.
 
Are you testing for ketones?

I have been trying to catch her going to the litter to check, but haven't been successful. She has never tested positive for ketones though.

She ate some more food about an hour ago and I tested her again since I am going to bed. Her BG was 374. I'm hoping this is because of the food she just ate.
 
Since it's a work night, you wouldn't be able to monitor her past +3 right? I'm leaning towards skipping because it's a new insulin AND she's never had a dose below 200. Still get a before bed test as I'm thinking she may bounce but never want to assume and don't want you try to give her a <0.25U yet.
 
Since it's a work night, you wouldn't be able to monitor her past +3 right? I'm leaning towards skipping because it's a new insulin AND she's never had a dose below 200. Still get a before bed test as I'm thinking she may bounce but never want to assume and don't want you try to give her a <0.25U yet.

I can probably get a +4 at the latest. She didn't eat as much as normal just now. I agree with not giving the shot. I just didn't want to start the bouncing all over again.
 
Another good AMPS. 186 She didn't drop much the other day with .25 dose. Thinking .25 or slightly less than that. Skip and see if she stays 180-240?
 
Sorry no one was around to provide any input this AM.:( I see you decided to go with the 0.25u. Let's see how that works today and it will be good data for going forward. If you get a lower pre-shot than expected like today, then you can stall without feeding and retest to see if Sam is staying flat or rising. If she is staying flat you can stall a second time if time permits and then make a decision. If she is rising and is close to 200 then 0.25u might be OK but let's see what she does today. :)
 
Sorry no one was around to provide any input this AM.:( I see you decided to go with the 0.25u. Let's see how that works today and it will be good data for going forward. If you get a lower pre-shot than expected like today, then you can stall without feeding and retest to see if Sam is staying flat or rising. If she is staying flat you can stall a second time if time permits and then make a decision. If she is rising and is close to 200 then 0.25u might be OK but let's see what she does today. :)

Yea, it didn't seem like she dropped too much on the .25 and she stayed at pretty good numbers the last 24-48 hours so I figured we would see how she reacts to the .25 on a lower number. She is at 242 at +3.5 so she hasn't hit the biggest drop yet. My wife left some food out for her if she needs it. I may go check on her at lunch which would be +6.5
 
Sam is cranking out 180-190 AMPS lately. I gave her .25 again. If my wife is home again today I will get her to take a +6 and see what is going on at NDAIR. I tried yesterday but she must have eaten some of the food my wife left out for her before I got home.

Good thing is Sam seems hungry again at AMPS and PMPS and sometimes cries for food around lunch. She seems more alert and playful so I think we are on the right track. We are leaving town tomorrow and have a sitter coming by to feed her and hopefully give insulin. Sam isn't the friendliest when it comes to new people and she was hissing at the sitter yesterday. :facepalm: The sitter is a Vet tech so she may have just smelled the other animals on her.
 
Sam is cranking out 180-190 AMPS lately. I gave her .25 again. If my wife is home again today I will get her to take a +6 and see what is going on at NDAIR. I tried yesterday but she must have eaten some of the food my wife left out for her before I got home.

Good thing is Sam seems hungry again at AMPS and PMPS and sometimes cries for food around lunch. She seems more alert and playful so I think we are on the right track. We are leaving town tomorrow and have a sitter coming by to feed her and hopefully give insulin. Sam isn't the friendliest when it comes to new people and she was hissing at the sitter yesterday. :facepalm: The sitter is a Vet tech so she may have just smelled the other animals on her.
wow, Sam is doing SO GOOD. enjoy your trip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top