? Dosing help for PM, Bootsie - +5-94, +6-104, +8-97, +9-107

Jackie55 & Bootsie

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2921681/

She started with an AMPS of 251. Had eaten today but no ravenous or begging (prob because her sugars are lower). But in anticipation of this evenings dose what should I shoot? She has been getting 29U - she has Acromegaly and is on Cabergoline. Her behavior today is a typical day for her, only difference is she is not seeking food as often. Should I shoot the whole dose or decrease a bit? And I know I don’t know what her PMPS is yet but I don’t anticipate in being much different - she has been pretty flat today.

Thanks in advance

@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Beautiful numbers today! :D:cool: Not sure why you'd do anything different than you have the last couple days. Normally when a kitty is on cabergoline, I'd increase the reduction point that TR uses (50), to something a little higher. But 90's are a great place for nadirs.
 
You should wait to see if she eats at PMPS. Also, you can’t really decide ahead of time on a dose since you don’t know her number yet.

ETA: I didn’t mean to imply that the dose is based on pre-shot number here. Sorry. See Wendy’s comment below! I don’t want anyone reading this to misunderstand and think that doses are based on nadirs.
 
Last edited:
I know that you don’t need another rough night, but even if you do end up reducing tonight it may not make a difference since she has such a large depot because her dose is so large. So I think you should wait until closer to pmps time to decide.

I guess I got my question answered today about whether she could stay up/flat on her own without food intervention. She did today. Now if you can only get her to eat!
 
Did you do the “wait 20 minutes and not feed but re-test and see if she went up” thing? I’m going to look at her SS now.
 
She looks really good at +2. Want to feed her and go to bed? Maybe set an alarm somewhere and test once to make sure she’s still okay? Then go back to sleep as long as all’s well.
 
Hi. I did not do the test and wait 20. I just decided to stick with what I have been doing like Wendy said and give the dose and then follow her at +2 and +5 and if she looks good let her be. She did eat at 8:30 and again at 9:30 as she was begging so hopefully that will not push her to high.
 
Back
Top