Dosing help for Piper

Status
Not open for further replies.
I give Colin 1/8 tsp /day. I have no real method, I give it everyday when I suspect he may be starting a UTI, or his numbers spike a little more than normal, but I stop after a couple weeks. I think it's fine to give it everyday though.
I hear that! I definitely feel her out. Thank you so much. Hopefully this will help her!
 
This kitty is bizarro. We had the best day together we have had in years. She laid on me today for an hour. She hasn't done that in 6 years probably. We had a low morning, I gave her a smaller dosage and now she is at 284. Any thoughts? What should I give tonight?
Also, I am feeding her more than I used to. She is eating at 9:00, 3:00, and 9:00. She used to only eat at 9:00. Amazon has lost her auto feeder, so I haven't started feeding her through the night yet.
 
congrats on the home testing. I've got the Walmart relion micro and I love it. I also bought a confirm later on to have as a backup, just in case. they both take the same test strips.
 
You'd have to wait 2 hours to be sure the number is not food influenced. What is your schedule like today and tomorrow? Could you shoot later today and then gradually get back?

Next time, stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding. (Food raises bg levels. You want a true number, not one food influenced) Retest to be sure the number is rising, not falling, and nearer your target number.

BTW, that was a great number!
 
You'd have to wait 2 hours to be sure the number is not food influenced. What is your schedule like today and tomorrow? Could you shoot later today and then gradually get back?

Next time, stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding. (Food raises bg levels. You want a true number, not one food influenced) Retest to be sure the number is rising, not falling, and nearer your target number.

BTW, that was a great number!
I'm so mad at myself for not stalling! I know I should have waited. She had just been screaming for food for 4 hours. Ugh! I'm going to be here all day today, but not at all tomorrow. I have to work until 1:00 am tomorrow. Maybe just a very small dose? The 284 was just so high last night. Is it possible that she might not need insulin at all?
 
No worries. You are early to this sugar dance and she is in excellent numbers with a tiny dose. By the way, 284 is not terribly high. 400-500 is high! For reference, we generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at pre shot and in low 100s or double digits(but not below 50) at nadir. So she is already in regulated ranges.

She certainly looks like she will not need much insulin to push her into normal ranges (40-120 with no insulin onboard) It may take you awhile with very careful dosing and monitoring to get her there, but she is already on her way. The most important thing now, IMHO, would be to get her into normal ranges without risking a hypo. With such low numbers, you need to be very careful about dosing.

BTW, you might feed her about 3 hours before amps so she is not starving when you wake up. An automatic pet feeder is great for this. You can set it to close 2 hours before the test.
 
No worries. You are early to this sugar dance and she is in excellent numbers with a tiny dose. By the way, 284 is not terribly high. 400-500 is high! For reference, we generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at pre shot and in low 100s or double digits(but not below 50) at nadir. So she is already in regulated ranges.

She certainly looks like she will not need much insulin to push her into normal ranges (40-120 with no insulin onboard) It may take you awhile with very careful dosing and monitoring to get her there, but she is already on her way. The most important thing now, IMHO, would be to get her into normal ranges without risking a hypo. With such low numbers, you need to be very careful about dosing.

BTW, you might feed her about 3 hours before amps so she is not starving when you wake up. An automatic pet feeder is great for this. You can set it to close 2 hours before the test.
Amazing. Thank you so much for your insight. I'm going to wait and test her again 2 hours after her meal, and then possibly give a small dosage. It'll be better to have her at this time anyway with my work schedule this fall. I ordered the auto feeder three days ago, but amazon has lost the package. Ugh! It would definitely be a miracle to have her off insulin. The more I read on here the more I think I could have just been keeping her unregulated all these years. She initially went to the vet for a UTI and they just spot checked her there. She never had a curve, only fructosimine tests. She is psychotic at the vet. I'm sorry to be vulgar, but she poops herself there. She was always 250 with those tests. I probably have been just taking her super low and she has just been bouncing back. She is a miracle kitty for surviving this.
 
congrats on the home testing. I've got the Walmart relion micro and I love it. I also bought a confirm later on to have as a backup, just in case. they both take the same test strips.
Thank you Misterbeesmom! I will definitely pick up a second as a spare. Smart. This has definitely been a HUGE wake up call. If only I had done it sooner...
 
Just remember that the dose following will need to be in the +12 hour range, and sure rising, not falling. Giving a dose after skipping a pre shot is called giving a CSD in our colorful shorthand. (A chicken $&@%# Dose). So a smaller dose than usual.
 
If you give a dose at +14, (even a small one) you'd need to wait until she is high enough again to shoot. That is unlikely to be at your regular pmps. Not sure if your schedule would work with that. You could test around +12 see where she is, but it is likely to closer to +14 tonight. Then that throws off your dose tomorrow.

Where is she now? You might just wait and you could shoot early tonight (after +10 or so) if she is sure high enough.

Shooting early or late messes up your schedule.
 
If you give a dose at +14, (even a small one) you'd need to wait until she is high enough again to shoot. That is unlikely to be at your regular pmps. Not sure if your schedule would work with that. You could test around +12 see where she is, but it is likely to closer to +14 tonight. Then that throws off your dose tomorrow.

Where is she now? You might just wait and you could shoot early tonight (after +10 or so) if she is sure high enough.

Shooting early or late messes up your schedule.
She was at 246. I gave her .75. I can have her at this time. It's better for my fall schedule anyways. The only time I can't be home is on Saturdays from noon to 1 am. This will give me better control anyway. My boyfriend normally gives her shot Saturday nights, and there is no possible way he could test her. So I'm assuming don't change anything (if her levels are fine), if I can keep her at this new schedule?
 
OK. Just so I sure understand. Her new schedule with her new amps is at this time; she had a 246 and you shot .75. Twelve hours from now you can test again for pmps. Do I have it?
 
So piper went up again at her new shot time to 236. Should I keep her at .75 or move back up to 1? She also bit me. She was very mad she had to wait for food. Ha!
 
One unit gave you the unshootable pre shots. I'd give 0.75 a few cycles. I know 236!seems high to you, but it really isn't. It's a very good number for a new diabetic. I think she will go OTJ(anti jinx). It will just take finessing to get her there. And maybe some grey hairs on your part....
 
One unit gave you the unshootable pre shots. I'd give 0.75 a few cycles. I know 236!seems high to you, but it really isn't. It's a very good number for a new diabetic. I think she will go OTJ(anti jinx). It will just take finessing to get her there. And maybe some grey hairs on your part....
Hey Sue! OMG!! You just made me cry a little. :) I did give .75 last night. Hopefully we have a good number this morning! I went ahead and fed her 3 hours before her shot today (she bit me last night). I'm hoping that doesn't mess with her numbers too much. Do u have any tips or tricks on how to get her OTJ? I know I should switch to the u100 syringes for more accuracy. Do you know which ones to buy? Thank you so much for your help!! This is incredible!!
 
Hi y'all! Quick question. Piper has been staying awake pretty much all day. She sleeps maybe 3-4 hours while I am awake. Who knows what she does while I am asleep. I am assuming she is doing this because I am not overdosing her anymore and she is feeling better. I am feeding her more. 4 times throughout the day and night. Do y'all think that's the case, and could being awake that much effect her numbers? Thank you!!
 
I'd say that she is awake more because she feels better. She probably sleeps a lot at night too. I don't know if that could affect her numbers...seems unlikely, but maybe someone else will have some ideas?
 
Someone once said that activity lowers bg numbers. It was a time when the cat was in hypo ranges and they asked if excercise was a good idea. And they were told no, because it would further reduce the levels. I think that is the only connection I ever heard?
 
Thanks y'all! Hopefully it is because she's feeling better! She is a totally different cat. Running around jumping up and down off my desk. All of this change is very confusing for us both. Ha! I am not wanting to wake her up to test her. Hopefully she settle down into her new schedule soon. Thank you for your thoughts.
 
Hey! I just took a look at Piper's spreadsheet and i'm really liking those numbers!
Great job!
Thank you!! I just left the vets office. I was trying to get different syringes. They just told me by not using the alphatrack meter, her numbers were pointless. Ugh. You're comment is really really appreciated right now. Thank you!!
 
Pff don't listen to your vet! What a PITA, come on why would it be pointless? Well you know what, we all here support you and we do find them valuable!
What kind of syringes were you looking for? You can buy a lot of them online, you don't need to get them from the vets office, better not buy them there because it's really expensive there!
 
Seriously! I am in agreement. It was the vet tech. She just said that a human meter wasn't at all accurate, and I shouldn't change Piper's dosage without talking to them. I was looking for u100s, so I could just be more accurate. All of the numbers on the syringes have me so confused. Do you know which ones I should get? Thank you so much!
 
Jeez they really need to STFU! Well you know what you should do, don't tell them that you changed it... And just nod and smile.. That's it! You pay them, so they should not treat you like you're doing them a favor, it should be the other way around! Stupid vets, we do need them for other stuff, but when it comes to diabetes.... Men oh men!

See the picture I just made from my box I still have (you never know if you will ever need them:rolleyes:) those are the perfect ones with the correct marks.
0.30mm (30G) x 8mm
You should be able to find it on Amazon I think!
image.jpeg
 
Oh btw, you do know that you need to use the convert table if you are going to use U100 right? Because 1U in a U40 isn't the same amount in the U100
 
Jeez they really need to STFU! Well you know what you should do, don't tell them that you changed it... And just nod and smile.. That's it! You pay them, so they should not treat you like you're doing them a favor, it should be the other way around! Stupid vets, we do need them for other stuff, but when it comes to diabetes.... Men oh men!

See the picture I just made from my box I still have (you never know if you will ever need them:rolleyes:) those are the perfect ones with the correct marks.
0.30mm (30G) x 8mm
You should be able to find it on Amazon I think!
View attachment 23320
Thank you so much! That's exactly what I wanted to tell that woman. She just made me question whether or not I was doing the right thing, and if I am testing her right. And with Piper not sleeping, it just has me on edge. Ugh!!
Thank you so much for sending me a pic of your box! I did find the same one on amazon, but it was $70. Yikes! Hopefully I'll be able to find them cheaper. I just did a test at +4 and she was high. So I might not be switching doses anytime soon. Granted, I gave her insulin 45 min late because I was at the vet. I'm sorry for rambling. Just a blah day!
 
Wow $70 is extreme!
They are not that expensive, so maybe you can find it elsewere online. @Bobbie And Bubba @Sue and Oliver (GA) can you help with a cheaper deal online for those U100 syringes? I can't believe they aren't available for a lower price.... I bought mine for €15/€20 that's around $30 (+/-) so.

No need to say sorry, are you crazy? You're in your right to say something about this!
:bighug:
 
You can try buying U100 syringes at a human pharmacy or at a place like Walmart in their pharmacy section. I pay $25 CAD for a box of 100 syringes at my vet's or at a human pharmacy. If you're in the USA they're probably even cheaper.
 
Considering she got her insulin late, and was only 6 points higher than yesterday's amps, she looks fine.

Sounds like a bad day at the vet. We do know that human meters read differently than pet meters, but we make allowances for that. And when you consider the real dangers of not testing, using any kind of meter is an improvement. As others have said, U100 needles are the same one humans use and readily available. Print out the conversion chart and have it handy:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

Maybe time for a relaxing drink of choice, some chocolate, a snuggle with Piper and repeating to yourself. "I have learned an amazing amount of important information in the last few weeks, and I am doing a great job with my kitty"

We think so!
 
Thank you so much! That's exactly what I wanted to tell that woman. She just made me question whether or not I was doing the right thing, and if I am testing her right. And with Piper not sleeping, it just has me on edge. Ugh!!
Thank you so much for sending me a pic of your box! I did find the same one on amazon, but it was $70. Yikes! Hopefully I'll be able to find them cheaper. I just did a test at +4 and she was high. So I might not be switching doses anytime soon. Granted, I gave her insulin 45 min late because I was at the vet. I'm sorry for rambling. Just a blah day!
Do you have Walmarts in your area? I get Relion syringes from Walmart, U100 a box of 100 syringes for 13 bucks. Here is a photo of the box of the ones I use.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    52.5 KB · Views: 214
Wow!! Y'all are absolutely incredible. Can I just say THANK YOU!! It is a rare person indeed to be so kind and helpful to a complete stranger. Just so you know, you are changing lives. Thank you for the info on the syringes. I will go to Walmart and get them tomorrow. I am going with the theory, "If you build it, it will come." ;) Thank you again for everything! Hopefully I will have good things to post tomorrow.
 
Wow!! Y'all are absolutely incredible. Can I just say THANK YOU!! It is a rare person indeed to be so kind and helpful to a complete stranger. Just so you know, you are changing lives. Thank you for the info on the syringes. I will go to Walmart and get them tomorrow. I am going with the theory, "If you build it, it will come." ;) Thank you again for everything! Hopefully I will have good things to post tomorrow.
You are so welcome. That is what we are here for. We are all just paying it forward as we were where you were when we started this journey. :cat::):bighug:

ETA : Please print out the conversion chart that Sue linked for you to use as ProZinc is a U40 insulin and if your want to micro dose and use the U100 syringes you will need that conversation chart.
 
You are so welcome. That is what we are here for. We are all just paying it forward as we were where you were when we started this journey. :cat::):bighug:

ETA : Please print out the conversion chart that Sue linked for you to use as ProZinc is a U40 insulin and if your want to micro dose and use the U100 syringes you will need that conversation chart.
Hopefully one day I will be able to do the same! I will definitely print it out and study it before I attempt a smaller dose. I have learned more math and science in the last week than I did in college. Ha!! I will probably have a few questions though. ;)
 
Ahhhh vets. They love to think they know everything. As Sue said you are doing an amazing job with Piper!
 
Hopefully one day I will be able to do the same! I will definitely print it out and study it before I attempt a smaller dose. I have learned more math and science in the last week than I did in college. Ha!! I will probably have a few questions though. ;)
When I was using the conversion chart I hung it inside a kitchen cabinet and referred to it every time I shot, (two and three times) LOL It wasn't something I could commit to memory.
 
Ahhhh vets. They love to think they know everything. As Sue said you are doing an amazing job with Piper!
Thank you Rachel! We had a much better day today! She is peeing less, numbers are slightly better, and she finally went to sleep! She slept for 6 solid hours today. It's been like living with a newborn. Ha!
 
Well, Piper jumped up pretty high tonight. She was 291 at her PMPS. Should I raise her dosage to 1u? Thank you in advance!
 
I think Sue and the other experts have gone to bed and I'm not comfortable giving anyone dosing advice.

I will say that 291 isn't all that high relatively speaking, and personally I'm a chicken when it comes to raising doses unless I can monitor ;)

Your ss numbers look awesome, by the way! Obviously you're doing great!
 
I think Sue and the other experts have gone to bed and I'm not comfortable giving anyone dosing advice.

I will say that 291 isn't all that high relatively speaking, and personally I'm a chicken when it comes to raising doses unless I can monitor ;)

Your ss numbers look awesome, by the way! Obviously you're doing great!
Thank you!! Ya, I'm a chicken too. I know I would sleep right through it. I kept her at .75 tonight. It was just so strange to have such a low day today and then that. Who knows, maybe it was just one weird number.
 
Very strange. Piper was 188 at her AMPS, after the 291 last night. Should I change her dosage, or stick with the .75? She has also had 6 bowel movements in the last 36 hours. That is a lot! They are mostly normal, solid. A few small ones are slightly squishy. I am feeding her an entire can more a day (3 FF Classics a day). Am I feeding her too much?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top