Melody I.
Member Since 2019
Hello, Oliver was diagnosed with diabetes the day before Thanksgiving. He had a BG of 386. The vet told me to give him 3 units of glargine 2x day. I am using Basaglar and when I started home testing him I immediately dropped his dosage as the 3 units was taking him too low. Since then I have been adjusting his insulin for every shot but after discovering this site I see that probably isn't the correct thing to do. I've got about a month's worth of data in Oliver's spreadsheet and I'm not seeing any trends, which is probably due to constantly adjusting his dose. I'm off of work for a couple of days so will do more mid cycle testing. Would the recommendation at this point be to just start over with a lower dose and be consistent with that for a week before changing dosage? My vet doesn't seem to be FD knowledgeable and keeps wanting me to bring him in for all day testing, even though I'd doing the home testing. Any help or advice would be appreciated.