? Dosing help - AMPS 81, +2.5=55, +3=53, +6=89

Jackie55 & Bootsie

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2923119/

So 3 days ago Bootsie was running rather low and I decreased her PMS to only 15u from 29 - prob too much as the next 2 days she ran very high and then last night started to decrease and by this AM she was down to 81 from the 300’s.
She does have acromegaly and is insulin resistant - hence her high dose. Today I dropped her dose by 25% and she is holding her own with a rather flat curve. (She has a Libre on so hence I able to check her every hour)

My question is what do I give her tonight? I know she is not ready for a wean but if I had shot 29 this am I would have spend the day at the vet. This way I was able to control her at home.

Thanks in advance

@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
But you already cut her dose this morning. Do you think you need to reduce it again this evening? She’s headed up from green to blue now. Did you leave town already? Is it just your husband monitoring her now?

Are you wanting her to run higher since you are not home with her — a vacation dose? The decrease this morning was almost 25 percent.

It would take at least a couple of cycles to see how she will do on the new 22 unit dose.
 
Last edited:
But you already cut her dose this morning. Do you think you need to reduce it again this evening? She’s headed up from green to blue now. Did you leave town already? Is it just your husband monitoring her now?

Are you wanting her to run higher since you are not home with her — a vacation dose? The decrease this morning was almost 25 percent.

It would take at least a couple of cycles to see how she will do on the new 22 unit dose.

I wondered if a 25% reduction was too much and should I give more tonight, do I go back to her 29 units or ???. I have not left town yet - I leave on Sunday in the evening. And now at +11 she is 183 but she and Max (other cat) and my husband shared some salmon about an hour ago. I will scan her at 7:15 for her PMPS but I think 22 may not be enough. I just never know.
 
I would try 25 units as her new dose, Cabergoline is in play so this is a bit higher reduction, also given you will be going away. I am ignoring this morning’s BCS which is influenced by the 29 unit depot.
 
Back
Top