Dosing every 8ish hours TR

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohbell

Very Active Member
Not familiar with this but wondering if anyone has done it?

Trying to get a bit lower w/out the bounce. Thought this might help.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
 
Which insulin?
And yes, it is possible to do TID with ProZinc, PZI, and Lantus.
 
Yes, people have. If you search for Bookw0rm's threads, she did it for quite awhile. Generally it is done when a the insulin is only lasting 7-8 hours. It is very time consuming. You have to be positive the number is rising, not dropping and with Bean, I don't see that. He has a curve, it is just a higher one. And sometimes he is still pretty low to shoot by 8/9. TR is much more challenging with ProZinc than with the depot insulins because you aren't looking at a flat, continual curve. ProZinc drops faster and rises faster and adding insulin can really make the cycles volatile.

If he were mine, I would try a sliding scale. So, give the one and 2 drops (I am assuming that is what the 2D means?) or even 1.25 for 350+, one unit for the yellow pre shots. You have some blues in there; they are just a little early in the cycle. Sometimes that can mean a little too little insulin. I'd just be a little more agressive on those higher pre shots, IF you can be around to monitor.
 
Thanks so much sue!
I can only be here for a +5 during the week right now.
Hoping to change that the end of July and be home 4 out of 5 days. Just dont know yet
Also considering Levemir too
 
The great thing about ProZinc is the sliding scale. For example, on 6/27, you shot the same dose for 447 and 313. By using a sliding scale, there would be two very different doses i.e. the dose depends on what you get for the preshot test. There are probably different ways to set up your sliding scale. I try to keep track of the nadir and make adjustments based on that number. My goal is green and once that dose gets Merlin into the green during that cycle, then I begin to set my sliding scale. If the nadir gets too low or too high, after I get the same results twice, then I adjust the sliding scale. An example of the sliding scale that I use today (according to Merlin only; your kitty's sliding scale may look very different) is:
180 - 199 0.4
200 - 239 0.6
240 - 289 0.8
290 - 339 1.0
340 - 374 1.2
375 - 399 1.4
400 - plus 1.6
So if his preshot number is 447, then I would shoot 1.6u and if I got 313, I would shoot 1u. I also note my sliding scale on my spreadsheet so it is a quick reference for all. I also make notes in my comment area on any pending or possible upcoming changes. It just takes a while to set one up that works for your kitty but is certainly worth it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top