???DOSING CONCERNS???!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
after increasing Corky's dose from 0.25u to 1.0u his BG between +2 +3 & +4 +8 stays in the 200-299 range
I know in the +2 the insulin is beginning to take effect, however, at +10, before I go to sleep his BG lowers quite a bit considering, until his next dose at 6:00AM. I am afraid that during that time it could lower dangerously, my view of course and the fear of the past going under 90, preoccupies me.
If some of the members give me an input by checking his spreadsheet and advise me and advise. Thank you.
 
Looks like sometimes Corky does a double dip.

The following is a quote from https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
It's tight regulation protocol but gives relevant information about double dipping.

Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilar users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.​

Knowing whether your cat is one that dips at the end of the cycle can also help you with dose increases. If your nadirs are not that great and you are considering an increase, but then he dips again at the end of the cycle, you might be tempted to delay the increase. If you know that this is a usual pattern for your cat, you will know that you can ignore that dip and go ahead with the increase.​
 
Looks like sometimes Corky does a double dip.

The following is a quote from https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
It's tight regulation protocol but gives relevant information about double dipping.

Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilar users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.
Knowing whether your cat is one that dips at the end of the cycle can also help you with dose increases. If your nadirs are not that great and you are considering an increase, but then he dips again at the end of the cycle, you might be tempted to delay the increase. If you know that this is a usual pattern for your cat, you will know that you can ignore that dip and go ahead with the increase.​
:bighug::bighug:
 
DO NOT GIVE A SECOND SHOT.
You don't know how much went in.
You can take a test or two to check if you really did do a fur shot.
Fur shot or not a fur shot, the only thing to do is wait until Cory's next shot at PMPS.
 
DO NOT GIVE A SECOND SHOT.
You don't know how much went in.
You can take a test or two to check if you really did do a fur shot.
Fur shot or not a fur shot, the only thing to do is wait until Cory's next shot at PMPS.

Thank you for this suggestion, I tested on +11 and it looks like I did ok!:bighug::cat::cat:

I have a question for you, Corky's BG is at 142 at +4 by the PMPS 6:00PM it will be much lower, is it ok as Suzanne has suggested before for me to give 1.0u instead of 1.25u, otherwise by +10, he will be in the -2 digits that is usually when the insulin really kicks in. Please advise..
 
Last edited:
Corky has had a really good cycle today. What’s up? Are you worried about his PMPS? Let’s wait and see what it is. You’re in Florida so tell me his shot time again for tonight? 6:00?
 
Corky has had a really good cycle today. What’s up? Are you worried about his PMPS? Let’s wait and see what it is. You’re in Florida so tell me his shot time again for tonight? 6:00?

OH YES! I just tested him BG is at 123 he doses at 6:00PM with meal I dose him once he has eaten 1/2 of his food while eating, Please help, and welcome to Florida,
should I dose anyway,? how much? and or give him med CARBS???? desperately waiting answer
I am going to feed now but I am feeding Med Carbs, following past number after 10PM 6:00pm I will wait dosing till after fed, hoping to wait for reduction instructions if any.

Taking under consideration Corky's PMS and +10 I hope I made the correct decision, I dosed
1.0u and fed 1/2 MED CARBS
 
Last edited:
What’s his PMPS?

OH YES! I just tested him BG is at 123 he doses at 6:00PM with meal I dose him once he has eaten 1/2 of his food while eating, Please help, and welcome to Florida,
should I dose anyway,? how much? and or give him med CARBS???? desperately waiting answer
I am going to feed now but I am feeding Med Carbs, following past number after 10PM 6:00pm I will wait dosing till after fed, hoping to wait for reduction instructions if any.

Taking under consideration Corky's PMS and +10 I hope I made the correct decision, I dosed
1.0u and fed 1/2 MED CARBS

Last edited: 2 minutes ago
 
Okay. So let me make sure I have this right. You shot 1 unit tonight?

that is correct, I kept in mind your suggestion, as well as the ProZinc suggestion not to dose, so I took yours, to reduce a bit, he was getting too close to have -2 digits by 10PM, his last testing and then sleep. I did give him 2 tsp of Md Carb, Suzanne, when this happens I panic bad, I know you have better things to do than have your eyes glues to this Forum and probably you are on holiday vacation, I waited 15 minutes after his meal, before I shaking, took this decision, I hope I took the right one.
 
You are doing very well. I see that you have tested him at +2 and he is at 163. That must be the influence of the medium carb food driving him upward in BG. I do think he will be okay.

I know that you worry about his nighttime numbers, but take a look at and study his spreadsheet. His nadir is usually somewhere between his +4 and +6 and then his numbers continue to rise. So at night, if you test at around +4 and see a safe number, which would be anything above 50, he should be okay— I guess I mean do not panic. What you can do most nights when you test him and he is in blue numbers — as he most often is — is to give him a low carb snack before you go to bed. Then you can rest more easily that he will be just fine — the low carb food will help him to stay stable. Look at how his cycles go — he dips down and then he goes back up. His daily cycle curves make a smile where is starts out higher and goes down and goes back up — most of the time.
 
tha
You are doing very well. I see that you have tested him at +2 and he is at 163. That must be the influence of the medium carb food driving him upward in BG. I do think he will be okay.

I know that you worry about his nighttime numbers, but take a look at and study his spreadsheet. His nadir is usually somewhere between his +4 and +6 and then his numbers continue to rise. So at night, if you test at around +4 and see a safe number, which would be anything above 50, he should be okay— I guess I mean do not panic. What you can do most nights when you test him and he is in blue numbers — as he most often is — is to give him a low carb snack before you go to bed. Then you can rest more easily that he will be just fine — the low carb food will help him to stay stable. Look at how his cycles go — he dips down and then he goes back up. His daily cycle curves make a smile where is starts out higher and goes down and goes back up — most of the time.
nk you, you always have a way to ease my mind right now his +10 is 95, this I knew was going to happen the pattern semes to the same when he gets under 140- will give low carb snack, have a wonderful weekend hope that knee won't be to awfully painful for you and Darcy. :bighug::cat::cat:
 
tha

nk you, you always have a way to ease my mind right now his +10 is 95, this I knew was going to happen the pattern semes to the same when he gets under 140- will give low carb snack, have a wonderful weekend hope that knee won't be to awfully painful for you and Darcy. :bighug::cat::cat:
It’s my sweet kitty named Little Girl who had the surgery on Tuesday. Long story, but she was born a feral kitten outdoors although there’s nothing feral about her now! She and another one of my cats, Marcus, were living outdoors and I started taking care of them. They were both shot my someone, and it was after that I just couldn’t take the stress anymore of them being out there. Also when I brought them in, Little Girl had severe pneumonia. This was back in early 2020.
 
It’s my sweet kitty named Little Girl who had the surgery on Tuesday. Long story, but she was born a feral kitten outdoors although there’s nothing feral about her now! She and another one of my cats, Marcus, were living outdoors and I started taking care of them. They were both shot my someone, and it was after that I just couldn’t take the stress anymore of them being out there. Also when I brought them in, Little Girl had severe pneumonia. This was back in early 2020.
Omg!!! They were shot!??! That's so awful and crazy! You're such a good person to care for the kitties so well like you do. They must love you lots.
 
It’s my sweet kitty named Little Girl who had the surgery on Tuesday. Long story, but she was born a feral kitten outdoors although there’s nothing feral about her now! She and another one of my cats, Marcus, were living outdoors and I started taking care of them. They were both shot my someone, and it was after that I just couldn’t take the stress anymore of them being out there. Also when I brought them in, Little Girl had severe pneumonia. This was back in early 2020.

Wow, that's very noble of you and cowardly of the one that hurt them so sorry, you're a champ and a angel
 
@Suzanne & Darcy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope Little Girl's surgery went well.I can't tell you what I wish on the person that shot them. Sorry but that's the way I feel when someone harms a kitty.
I'd like to have a few hours with them and show them what pain feels like.
Sorry for hyjacking your thread Corky

I feel exactly the same way, I feel that anyone that harms a defenseless animal they do not or/and including a human being, they deserve to be put away and throw away the key, and I'm not sorry to say that, I go every night, to a Publix a few blocks away from my house where I used to work, there's a community of feral cats, that people just throw them there, every other day or so, there's a new kitten. The community is approximately minimum, 50-60 cats all ages, between me and two other ladies, we take turns to feed them every day. We trap the new ones and take them to the ASPCA, where they have the catch and release program, they get vaccinated, neutered or spayed and examined for any illness or infection, they cut the tip of one ear, to recognized they are safe, and we return them to the community, is very rewarding doing this, I cannot understand how can anyone get a pet, and then just throw them away like that, or fix their pet so they won't have litters.
 
Oh, guys. I’m off the Board now for quite a while. Can be back just a little in the afternoon probably. Got to get to a really long choir rehearsal now. Talk to you later.

I have a question, would it be wrong looking at Corky's spreadsheet, that on the AMPS dose he gets the 1.25u and on the PMPS dose he get 1.0u? Or would that make his numbers crazy? I am probably thinking crazy, but how do you feel or think about that?
 
I feel exactly the same way, I feel that anyone that harms a defenseless animal they do not or/and including a human being, they deserve to be put away and throw away the key, and I'm not sorry to say that, I go every night, to a Publix a few blocks away from my house where I used to work, there's a community of feral cats, that people just throw them there, every other day or so, there's a new kitten. The community is approximately minimum, 50-60 cats all ages, between me and two other ladies, we take turns to feed them every day. We trap the new ones and take them to the ASPCA, where they have the catch and release program, they get vaccinated, neutered or spayed and examined for any illness or infection, they cut the tip of one ear, to recognized they are safe, and we return them to the community, is very rewarding doing this, I cannot understand how can anyone get a pet, and then just throw them away like that, or fix their pet so they won't have litters.
Oh wow. Maria, I love you for doing this. I do the same. Up every morning at 5 a.m. to feed the community cats at 5 locations. Trapping, neutering, and returning cats. It’s gotten really bad this year with people also dumping kittens in our various locations. This year, I have taken and fostered 25 kittens in my house. I still have ten foster kittens here. Some are too small to be adopted and some are almost ready to be fixed and then adopted. Then I have my own cats with their own health challenges.
 
Oh wow. Maria, I love you for doing this. I do the same. Up every morning at 5 a.m. to feed the community cats at 5 locations. Trapping, neutering, and returning cats. It’s gotten really bad this year with people also dumping kittens in our various locations. This year, I have taken and fostered 25 kittens in my house. I still have ten foster kittens here. Some are too small to be adopted and some are almost ready to be fixed and then adopted. Then I have my own cats with their own health challenges.
I’m glad we both agree on this issue, I adopted or picked up my Coco she was about 40 days old, I fed her kitty milk in a baby bottle first then I bought her own, she’s going to be 4 on July 2024 she still thinks I’m her mom at night time, she gets beside me and suckles on my arm is the most adorable way, she was 6th runner up last year on America’s Favorite Pet I’m so proud of her I just entered Corky this month to compete
Could you review the post above and give your input on that. And people like us are Kitty Hero’s and is so rewarding as well

is only his +8 and he's 86:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited:
Oh wow. Maria, I love you for doing this. I do the same. Up every morning at 5 a.m. to feed the community cats at 5 locations. Trapping, neutering, and returning cats. It’s gotten really bad this year with people also dumping kittens in our various locations. This year, I have taken and fostered 25 kittens in my house. I still have ten foster kittens here. Some are too small to be adopted and some are almost ready to be fixed and then adopted. Then I have my own cats with their own health challenges.

I’m glad we both agree on this issue, I adopted or picked up my Coco she was about 40 days old, I fed her kitty milk in a baby bottle first then I bought her own, she’s going to be 4 on July 2024 she still thinks I’m her mom at night time, she gets beside me and suckles on my arm is the most adorable way, she was 6th runner up last year on America’s Favorite Pet I’m so proud of her I just entered Corky this month to compete
Could you review the post # 25 above, please, and give your input on that. And people like us are Kitty Hero’s and is so rewarding as well

is only his +8 and he's 86:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
I have a question, would it be wrong looking at Corky's spreadsheet, that on the AMPS dose he gets the 1.25u and on the PMPS dose he get 1.0u? Or would that make his numbers crazy? I am probably thinking crazy, but how do you feel or think about that?
You are not thinking crazy, but a split dose is not something I would recommend at this point. I do not see his nighttime numbers dipping into dangerous territory at this point. We have done occasional one-time reduction - like on 12/8 when his BG was 128 We have done a couple of temporary reductions at night in the last week or so when his BG was a little lower at PMPS than we currently have data to support shooting the full dose.
 
Last edited:
I’m glad we both agree on this issue, I adopted or picked up my Coco she was about 40 days old, I fed her kitty milk in a baby bottle first then I bought her own, she’s going to be 4 on July 2024 she still thinks I’m her mom at night time, she gets beside me and suckles on my arm is the most adorable way, she was 6th runner up last year on America’s Favorite Pet I’m so proud of her I just entered Corky this month to compete
Could you review the post # 25 above, please, and give your input on that. And people like us are Kitty Hero’s and is so rewarding as well

is only his +8 and he's 86:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
86 is not a dangerous number. Take a deep breath. I would give a low carb mini meal of 1-2 tsp LC food and retest in an hour — or 1/2 hour if you’re especially worried.
 
I think the LC snack will be sufficient to keep him stable. He doesn’t seem to be a diving kitty from what I see on his spreadsheet.
 
You are not thinking crazy, but a split dose is not something I would recommend at this point. I do not see his nighttime numbers dipping into dangerous territory at this point. We have done occasional one-time reduction - like on 12/8 when his BG was 128 We have done a couple of temporary reductions at night in the last week or so when his BG was a little lower at PMPS than we currently have data to support shooting the full dose.
My concerns continue to be after that PMPS shot right at this moment he’s BG is 86 most all this week continues to spiral down quicker
 
I think the LC snack will be sufficient to keep him stable. He doesn’t seem to be a diving kitty from what I see on his spreadsheet.
This is the reason as seen in his spreadsheet that I test every 2 hours because he can be floating great and by the next 2 hours like now he starts to drown and the full effect of the insulin does not kicks on him until about the 10pm (+)10)
 
86 is not a dangerous number. Take a deep breath. I would give a low carb mini meal of 1-2 tsp LC food and retest in an hour — or 1/2 hour if you’re especially worried.

Suzanne, I gave the LC at 8PM now at 9PM is 81 should I give for the last 11:00PM snack HC if it continues to drop? that or I can't sleep tonight and he's ear will be raw. I can only draw from the left ear the right ear the vein is so thin nothing comes out.
this is why I was talking about a smaller dose for the PMPS, he stayed pretty stable with the 1.0u, you know best of course
 
Hi. I’m checking in before bed. I’m sorry I didn’t see this before. Remember 86 in one hour and 81 in the next hour is VERY stable. 86 and 81 are virtually the same number. We would say that he was “flat” (not dropping.). HC was not necessary. A a small LC snack before bed would be perfect to keep him going. We would not want to derail a great cycle with HC at that point. But I totally understand your nerves and I understand how looking at a number on a meter that seems lower (numerically speaking) can be scary — and I understand being afraid to go to sleep! I remember those days. He was stable and not dropping. So that’s a great cycle. See how he started out low-ish with a mid blue and you gave him the 1.25 units and it kept him nice and low and pretty flat so far in his cycle? I see that he is trending upward into blue now so I hope you are actually sleeping!
 
Hi. I’m checking in before bed. I’m sorry I didn’t see this before. Remember 86 in one hour and 81 in the next hour is VERY stable. 86 and 81 are virtually the same number. We would say that he was “flat” (not dropping.). HC was not necessary. A a small LC snack before bed would be perfect to keep him going. We would not want to derail a great cycle with HC at that point. But I totally understand your nerves and I understand how looking at a number on a meter that seems lower (numerically speaking) can be scary — and I understand being afraid to go to sleep! I remember those days. He was stable and not dropping. So that’s a great cycle. See how he started out low-ish with a mid blue and you gave him the 1.25 units and it kept him nice and low and pretty flat so far in his cycle? I see that he is trending upward into blue now so I hope you are actually sleeping!

yes thank you I had a good night sleep, and HC was no necessary he’s AMPS was 354 +9-233 I got out of bed a bit ago so I’m posting now lesson learned. thank you so much for being there Next time I’ll follow all these notes, and did go to bed at 12:00Am ok thanks Enjoy your Sunday
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top