Let me see if I can explain this differently...
Your normal dose (currently 3U) is based on nadir when he is not bouncing (7/8, 7/9) OR when he is clearing a bounce (7/7 AMPS, 7/11 AMPS). When nadirs are green like he saw on 7/8 and 7/9, we hold the dose a little longer (5-7 days).
The sliding scale does usually increase by the same amount as the normal dose. So if you increase to 3.25U, chances are the sliding scale would increase by 0.25U as well. Depends on how he is reacting to the sliding scale doses.
Again, the issue with these low preshots is when giving the shot,
we do not know if he will bounce. Look at 5/14, 5/17, 5/20. Those are cycles he did not bounce and went hypo, or much lower than we want him. Nearly all of the other low preshot cycles he has bounced.
Our goal is to give at least some insulin so that:
- If he bounces, the insulin helps keep him from getting too high
- If he does not bounce, the insulin dose does not make him go hypo
Our goal is NOT to have him hit a low nadir every cycle. His bounces are not predictable and it's a recipe for trouble trying to overwhelm a bounce with more insulin.