Dosing advise BIG bouncing PM+7 241 AMPS 574!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
Tuxie has been getting some blues and yellows lately which for him is good. Also I am using an AT2 meter which means my readings are higher than a human meter by approximately 35%, so his nadir numbers are starting to look promising.

However it seems that he does some BIG bounces just when the numbers are starting to look better. I do lots of testing so I don't think it is because he is hitting any real lows which could be causing a rebound bounce. As you can see from his ss he was 241 at +7 last night and then 574 at AMPS..only 5 hours later.

Is my dose maybe too high or is it not high enough? Or should I be continuing to hold this dose for the time being?Any suggestions or thoughts???

Thanks
Mary Ann
 
Hi Mary Ann, this is the first time I have visited your condo. I don't typically give dosing advice, but I did want to ask if you have ruled out infection and possible dental issues. I don't typically first go to these things, but after looking at Tuxie's SS I can't really make any sense out of it. My first thought is there is something else in play or he still need more insulin.
 
Tuxie has had EVERYTHING done..US,dental with extractions (feb 28), tested for urine culture, IAA, cushings and acro...a round of broad spectrum AB just in case etc. I only posted the last months worth of readings but I have a written file that starts the beginning of December 2014 so I have been carefully tracking him all along.

He does have chronic pancreatitis according to a spec fPLI testing that was done, but has never had ANY symptoms and never lost his appetite..which is HUGE!! The vet says there is nothing symptomatic to treat so unless I wanted to try steroids there is nothing that can be done for the pancreatitis. He is still continuing to put on weight even with a controlled feeding of about 250-275 calories per day of homemade food which is about 3-4% carbs. He was 11.85 lb at dx (he had lost some weight) and is currently about 13.5 lbs. His ideal weight would be 12-12 1/5 lb.

His T4 (done 4 months ago) is on the low normal end 14 with a reference range of 10-60. Although his numbers aren't great they are much better than the 3 months prior where he ran blacks and reds consistently with an occasional yellow popping up.

With using an AT2 meter there is a conversion rate to get his numbers into human meter format. For instance his 158 last nit at +5 is actually about 102 on a human meter. Plus he has actually hit a hypo stage earlier in March when he hit 45 on AT2 which would be about 29 on a human meter.

With a human diabetic they are told that the swings between highs and lows are a great strain on the body. I would like to see his numbers staying overall in a more consistent level, then worry about bringing the numbers down. I don't know if this is the right train of thought for a kitty?? Also Tuxie has NEVER had ketones..I test daily, sometimes twice, even with running very high numbers for long periods of time.

I am worried about how how high he seems to bounce when his nadirs are getting better (for him). Would increasing his dose help with the high bounces or would they cause him to bounce higher??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top