Dosing Advise ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
PMPS was 174, waited 20 minutes and got 176, another 20 minutes now we are at 180 . He must have nadired really late. Back on 9.1.15 he was 202 at PMPS and I shot 2.5 u and he started going down fast and I had steered him with food at +5. Considering that, what dose should I do tonight? Thanks!

Posting in Health also
 
That would be wonderful if Robin&BB would be around tonight. If I drank coffee at this late in the day, I would not be able to sleep at all. Just pure adrenaline will sustain me tonight. ;)
 
No worries, I think he'll be just fine. Would love him to hang in the blues the majority of the night and give me a nice safe green. :D
 
His numbers were similar to that 9/7 and then he dropped later. We can still hope. He is hard to predict - we should be able to use the data from a couple cycles ago. He is a puzzle.
 
This morning he is at 218 after a very weird cycle last night. Not sure how to interpret it Should I bump he back up to 2.4 u?
I went ahead and shot 2.4 I will keep him inside again today and monitor. Very strange cycle. Perhaps he dropped more after +6 last night or he just surfed in yellow all night?
 
I think that was a good dose to give, Bobbie. There's no way to know for sure what happened, but it does look like he may have just surfed along. And that's okay. We will figure you out some day Bubba!!!!!
Thanks Rachel. I wonder if his frustration level from me keeping him inside could have contributed to him staying in yellow? He is never happy when I won't let him go outside, just like this morning, sigh. Just a thought.
 
Question- I know we have to keep track of how much our cats eat, but why is it so bad for them to eat a mouse now and then? It's a natural food plus they get exercise. I don't have to worry about it with Colin, while he likes to go out, he just lays on the porch or walks out to watch the chickens. Just curious.
 
Question- I know we have to keep track of how much our cats eat, but why is it so bad for them to eat a mouse now and then? It's a natural food plus they get exercise. I don't have to worry about it with Colin, while he likes to go out, he just lays on the porch or walks out to watch the chickens. Just curious.
I know what you are saying, Sharon. It is all protein and the food choice for cats. What I think is the problem with the diabetic cats is that we feed them and then they go out and eat more calories and it messes up the food/insulin ratio. I have kept track of when I make him stay in as opposed to going out, and he is often higher when I make him stay in. That could be from 1. frustrations and aggravation keeping him high and 2. from lack of exercise. When he is lower pre-shot, I definetly keep him inside so I can monitor.
 
Colin is not and has never been a hunter. In fact one sign that something was wrong with him was one day one of the other cats caught a mouse and Colin took it from him and ate it! That was so out of character and along with the weight loss I took him to the vet the next day and he was diagnosed. I think his body was telling him to eat more protein!(I had been happy about the weight loss because he was overweight) I even took a pic because I had never seen him even interested in mice!
image.jpg
 
So cute and he looks so proud! Isn't it funny how something out of the ordinary for him alarmed you? Bubba lost 8 lbs and all of a sudden I noticed he was getting skinnier. And like you, I was happy with him losing but worried that something was not right along with peeing a lot and drinking a lot, which he was never a water drinker before. Guess he got all his liquids from the mice.
 
This morning he is at 218 after a very weird cycle last night. Not sure how to interpret it Should I bump he back up to 2.4 u?

I like your dose too, Bobbie. I think last night was similar to 9/7 - almost same pmps, same dose. I'd guess he either had a late nadir or surfed. So, next time maybe a smidge more for that 180 range and monitor. Just keep in mind, he still is in good, below the renal threshold ranges. And you are pushing him lower, safely.

Patience pants, honey. Did you forget and wear your shorts today? :D
 
I like your dose too, Bobbie. I think last night was similar to 9/7 - almost same pmps, same dose. I'd guess he either had a late nadir or surfed. So, next time maybe a smidge more for that 180 range and monitor. Just keep in mind, he still is in good, below the renal threshold ranges. And you are pushing him lower, safely.

Patience pants, honey. Did you forget and wear your shorts today? :D
I am trying to be patient. :banghead: When he is low pre-shot and I am all prepared for a PJ party and he surfs high and flat, I feel like I was "all dressed up and nowhere to go"
 
Not sure what to make of this cycle today. He continued to rise in numbers through +5 and then started coming down. It seems he did the same thing last night. What does this mean? Is it an early bounce? This evening PMPS will be interesting. For now, I am giving his ears a much needed break, poor baby.
 
:D Do me a favor and start a new thread, Bobbie. Every time I come on, I have one of many senior moments and think "Oh gosh, I missed Bobbie and she needs Dose help". It's exhausting.

I don't know what Bubba is doing. I suggest we just go with the flow and figure he will reveal himself.... He's in good ranges, just a little weird.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top