Dosing Advise - 10/29 Butch AMPS 358, +5 311, +9.5 342, PMPS 275 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Dosing Advise - 10/29 Butch AMPS 358, +5 311, +9.5 342, PMPS 275

Madeline528

Member since 2015
Hello Everyone,

It has been quite a long time since my last post and it has been rough. I miss you all and wish I were able to post sooner. Butch is doing okay but his number haven't been so steady. I am doing my best to monitor Butch. There are a few new different people doing his injections and I do all the measuring. He is drinking much more and using the litter box as well.

I have been giving him 1.75 u. He has had cycles in the blues with a quick dip into the green but nothing steady.

This morning, I increased to 1.75u fat.

Dosing Advice Needed - @Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom

Would you please look at Butch’s spreadsheet and let me know if I should keep him with this morning increase 1.75 fat or go back to 1.75u or full increase to 2u?

Thank you so much, Butch & Madeline

Wishing all kitties a safe surf!
 
Hi Madeline! So good to see you again. I'm sorry that things have not been going well. BTW, here's your last post: 4/22 Butch 370, +6 351, PMPS HI Libre. It looks like Butch is probably doing some bouncing from those recent lows. I hope you get some feedback quickly to guide your dose adjustment. I notice he's had some urination problems; is the vet culturing and doing a sensitivity test each time he seemingly has a UTI. I only ask because Jude has going through this, and we ultimately determined that sometimes he has UTIs and sometimes he has Feline Idiopathic Cystitis flares (which aren't treated by Clavamox).
 
Hi Mary. So good to see you again too. I am happy that Jude is doing well.
Thank you :bighug: Thank you for adding my last post too
I was thinking he could be bouncing so I am questioning about my smidge of increase I did this morning and where to go with dosing.
Yes, both times that Butch was given Clavamox he had the same symptoms, but no culture was done.
Thank you, I'll discuss this with Butch's vet. I didn't know of Feline Idiopathic Cystitis
Have a nice evening. Safe surfing Jude! :bighug:
 
So sorry to read that Butch is having some troubles. I was peeking in on his spreadsheet just last week to check in on him and saw, like Mary, that he had been treated for UTI’s. Poor boy, those are so uncomfortable. Agree with Mary, if it comes up again, I’d get them to run a culture to be sure he gets the best treatment and clears it completely.

Wishing you both a calm night 🤗💕
 
Hi Mary. So good to see you again too. I am happy that Jude is doing well.
Thank you :bighug: Thank you for adding my last post too
I was thinking he could be bouncing so I am questioning about my smidge of increase I did this morning and where to go with dosing.
Yes, both times that Butch was given Clavamox he had the same symptoms, but no culture was done.
Thank you, I'll discuss this with Butch's vet. I didn't know of Feline Idiopathic Cystitis
Have a nice evening. Safe surfing Jude! :bighug:
I made the mistake of not having a culture and sensitivity done each time Jude had symptoms (my vet just assumed it was an infection and gave Clavamox). This had been an off and on issue (he would suddenly urinate outside the box, etc. for over a year or two and once he was diagnosed with FD, I noticed that his bg would increase during these episodes). Then, I began learning about FIC, and after the symptoms returned, I began asking for a culture/sensitivity, and discovered that sometimes Jude had a bacteria and other times he didn't. Of course, treating with an AB when there is no infection present can lead to them developing antibiotic resistance. To add to the issue, FIC is treated differently, besides not treating with an AB. And FIC can flare, and, like the UTIs, can cause the bg to shoot up. It's a whole THING, but the most important bit for us is that it can cause the bg to increase.
 
Hi Madeline, I love seeing you and Butch here. We are sending lots of good wishes to you both 💖
I’m sorry to see he’s been having urinary issues. I hope they can get that under wraps soon! ❤️‍🩹🍃❤️‍🩹🍃

I hope the increase you have brings better numbers, which will hopefully help with the drinking and peeing ❤️‍🩹
Have a calm night and a safe surf 🌊🏄‍♂️🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
Hi Madeline, I love seeing you and Butch here. We are sending lots of good wishes to you both 💖
I’m sorry to see he’s been having urinary issues. I hope they can get that under wraps soon! ❤️‍🩹🍃❤️‍🩹🍃

I hope the increase you have brings better numbers, which will hopefully help with the drinking and peeing ❤️‍🩹
Have a calm night and a safe surf 🌊🏄‍♂️🍃🍃🍃🍃
Hi Staci. Thank you so much for your support :bighug: :bighug:
 
I just went through the UTI issue with a kitty with kidney disease. Vet suspect UTI and sent the urine sample out for culture but started her on Clavamox as it treats the most common type of bacteria. Culture said it was a less common type of bacteria, but one that usually can be treated by Clavamox. Symptoms improved. Two weeks later, culture said she still had the bacteria present, in spite of symptoms reducing. Seems the type of bacteria she had sometimes was resistant to Clavamox, so we switched to a different antibiotic which is known to treat the type of bacteria she had. Two weeks later, culture said clean urine. Moral of the story, get a culture done and treat the bacteria that is present. Clavamox is not always the solution.

As far as dose goes, I'd give it the full six cycles to see how he does on it. Typically 0.25 unit increases are better, but you are half way to building the depot so I'd see how it does first. You said different people giving injections, are you using digital calipers or a sample syringe filled to the right dose to try to get consistency in dosing?
 
Last edited:
I just went through the UTI issue with a kitty with kidney disease. Vet suspect UTI and sent the urine sample out for culture but started her on Clavamox as it treats the most common type of bacteria. Culture said it was a less common type of bacteria, but one that usually can be treated by Clavamox. Symptoms improved. Two weeks later, culture said she still had the bacteria present, in spite of symptoms reducing. Seems the type of bacteria she had sometimes was resistant to Clavamox, so we switched to a different antibiotic which is known to treat the type of bacteria she had. Two weeks later, culture said clean urine. Moral of the story, get a culture done and treat the bacteria that is present. Clavamox is not alway the solution.

As far as dose goes, I'd give it the full six cycles to see how he does on it. Typically 0.25 unit increases are better, but you are half way to building the depot so I'd see how it does first. You said different people giving injections, are you using digital calipers or a sample syringe filled to the right dose to try to get consistency in dosing

Thank you so much, Wendy for sharing :bighug:
I'll definitely have a culture done moving forward.

Thank you, I will keep him on 1.75 fat for 6 cycles. Butch had a nice stretch of blues today.
I am using a digital caliper to measure his dose to try to get consistency.
 
Back
Top