Dosing Advice??

Christin & Mimi

Member Since 2018
Hello, everyone. I'm looking for some help figuring out what's going on with my diabetic cat, Mimi. She was diagnosed two years ago, and for a while, she seemed to be well-regulated on Lantus. Upon the vet's advice, we had her dose up to 2.25 units twice a day for a number of months, but we began reducing it when we noticed that she was nearing hypo and seemed to be bouncing.

Over a period of a few weeks, we started to realize that the lower her dose was, the lower her numbers started to become. A few months ago, we dropped her all the way down to .25 units after she seemed to bounce on every dose higher than that. Her pre-shot numbers were better than ever on .25 units--in the low 200s. However, when we tested her at expected nadir times, we noticed she didn't seem to be dropping below 175. We then began increasing the dose, but she again seemed to be bouncing. Her pre-shot numbers would generally be in the mid-300s at higher doses (even just on .5 or .75 units), and then she'd be sky-high at night (mid-400s and sometimes 500+). It now feels like no matter what we do, we can't get her regulated again. Today we ran a full curve, dropping her back down to .25 units again. The odd thing is that her numbers actually increased after the shot and then began to decrease as pre-shot time neared again. What could be going on here?

Below are the results of her curve from today. We ended up giving the first test a bit late as we got home later than planned, but I don't know if it's possible that she may have bounced in those first couple of hours or if she needs to have a dose increase. Any suggestions would be much appreciated, as we are becoming increasingly concerned.

2/18 - Dose: .25 unit of Lantus

Pre-Shot: 350
+3: 430
+5: 450
+7: 447
+9: 397
+11: 367
 
Hello, everyone. I'm looking for some help figuring out what's going on with my diabetic cat, Mimi... Any suggestions would be much appreciated, as we are becoming increasingly concerned.

2/18 - Dose: .25 unit of Lantus

Pre-Shot: 350
+3: 430
+5: 450
+7: 447
+9: 397
+11: 367
I’m not experienced enough to help you but I’m awake as I just tested my guy. If you put a question mark in the prefix of your subject/thread title, it will get more eyes on it if anybody experienced is around
 
Thank you for the suggestion! It looks like I can't add in that question mark to the pre-fix by editing the post, so I will go ahead and delete this one and re-post a new thread.

ETA: Actually, it looks like there is no way for me to delete the original post.
 
Hi Christine and Mimi and welcome.
There are a few things you can do so that we can help you.
The first thing is if you could set up a spreadsheet (I'll give you the link) and then put in maybe the last months data for us to see. We are very data driven here and find that spreadsheet give us a lot of information. Also any other curves you have done recently would be great to see in the SS. There is also a remarks column in the SS where you can add info such as when you fed, how she was feeling, any constipation/diarrhoea etc.
Here is the link. If you have any trouble at all setting it up we can help you. Just ask.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Also if you could set up your signature which will appear at the bottom of all your posts and will tell us all we need to know about Mimi. Tell us when diagnosed, illnesses, what type of meter you are using, type of food given, Here is the link
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

It is really good you are testing the BG levels.
Are you testing before every dose of insulin to ensure it is safe to give the shots?
And do you test during the cycles at all...including the pm cycles?

If you could tell us how often you feed Mimi. Do you feed just twice a day before the shots or do you feed at other times as well?
We recommend feeding before the shot, (test, feed and shoot in that order) and then offer smaller snacks during the first half of the cycle at say +2 and +4 or +3 and +5 or whatever suits you. But feeding in the first half of the cycle is better when the insulin is strongest.

Here is a link we give to new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

I know I haven't answered your questions yet but if we could get the information I mentioned that will help a lot.
Keep asking lots of questions. I am sure we will be able to help you and Mimi.
Bron
 
Back
Top