Christin & Mimi
Member Since 2018
Hello, everyone. I'm looking for some help figuring out what's going on with my diabetic cat, Mimi. She was diagnosed two years ago, and for a while, she seemed to be well-regulated on Lantus. Upon the vet's advice, we had her dose up to 2.25 units twice a day for a number of months, but we began reducing it when we noticed that she was nearing hypo and seemed to be bouncing.
Over a period of a few weeks, we started to realize that the lower her dose was, the lower her numbers started to become. A few months ago, we dropped her all the way down to .25 units after she seemed to bounce on every dose higher than that. Her pre-shot numbers were better than ever on .25 units--in the low 200s. However, when we tested her at expected nadir times, we noticed she didn't seem to be dropping below 175. We then began increasing the dose, but she again seemed to be bouncing. Her pre-shot numbers would generally be in the mid-300s at higher doses (even just on .5 or .75 units), and then she'd be sky-high at night (mid-400s and sometimes 500+). It now feels like no matter what we do, we can't get her regulated again. Today we ran a full curve, dropping her back down to .25 units again. The odd thing is that her numbers actually increased after the shot and then began to decrease as pre-shot time neared again. What could be going on here?
Below are the results of her curve from today. We ended up giving the first test a bit late as we got home later than planned, but I don't know if it's possible that she may have bounced in those first couple of hours or if she needs to have a dose increase. Any suggestions would be much appreciated, as we are becoming increasingly concerned.
2/18 - Dose: .25 unit of Lantus
Pre-Shot: 350
+3: 430
+5: 450
+7: 447
+9: 397
+11: 367
Over a period of a few weeks, we started to realize that the lower her dose was, the lower her numbers started to become. A few months ago, we dropped her all the way down to .25 units after she seemed to bounce on every dose higher than that. Her pre-shot numbers were better than ever on .25 units--in the low 200s. However, when we tested her at expected nadir times, we noticed she didn't seem to be dropping below 175. We then began increasing the dose, but she again seemed to be bouncing. Her pre-shot numbers would generally be in the mid-300s at higher doses (even just on .5 or .75 units), and then she'd be sky-high at night (mid-400s and sometimes 500+). It now feels like no matter what we do, we can't get her regulated again. Today we ran a full curve, dropping her back down to .25 units again. The odd thing is that her numbers actually increased after the shot and then began to decrease as pre-shot time neared again. What could be going on here?
Below are the results of her curve from today. We ended up giving the first test a bit late as we got home later than planned, but I don't know if it's possible that she may have bounced in those first couple of hours or if she needs to have a dose increase. Any suggestions would be much appreciated, as we are becoming increasingly concerned.
2/18 - Dose: .25 unit of Lantus
Pre-Shot: 350
+3: 430
+5: 450
+7: 447
+9: 397
+11: 367