Dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
Would someone look at Bubba's SS? Bubba dropped to 75 at + 11 and hasn't come up for his PMPS so I not thinking stalling is going to do much....... guess we are skipping??
 
At best, stall the 30 minutes without feeding and maybe give a token dose, say 0.4 - 0.6 units if he starts rising and gets over 150 mg/dL. I'm just kind of looking at color patterns, and wondering if you need to scale the doses down a bit.

On 10/03/2015, he went from 205 mg/dL to 50 mg/dL on 2.4 units skinny, a drop of 155 mg/dL. That works out to 0.8 units might drop him about 50 mg/dL ... if he were consistent in response, but I wouldn't bet on that, especially with not pooping.
 
I fed him all ready........when I tested him, I had to jab him 4-5 times and he was getting so damn mad at me! I think his PMPS was probably lower than the 72 that I got. This am I just took his dose up .2 as the last few days he has been lower and flatter and never going into the greens. What dose do you think I should scale down too?
 
Hi Bobbie, looks like Bubba is leading you on that dance again! I can't give dosing advice, and BJM made some good points, maybe a token dose tonight, just so he doesn't go to high? Good luck and hope he gets some nice numbers tomorrow. :bighug:
 
Bubba, Bubba. I think he should permanently get the title of "Mr. Unpredictable". I would think he might be getting some pancreas action, but I don't think we often see that until the cat is under one unit. So I am officially stumped, again. I don't understand how the same dose can leave him flat one cycle and give you an unshootable pre shot the next. There are cats who bounce a cycle or even two after an increase, usually with a flatter higher cycle, but that pattern doesn't seem to fit either.

The only positive I see, Bobbie, and it is a big one, is that if you just look at the colors at the bottom week or two of your spreadsheet, there are lots of yellows and blues. The more time he spends in the lower ranges, the better. I do understand that his unpredictability is stressful and exhausting for you, never knowing what is coming next. But you are doing so well rolling with his punches.

If you get frustrated, go to your profile and look at your first posts and marvel at how much you have learned! :bighug:
 
Thanks so much for the pep talk! Rolling with the punches is all I can do with this cat. I have been very pleased with the last few days of blue and yellow pre shots and not as much bouncing. I might have pushed it by increasing his dose to 2.2 yesterday morning but, I actually heard your words saying " well, he has some room to go down" as he was not hitting any double digits during those cycles with lower pre -shots. Maybe that was a mistake on my part? Much to my surprise, this morning he was only 411 after no insulin last night. I took him back to 2 units and we will see what happens. Meantime, I'm dancing. Hope you are having a wonderful time!! :cool::cat:;):bighug:
 
Last edited:
I can think of one thing that could possibly cause the erratic numbers, and I really hope it isn't. Certain types of hormone secreting tumors could impact the glucose level - an insulinoma is one, an adenoma in the pituitary or adrenal gland is another (acromegaly). The secretion can be intermittent, resulting in erratic glucose levels.
Maybe read over the stickies under high dose conditions (no, he isn't, based on dose) to see if anything strikes you as relevant such as size, large jaw, etc.
There was a cat here for a while named Xuxu, and he probably had an insulinoma. He was never controlled and his glucose ranged widely. He eventually passed away.
 
I can think of one thing that could possibly cause the erratic numbers, and I really hope it isn't. Certain types of hormone secreting tumors could impact the glucose level - an insulinoma is one, an adenoma in the pituitary or adrenal gland is another (acromegaly). The secretion can be intermittent, resulting in erratic glucose levels.
Maybe read over the stickies under high dose conditions (no, he isn't, based on dose) to see if anything strikes you as relevant such as size, large jaw, etc.
There was a cat here for a while named Xuxu, and he probably had an insulinoma. He was never controlled and his glucose ranged widely. He eventually passed away.
Yikes, none of those sound good. I will read the stickies and see if anything jumps out. Before last night, he was more consistently in lower numbers and not vary as much. I am imagining that after his enucleation of the right eye scheduled on October 29th, we will have some more waves and then hoping that he will level out. If need be, I will switch to lantus is a better result is more viable.
 
I'm going out on a limb now ... to wonder aloud whether Bubba might be one of those kitties whose body tends to kind of "overreact" to dose changes AND one who will spike a really high # when he has a bout of something like diarrhea. (Remember how he starting trying to hack up a hairball on 10/5, and this continued in the early morning hrs of 10/6, followed by the runny poop? And that's the morning he spiked you that 582.) And look at what occurred when you bumped him up just another 0.25U to 2.4 on 10/1: maybe that was a wee bit too much insulin for him? Then you were getting mostly blues & yellows out of him when you backed his dose down to 2 units starting 10/7. While he can be "consistently inconsistent" I wonder if some of this may be that he might be kinda sensitive to dose changes? I don't know, really; heck, maybe I'm just grasping at straws here.
I am imagining that after his enucleation of the right eye scheduled on October 29th, we will have some more waves and then hoping that he will level out.
The eye thing he has going on has also been at the back of my mind ... how do we know for certain that this isn't affecting him to some extent? (We really don't know that, do we???)

My only other comment is that he really has only been on insulin since - when? - June 23rd or thereabouts? That's really not that long a time ...
And you're doing a terrific job with him, too, Bobbie - keeping up with testing like a trooper and you've made positive changes in his diet, etc. :)
If need be, I will switch to lantus is a better result is more viable.
I have to agree with this: If after his surgery and a reasonable wait-and-see period that you give him to level out afterward doesn't yield some additional improvement, maybe a switch to Lantus would be the next course of action. :bighug:
 
kitties whose body tends to kind of "overreact" to dose changes[/QUOTE

I was pondering that too. I think I am going to start holding a dose for 1 week unless of course I have to reduce or skip and see how that does. And then, maybe do a fat dose when it's time to bump up and so on.
The eye thing he has going on has also been at the back of my mind ... how do we know for certain that this isn't affecting him to some extent? (We really don't know that, do we???)
The eye specialist checks him for pressure and none present as of yet, so I don't know if it could be playing into it at all.

I will try holding doses longer and many smaller adjustments and see if that helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top