Dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you get the black formatting in the units cell fixed? All you need to do is right click on that cell, then clear all formatting.

Lol, I appreciate your help but you are talking way above my head when you start talking about formatting. But Melanie @Brashworks very kindly fixed the mess for me! :)
 
So that's where the fancy new cat tree and all the new catnip toys came from, lol.....I'm on to him now!

LOL that's funny!

Thanks so much for all you did to fix Squallie's spreadsheet! I would have thanked you earlier but my internet was out all evening - ah, the joys of country living!

No worries, Lucy - I'm happy to help! I am way too inexperienced for dosing advice or anything like that so you've given me a great opportunity to be useful! :D:D
 
so when my vet said that's what Squallie should be eating I just figured she knew better than me about good food/bad food for diabetic kitties!
I hear that! I used to believe it, too. Then later I realized there's a fair # of vets out there who know precious little about effectively treating diabetic cats. Not that I'm bashing them, understand. But they're just like a lot of human docs: So busy that they don't always find time to read the latest literature/ treatment protocols on a certain disease. When first dx'd, my Colorado vet sent us home with Lantus, D/M canned (3%) and D/M dry. I had to find out on my own (via reading online @ FDMB site) about the catinfo.org cat food comparison doc. When I saw that carb # for the dry D/M formula, I went, "Whaaaaaat???!!! Told the vet; he was astonished; said, "Wow, let's transition her off that dry formula!" So he and I both learned something. (Thanks, FDMB folk! It was really your info that helped me get her off Lantus faster than I otherwise could have - if at all, if I'd kept feeding her that 31% stuff!)
 
I hear that! I used to believe it, too. Then later I realized there's a fair # of vets out there who know precious little about effectively treating diabetic cats. Not that I'm bashing them, understand. But they're just like a lot of human docs: So busy that they don't always find time to read the latest literature/ treatment protocols on a certain disease. When first dx'd, my Colorado vet sent us home with Lantus, D/M canned (3%) and D/M dry. I had to find out on my own (via reading online @ FDMB site) about the catinfo.org cat food comparison doc. When I saw that carb # for the dry D/M formula, I went, "Whaaaaaat???!!! Told the vet; he was astonished; said, "Wow, let's transition her off that dry formula!" So he and I both learned something. (Thanks, FDMB folk! It was really your info that helped me get her off Lantus faster than I otherwise could have - if at all, if I'd kept feeding her that 31% stuff!)

It's so easy to believe the vets have all the answers,isn't it? And usually they do, or at least a good bit more than we do! That's why we pay them big $$.But, just like human medicine today, there are times when we do ourselves a real disfavor if we don't research all our options. I must be blind because I looked at that same cat food comparison chart but thought it presented only canned food values. I think even someone else here may have said something to me about it but, once again, I didn't see dry, just canned. So I really do appreciate the info; sometimes I need to get beat over the head a few times before things start to sink in, I guess, lol! :-)
 
Lol, I appreciate your help but you are talking way above my head when you start talking about formatting. But Melanie @Brashworks very kindly fixed the mess for me! :)

When you click the units cell and then use the right mouse button and press it (right-click), a menu comes up. One of the items listed on the menu indicates it will clear the formatting, that is remove all color codes and font selections (like Arial, Verdana, Times Roman).
 

When you click the units cell and then use the right mouse button and press it (right-click), a menu comes up. One of the items listed on the menu indicates it will clear the formatting, that is remove all color codes and font selections (like Arial, Verdana, Times Roman).
Thank you for the info, much appreciated! :-)
 
Squallie's PMPS was 464 tonight. That's the highest he's ever been. I don't understand why his numbers go up like that; 464 scares me, what happens if he goes higher than 500?!? I am trying to transition everyone onto Evo for their dry food and of course, no body likes it, so he's not eating much - he still hates the canned food :-( . Could this be having an effect on his numbers? Also, today was the first dose outt of a new bottle of insulin; again, could that have anything to do with it? I don't see why it should but I guess I'm grasping at straws at the moment.
 
If he goes higher, he goes higher. Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.

You do need to be monitoring for ketones, either in urine (KetoStix or KetoDiaStix) or blood (NovaMax or Precision XTra).


Can you run a curve tomorrow - test from pre-shot to pre-shot, every 2 hours?
 
If he goes higher, he goes higher. Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.

You do need to be monitoring for ketones, either in urine (KetoStix or KetoDiaStix) or blood (NovaMax or Precision XTra).


Can you run a curve tomorrow - test from pre-shot to pre-shot, every 2 hours?
Yes, I can do that. I tested him for ketones 4-5 days ago and he was okay, I'll test him again next time I catch him in the litter box.
 
Sending you some :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Aine, I need all I can get! I've been very worried about my sweet boy this evening, he doesn't seem himself. I want to test him for ketones but haven't seen him in the litter box all day, haven't seen him drinking, either, although he has been eating. He doesn't seem dehydrated and his breath smells just like fishy cat breath to me, so I hope we're clear of a ketone problem. He does seem awfully "dozey" and at one point was kicking his lips a lot, like he felt nauseated. I wish he could talk!
 
How many times I have wished the same thing, Lucy.

When did Squallie last do a poop? Any flatulence?
No gas, but I haven't seen a poop all day - haven't even seen him in the box. Unusual for him. He ate a big breakfast this AM and some kibble mini-meals earlier, but tonight he doesn't want to eat, only nibbled the edges of wet dins :-(. However, I have to say, none of my cats seems to want wet dins tonight.
 
Heat definitely affects Saoirse's appetite, as does cold. She eats much less in hot weather. No harm to keep a beady little eye on them all the same!

:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top