manxcat419
Member Since 2015
Hi
My cat Rosa was diagnosed this week. Her BG at the vet on Friday was 680. They wanted her switched to MD food (which she won't eat so she's on Friskies low carb, low phosphorus at the moment) and on 2 units of Lantus morning and evening.
The opinion on the forum was that that was a very high starting dose for her current weight of 8.8lb combined with switching her to a low carb food and might well cause a hypo, so I reduced her dosing to 1 unit twice a day and allowed her a little of her old food (Royal Canin SO dry) between mealtimes in case she needed it.
I wasn't able to get a blood test from her until tonight when, after buying the 26 gauge lancets for the Relion Confirm, I was successful in getting a test at the 1st attempt. However, her number at +11 was 566. She was a little stressed earlier today as there was thunder which she hates, but clearly her number pre-shot is still very high.
Can anyone advise on whether I should stick with one unit for another few doses (her first dose was Friday night) or whether I should increase back to the 2 units the vet recommended. Her dose is due in about 20 minutes.
My cat Rosa was diagnosed this week. Her BG at the vet on Friday was 680. They wanted her switched to MD food (which she won't eat so she's on Friskies low carb, low phosphorus at the moment) and on 2 units of Lantus morning and evening.
The opinion on the forum was that that was a very high starting dose for her current weight of 8.8lb combined with switching her to a low carb food and might well cause a hypo, so I reduced her dosing to 1 unit twice a day and allowed her a little of her old food (Royal Canin SO dry) between mealtimes in case she needed it.
I wasn't able to get a blood test from her until tonight when, after buying the 26 gauge lancets for the Relion Confirm, I was successful in getting a test at the 1st attempt. However, her number at +11 was 566. She was a little stressed earlier today as there was thunder which she hates, but clearly her number pre-shot is still very high.
Can anyone advise on whether I should stick with one unit for another few doses (her first dose was Friday night) or whether I should increase back to the 2 units the vet recommended. Her dose is due in about 20 minutes.



