There really isn't a way to know for sure, Carol. It could be a fur shot...but even if you knew that, you couldn't give more insulin this AM, so it's kind of a moot point.
Honestly, I feel there is another possibility. I think Murphy might take a few cycles to settle into a dose. On 10/13, you gave 1.5 in the evening. He stayed pretty flat. The next day, we don't know what the mid cycles were, but the numbers for preshots were hight. But then on 10/15 he suddenly threw some blues. Low blues too.
So we switched to 1/fat 1. He gave a small drop, but not much that night. 10/16, he gave a drop, but not real low in AM cycle, and stayed fairly flat in the PM cycle. Then yesterday, he threw some greens.
What I get from all this is that first, the lower amounts of insulin do work better for him. Even when he didn't go real low, the lower amounts gave him more of a drop than the higher ones. Second, it might take a few cycles for a dose to really settle in for him. And if I remember, that's basically what Robin was saying. That he might need smaller increments of change for his body to get used to it...he might just be a kitty who requires tiny changes and a few cycles to get used to it.
For this reason, I'd stick with 1 unit tonight. Yeah, he'll probably be high. But I'd like to test this theory out a little more (if you agree!). I'm wondering if you'll see a drop tomorrow AM cycle if you stick with this dose.
In the end, Carol, you hold the syringe. I know this isn't going as fast as we'd all like, but if you look just at the colors on your SS, since we started this lower dose experiment, the preshots have been better. Since you're getting ketone tests, you know he's safe there. I know this is frustrating, but what do you think about my plan? We're doing a lot of experimenting with Murphy, but if he was mine, that's what I'd go with. If this ends up not working, we can change at any point.