Dosing Advice (pt 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Douglas_my ginger cat

Member Since 2020
I’m not surprised you’re lost, Anna - it really is frustrating when you think you’re starting to get somewhere and then a spanner gets thrown in the works because of who knows what. It was nice to see that 13 this morning but Douglas might have been rising fast at that point and the 0.75u didn’t hold him for long. Yet he could go up or down between now and pmps. I wouldn’t like to say what to do really - see what the others suggest.
I expect you’re beginning to see why FD is called a marathon not a sprint. Hang in there - you were starting to get somewhere a week or so ago and you can get there again...
 
Hi Anna,

Hard to tell without knowing what went on mid-cycle last night. He could have gone fairly low and your numbers today might be a bounce but this nothing but pure speculation on my part (no data to base it on).

I've no idea how you're fixed but if you could somehow find a way to get a 'before bed' check every night it would go some way toward fleshing out the picture of how Douglas responds to a given dose.

If it were me, I wouldn't increase to 1.0IU.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Anna, my best suggestion would be to stick with the 0.75 for a few more cycles at least, as Douglas 'may' drop more on that dose.

From looking at Douglas's SS it looks like the 0.5 wasn't enough to hold the numbers down at that point. And it also 'feels' to me that he is a kitty that can quite quickly become re-accustomed to higher numbers. That may mean that he is slow to respond to an increased insulin dose. Hence my suggestion to stick with the 0.75 for a few more cycles, to see what his body can do on that dose.... However, if, in a few more cycles, he doesn't respond more to the 0.75 then I'd suggest that you increase the dose a tad, even if only to something like a 'skinny' unit, to see if that nudges the numbers down more.

Eliz
 
Anna -

You've probably answered this and I apologize for not remembering but is there a reason you can't get any PM cycle tests? If there is a reason, it may be helpful to add that to your signature so someone (such as me) doesn't keep asking why no PM tests. If it is possible, it would be helpful to get at least one test in the evenings. Many cats experience lower numbers at nigh and you don't want to miss a dose reduction and you want to be able to keep Douglas safe.
 
Anna -

You've probably answered this and I apologize for not remembering but is there a reason you can't get any PM cycle tests? If there is a reason, it may be helpful to add that to your signature so someone (such as me) doesn't keep asking why no PM tests. If it is possible, it would be helpful to get at least one test in the evenings. Many cats experience lower numbers at nigh and you don't want to miss a dose reduction and you want to be able to keep Douglas safe.

Hi, to be honest, the reason I don't is because I am usually in bed by 9.30pm and asleep by 10. Its a selfish reason to be fair :(
 
Hi, to be honest, the reason I don't is because I am usually in bed by 9.30pm and asleep by 10. Its a selfish reason to be fair :(

Hi Anna, it’s hard I know to stay up late when you’re more of a morning person! What would be good though is if you could just do one test before you go to bed each night - look at it in conjunction with the pmps number and be sure that he isn’t dropping too low too fast. I see he’s back to a yellow this evening so it will be interesting to see where the 0.75u takes him. Just do what you can when you can - safety being paramount of course at all times.
 
Hi Anna, it’s hard I know to stay up late when you’re more of a morning person! What would be good though is if you could just do one test before you go to bed each night - look at it in conjunction with the pmps number and be sure that he isn’t dropping too low too fast. I see he’s back to a yellow this evening so it will be interesting to see where the 0.75u takes him. Just do what you can when you can - safety being paramount of course at all times.
That makes sense and is doable. I seemed to have it in my mind that when tests are asked for after PMPS, I assumed they were at +5, +6 which is the middle of the night for me!

I am going to put my alarm on for +5 tonight as Douglas's bg test at +2 was up to 17.3 so confused as to where this shot is going. Luckily I am off from work for a few days now so will get these extra tests in when I can
 
That makes sense and is doable. I seemed to have it in my mind that when tests are asked for after PMPS, I assumed they were at +5, +6 which is the middle of the night for me!

I am going to put my alarm on for +5 tonight as Douglas's bg test at +2 was up to 17.3 so confused as to where this shot is going. Luckily I am off from work for a few days now so will get these extra tests in when I can

well, more pm cycle tests would be ideal but you can’t get up in the middle of the night on a regular basis, especially if you have work the next day. Yes, the +2 can be confusing but it does at least give you an indication of what might be happening. It was only a week or so ago I think that you gave 1u on a pmps of about 10 and he dropped hard and fast then (not surprising actually and I think you know now that 10 is a no-shoot number), and there’s never any guarantee that the same thing might happen again. So you need data, yes, to try to work out a dose, but above all you need to be sure he’s safe, so a pre-bedtime test has to be a good idea.

I think what I’d do in your situation is bring shot times forward a bit to allow you to get one or two evening tests in. I’m not sure what time you usually test/shoot - is it around 7.30? If you got up earlier and did 6 - 6.30am, would you be home in time to do 6 - 6.30pm? That might enable you to squeeze a couple of tests in before bedtime. Just a thought.

It is frustrating, so many of us have been there and know exactly what this is like. Do give yourself lots of credit for how you’re doing. I’m especially impressed at how you got to grips with testing with no trouble at all, and you never whinge or make a fuss. Well done that girl!
 
I think what I’d do in your situation is bring shot times forward a bit to allow you to get one or two evening tests in. I’m not sure what time you usually test/shoot - is it around 7.30? If you got up earlier and did 6 - 6.30am, would you be home in time to do 6 - 6.30pm? That might enable you to squeeze a couple of tests in before bedtime. Just a thought.
Yup 7.30, thats a good idea about bringing in forwadd but I need to look at my schedule to see if its possible.

Thank you for your kind words :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top