? Dosing advice (Prozinc) PMPS 409 Do I need to increase to 1 unit again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NiandraLaDes21

Member Since 2020
On Sunday, I reduced Chia's insulin dose to 0.75 units. It finally got me to where I am now administering insulin every 12 hours. However, the numbers are remaining high. I haven't been able to take as mid-cycle/in-between testing due to work. I have been trying to do some night testing. So should I go back to 1 unit since Chia is having high BG's?
 
I'm not certain what to advise. It's really good that you can inject twice a day, and I worry that going back to 1 unit is going to lose that. Readings do look pretty flat on the 16th and 17th though, so maybe it's not bounce. And you've done 6 cycles on the new dose. How about trying a "fat .75"? That just means you draw it just the tiniest bit over .75, but not clear to 1 unit. You note it on the chart as F.75. Might be worth a try for 3 cycles, or until someone with more dosing experience than me chimes in.
 
That was my concern about going back to 1 unit, losing the 2 shots a day that I am getting now. I gave him a fat 0.75 right now. Let's see what this does with the BG numbers!

I'm not certain what to advise. It's really good that you can inject twice a day, and I worry that going back to 1 unit is going to lose that. Readings do look pretty flat on the 16th and 17th though, so maybe it's not bounce. And you've done 6 cycles on the new dose. How about trying a "fat .75"? That just means you draw it just the tiniest bit over .75, but not clear to 1 unit. You note it on the chart as F.75. Might be worth a try for 3 cycles, or until someone with more dosing experience than me chimes in.
 
Fat 0.75 U is a good idea.
Note that as either 0.75F in the units column on the SS or as F0.75
I would not hold that dose for more than 3 cycles. With the skipped shot on 2/14 and 2/15 PM cycle, and the reduction is dose from 1 to 0.75U, his BG numbers have been trending higher.

Do you work 7 days a week? Tests on days off or weekends, or ever a 12 hour curve could be useful information.
Are you away at work for 12 hours? If you get home soon enough, a +10 or +11 is useful information, especially that +11. Some days you'll be able to get more BG tests. Some days you won't.

Think about what is possible with your work/life responsibilities and balance.
 
Yes, they seem to be trending higher since dropping the dose to 0.75 U. I did the fat 0.75 U this morning and a little bit ago this evening. I will be doing a few tests tonight to see how things look. So if the numbers are still high tomorrow after the 3rd cycle of Fat 0.75 U, do I increase back to 1.0 U?

Yes, I work a lot about 5-6 days a week and in different locations, and unfortunately, I am not able to test much during the day while I am at work. I often times don't get home till 6pm when it is about 30 minutes before the PMPS test/injection. Depends on the day. I have been able to sneak away during my lunch break on the days I am working close to home. And I am the only bean in this household. No help from anyone else available. I definitely can do more tests when I am off which is usually only Sunday. I will try to do a 12 hour curve this Sunday.

Fat 0.75 U is a good idea.
Note that as either 0.75F in the units column on the SS or as F0.75
I would not hold that dose for more than 3 cycles. With the skipped shot on 2/14 and 2/15 PM cycle, and the reduction is dose from 1 to 0.75U, his BG numbers have been trending higher.

Do you work 7 days a week? Tests on days off or weekends, or ever a 12 hour curve could be useful information.
Are you away at work for 12 hours? If you get home soon enough, a +10 or +11 is useful information, especially that +11. Some days you'll be able to get more BG tests. Some days you won't.

Think about what is possible with your work/life responsibilities and balance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top