Bear & Lora
Member Since 2018
My cat Bear was diagnosed 8-16-18 with Diabetes. The vet started him on 2 units twice daily. The next week he was monitored and his dosage was raised to 3 units twice daily 8-28-18.
Last night his pre-shot testing was 87 BG. I didn't give him any insulin and because I am very new to this (Home testing for 4 days) I had no idea of the protocol and I immediately fed him instead of stalling.
He is overdue his first shot and he just tested 317 BG. Can anyone help me with lowering his dosage?
The needles I bought at the Vet's office are UltiCare Vet RX U-40 Insulin Syringe and doesn't have 1/4 or 1/2 lines.
Should I go down a unit?
Last night his pre-shot testing was 87 BG. I didn't give him any insulin and because I am very new to this (Home testing for 4 days) I had no idea of the protocol and I immediately fed him instead of stalling.
He is overdue his first shot and he just tested 317 BG. Can anyone help me with lowering his dosage?
The needles I bought at the Vet's office are UltiCare Vet RX U-40 Insulin Syringe and doesn't have 1/4 or 1/2 lines.
Should I go down a unit?
Not stalking you but curiosity got the better of me given the extended cycle and how well Bear has been doing. This is wonderful and yes it means his dose needs reducing more or that he could be heading for diet controlled remission. I am a little worried that even 0.25u might drop him too much right now. He's been bouncing a bit so it's hard to tell exactly how each dose is working. I'm inclined to say skip and see what he does. I'd love to get an opinion from 
) just to be sure he isn't dropping too quickly. Has he eaten anything other than the treats between the shot and now? If not, then I'd try to get him to eat something to try to keep him from dropping too much/too fast.