? Dosing Advice Prozinc 1

Bear & Lora

Member Since 2018
My cat Bear was diagnosed 8-16-18 with Diabetes. The vet started him on 2 units twice daily. The next week he was monitored and his dosage was raised to 3 units twice daily 8-28-18.

Last night his pre-shot testing was 87 BG. I didn't give him any insulin and because I am very new to this (Home testing for 4 days) I had no idea of the protocol and I immediately fed him instead of stalling.

He is overdue his first shot and he just tested 317 BG. Can anyone help me with lowering his dosage?

The needles I bought at the Vet's office are UltiCare Vet RX U-40 Insulin Syringe and doesn't have 1/4 or 1/2 lines.

Should I go down a unit?
 
I see from the "notes" section of your spreadsheet that you're working on getting him to make the switch to only low carb wet food. How far into that are you? I ask because the dosing advice would depend on that. If he's still eating some kibble as well as higher carb, gravy style canned food he'll be able to handle a slightly higher insulin dose. Once he's eating only low carb wet food the dose might have to be reduced.

We know that 3 u is too high a dose at this point. Deciding how much to drop a dose is a challenge. I suggest you go back to 2 u for this upcoming shot. Test him again at +2 to see what he might be planning. These are the guidelines we follow:
  • if +2 is higher than the PS the cycle is likely to be uneventful (ie., no big drop) and you can go to bed in peace if it's evening
  • if it's significantly lower (maybe 100+ points) be prepared to test again at +3 and start intervening with small snacks of low carb food to try "steering" the BG away from a precipitous drop
  • if +2 is similar to PS, get a +3 and if there's no significant drop you can relax a bit. I'd test again around +6 though. All data is good data as we often say here.
I'm guessing at 2 u and am being guided by the mixture of foods he's getting. Once you have a lot of data on your spreadsheet it'll be easier to make better suggestions.

Re fractional dosing: We like 0.25 u dose changes here so if your syringes don't have half unit marks, do your best to eyeball the fractions. Consistency dose to dose is more important than absolute accuracy. It can be really helpful to draw up a "reference" syringe with coloured water at the mark you decide is the fractional dose. Use that syringe as a visual reference for other doses.

Later on we can help you understand how to use U100 syringes and a special conversion chart to give ProZinc. Many fractions are possible with that method.
 
Last edited:
I see from the "notes" section of your spreadsheet that you're working on getting him to make the switch to only low carb wet food. How far into that are you? I ask because the dosing advice would depend on that. If he's still eating some kibble as well as higher carb, gravy style canned food he'll be able to handle a slightly higher insulin dose. Once he's eating only low carb wet food the dose might have to be reduced.

We know that 3 u is too high a dose at this point. Deciding how much to drop a dose is a challenge. I suggest you go back to 2 u for this upcoming shot. Test him again at +2 to see what he might be planning. These are the guidelines we follow:
  • if +2 is higher than the PS the cycle is likely to be uneventful (ie., no big drop) and you can go to bed in peace
  • if it's significantly lower (maybe 100+ points) be prepared to test again at +3 and start intervening with small snacks of low carb food to try "steering" the BG away from a precipitous drop
  • if +2 is similar to PS, get a +3 and if there's no significant drop you can relax a bit. I'd test again around +6 though. All data is good data as we often say here.
I'm guessing at 2 u and am being guided by the mixture of foods he's getting. Once you have a lot of data on your spreadsheet it'll be easier to make better suggestions.

Re fractional dosing: We like 0.25 u dose changes here so if your syringes don't have half unit marks, do your best to eyeball the fractions. Consistency dose to dose is more important than absolute accuracy. It can be really helpful to draw up a "reference" syringe with coloured water at the mark you decide is the fractional dose. Use that syringe as a visual reference for other doses.

Later on we can help you understand how to use U100 syringes and a special conversion chart to give ProZinc. Many fractions are possible with that method.


He didn't have any kibble yesterday because he ate wet very well and with some enthusiasm. I was only giving him very few kibble to bring his calories up to what Dr Pierson's article said was needed for a 16 lb cat. He is majority transitioned to wet. I have a baby scale ordered which will be here Tuesday.

I will go give him his 2 unit shot real quick and feed him and come back to look over and put in my head your information. Thank you so MUCH!
 
I see from the "notes" section of your spreadsheet that you're working on getting him to make the switch to only low carb wet food. How far into that are you? I ask because the dosing advice would depend on that. If he's still eating some kibble as well as higher carb, gravy style canned food he'll be able to handle a slightly higher insulin dose. Once he's eating only low carb wet food the dose might have to be reduced.

We know that 3 u is too high a dose at this point. Deciding how much to drop a dose is a challenge. I suggest you go back to 2 u for this upcoming shot. Test him again at +2 to see what he might be planning. These are the guidelines we follow:
  • if +2 is higher than the PS the cycle is likely to be uneventful (ie., no big drop) and you can go to bed in peace if it's evening
  • if it's significantly lower (maybe 100+ points) be prepared to test again at +3 and start intervening with small snacks of low carb food to try "steering" the BG away from a precipitous drop
  • if +2 is similar to PS, get a +3 and if there's no significant drop you can relax a bit. I'd test again around +6 though. All data is good data as we often say here.
I'm guessing at 2 u and am being guided by the mixture of foods he's getting. Once you have a lot of data on your spreadsheet it'll be easier to make better suggestions.

Re fractional dosing: We like 0.25 u dose changes here so if your syringes don't have half unit marks, do your best to eyeball the fractions. Consistency dose to dose is more important than absolute accuracy. It can be really helpful to draw up a "reference" syringe with coloured water at the mark you decide is the fractional dose. Use that syringe as a visual reference for other doses.

Later on we can help you understand how to use U100 syringes and a special conversion chart to give ProZinc. Many fractions are possible with that method.


I haven't been feeding him any canned food with gravy or sauces only Pate, flaked and freeze dried chicken breast treats.

His dosing schedule is so far out of whack. We were at 11-11:30. I would like to work it back to at least 9 eventually.

As far as tonight's shot 2 units and is Midnight a safe time to dose him since he had his first shot at 1:45 PM?

Wow, this change in BG felt like a truck was heading straight for me head on. I so was not expecting it this quickly.
 
I haven't been feeding him any canned food with gravy or sauces only Pate, flaked and freeze dried chicken breast treats.

His dosing schedule is so far out of whack. We were at 11-11:30. I would like to work it back to at least 9 eventually.

As far as tonight's shot 2 units and is Midnight a safe time to dose him since he had his first shot at 1:45 PM?

Wow, this change in BG felt like a truck was heading straight for me head on. I so was not expecting it this quickly.
Let's see what the 2 u does. As for the timing of tonight's shot I wouldn't give it before 12:45 AM. That's 11 hours from this recent shot. You have the option of skipping the evening shot tonight and going back to your preferred AM time tomorrow. That would be a lot simpler. If the idea of missing a shot concerns you think of it as a "fur shot". When those happen we DON'T give a second (replacement) injection.

Kitties make it their business to surprise us. You'll get used to it. Having a spreadsheet full of data to refer to is a huge help!
 
Hi Lora. You are doing just fine with Bear, he's in good hands and you should be proud of how far you've come so far. Rest assured this will get easier even with all the other responsibilities you have on your plate. Remember to breathe!

I agree with Kris about not shooting before 12:45am especially since he's popped his first green reading and needs a dose adjustment. Doing a longer cycle today and then shooting tomorrow am at your preferred time would be the simplest and safest way to get back on your schedule. I've had to resort to "extended" cycles due to other commitments/responsibilities and it's much easier than trying to ease your way back to preferred time when you get that delayed. Bear will be fine.
 
Let's see what the 2 u does. As for the timing of tonight's shot I wouldn't give it before 12:45 AM. That's 11 hours from this recent shot. You have the option of skipping the evening shot tonight and going back to your preferred AM time tomorrow. That would be a lot simpler. If the idea of missing a shot concerns you think of it as a "fur shot". When those happen we DON'T give a second (replacement) injection.

Kitties make it their business to surprise us. You'll get used to it. Having a spreadsheet full of data to refer to is a huge help!

You know Wednesday Morning's shot might have been a Fur Shot. I heard a noise when I injected the syringe. I looked studiously through his very thick fur and couldn't find any wetness. I just put that on his spreadsheet.
 
Hi Lora. You are doing just fine with Bear, he's in good hands and you should be proud of how far you've come so far. Rest assured this will get easier even with all the other responsibilities you have on your plate. Remember to breathe!

I agree with Kris about not shooting before 12:45am especially since he's popped his first green reading and needs a dose adjustment. Doing a longer cycle today and then shooting tomorrow am at your preferred time would be the simplest and safest way to get back on your schedule. I've had to resort to "extended" cycles due to other commitments/responsibilities and it's much easier than trying to ease your way back to preferred time when you get that delayed. Bear will be fine.

Ok, two agreements from experience is great! I will do that.
 
I used the sniff test after any shot I was iffy about. I think Kris does too. Insulin has a distinct odour. Just another way to check although chances are good you'd feel some wetness but a double check never hurts. :)
 
I used the sniff test after any shot I was iffy about. I think Kris does too. Insulin has a distinct odour. Just another way to check although chances are good you'd feel some wetness but a double check never hurts. :)
You beat me to it! Yes, I sniff if I think a shot went amiss. Smell the insulin sometime when you're drawing up a dose - it's an unmistakeable very strong Band-aid like smell.
 
Last edited:
I see from the "notes" section of your spreadsheet that you're working on getting him to make the switch to only low carb wet food. How far into that are you? I ask because the dosing advice would depend on that. If he's still eating some kibble as well as higher carb, gravy style canned food he'll be able to handle a slightly higher insulin dose. Once he's eating only low carb wet food the dose might have to be reduced.

We know that 3 u is too high a dose at this point. Deciding how much to drop a dose is a challenge. I suggest you go back to 2 u for this upcoming shot. Test him again at +2 to see what he might be planning. These are the guidelines we follow:
  • if +2 is higher than the PS the cycle is likely to be uneventful (ie., no big drop) and you can go to bed in peace if it's evening
  • if it's significantly lower (maybe 100+ points) be prepared to test again at +3 and start intervening with small snacks of low carb food to try "steering" the BG away from a precipitous drop
  • if +2 is similar to PS, get a +3 and if there's no significant drop you can relax a bit. I'd test again around +6 though. All data is good data as we often say here.
I'm guessing at 2 u and am being guided by the mixture of foods he's getting. Once you have a lot of data on your spreadsheet it'll be easier to make better suggestions.

Re fractional dosing: We like 0.25 u dose changes here so if your syringes don't have half unit marks, do your best to eyeball the fractions. Consistency dose to dose is more important than absolute accuracy. It can be really helpful to draw up a "reference" syringe with coloured water at the mark you decide is the fractional dose. Use that syringe as a visual reference for other doses.

Later on we can help you understand how to use U100 syringes and a special conversion chart to give ProZinc. Many fractions are possible with that method.

+2 is 198 ( 119 drop in BG). So we are looking at a possible event. Retesting in an hour.
 
Good call Lora! You've got this. Once you get to the right dose, things will calm down. Will check back in for next test result. :)
 
So that was only a 25 point drop +2 to +3. If I understand the protocol, I feed Bear if it is a significant drop? I don't know if I made a mistake by feeding but Bear usually eats around this time.
 
I think you are probably Ok to leave him till +5. He's slowed down some now and with the food (yes that's fine to feed his usual snack), that should keep him slowed down. He should be fine. I'm thinking he bounced after that beautiful green number but he seems to clear bounces quickly. Just an hypothesis right now that will be proven or disproven with a little more data.
 
Last edited:
Hello Bear and Lora! I've been at work all day so I just saw this conversation. Yes, it's fine to feed him when you normally do. Most of us feed our kitties little snacks throughout the day and you want to keep things normal for him. That is a pretty big drop from preshot but it's NOT unsafe yet...I'd test at +5 as Linda said and let's see what happens there. :)
 
Hello Bear and Lora! I've been at work all day so I just saw this conversation. Yes, it's fine to feed him when you normally do. Most of us feed our kitties little snacks throughout the day and you want to keep things normal for him. That is a pretty big drop from preshot but it's NOT unsafe yet...I'd test at +5 as Linda said and let's see what happens there. :)

Hi Rachel,

It does seem like a big drop, especially since Bear's last shot was reduced by one unit.
 
Hello Bear and Lora! I've been at work all day so I just saw this conversation. Yes, it's fine to feed him when you normally do. Most of us feed our kitties little snacks throughout the day and you want to keep things normal for him. That is a pretty big drop from preshot but it's NOT unsafe yet...I'd test at +5 as Linda said and let's see what happens there. :)


Plus he didn't get his evening shot last night with his 87 BG. I'm confused I will admit.
 
Ok, we have a 243 BG. So this means the food is bringing his BG up? This is a long acting insulin so is he still in jeopardy of having a drop in BG that could be dangerous?
 
Hello Bear and Lora! I've been at work all day so I just saw this conversation. Yes, it's fine to feed him when you normally do. Most of us feed our kitties little snacks throughout the day and you want to keep things normal for him. That is a pretty big drop from preshot but it's NOT unsafe yet...I'd test at +5 as Linda said and let's see what happens there. :)


I will do whatever I have to for Bear's safety but I think we might have to make a Burrito Bear if we have to test him soon. :)
 
Yes, it looks like the food brought him back up. My guess is he'll be fine now. With MOST cats the nadir (mid way point of the cycle, when BG is lowest) is around +5 to +7. This, of course, is ECID (every cat is different) meaning that not all cats will nadir then. We have one here who often nadirs at +3 and another who nadirs at +8. And, of course, the nadir can and does change in some cats. We don't know when Bear's nadir is yet, and only data over time will tell. However, he is in a lovely yellow at +5 and has some food on board to keep him propped up. With the knowledge that he's probably near nadir based on what we know about most cats and the fact that you know he has about 200 points to drop before you'd take action on a hypo, I'm going to say I think he'll be fine tonight.

If you're up and want to grab another test or two, that's fine. If you're not or you both need a break from testing (which it sounds like you might!) that's fine too. I really think he'll be fine tonight and you both deserve a break!

This is very confusing, but we're here to answer any questions you might have! Please don't hesitate to ask..we want to help and we know what a steep learning curve this is!
 
I think you are probably Ok to leave him till +5. He's slowed down some now and with the food (yes that's fine to feed his usual snack), that should keep him slowed down. He should be fine. I'm thinking he bounced after that beautiful green number but he seems to clear bounces quickly. Just an hypothesis right now that will be proven or disproven with a little more data.

I hit the wrong reply, lol. I will do whatever I have to for Bear's safety but I think we might have to make a Towel Burrito Bear if we have to test him soon. :)
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Kris & Teasel

Good Morning & Help. Bear is at a 122, which is pretty dang good. Now I am an inexperienced person for this situation but my math says we are looking at a .5 unit or less???? Could he be starting to get close to a remission???
 
I just checked his spreadsheet about a second before you posted and was thinking about what dose would be best! :woot: Not stalking you but curiosity got the better of me given the extended cycle and how well Bear has been doing. This is wonderful and yes it means his dose needs reducing more or that he could be heading for diet controlled remission. I am a little worried that even 0.25u might drop him too much right now. He's been bouncing a bit so it's hard to tell exactly how each dose is working. I'm inclined to say skip and see what he does. I'd love to get an opinion from @Kris & Teasel, @Rachel or @Djamila who have more experience with ProZinc than I do. Let's see if anyone else is around. Max I would try if giving a dose would be 0.25 but I fear even that might drop him too much.

.
 
I just checked his spreadsheet about a second before you posted and was thinking about what dose would be best! :woot: Not stalking you but curiosity got the better of me given the extended cycle and how well Bear has been doing. This is wonderful and yes it means his dose needs reducing more or that he could be heading for diet controlled remission. I am a little worried that even 0.25u might drop him too much right now. He's been bouncing a bit so it's hard to tell exactly how each dose is working. I'm inclined to say skip and see what he does. I'd love to get an opinion from @Kris & Teasel, @Rachel or @Djamila who have more experience with ProZinc than I do. Let's see if anyone else is around. Max I would try if giving a dose would be 0.25 but I fear even that might drop him too much.

.

You can stalk Bear and I anytime. If we skip I would want to know what his BG is doing every few hours.
 
Also, have you fed yet? If not, can you grab another test real quick?


Just a few freeze dried ckn breast treats. I labeled the corresponding food consumption with the times and testing in my remarks. He last ate at 2 AM -1 oz of wet.
 
Okay, yeah I think I'd skip. You and Bear are still so new to this and he had no shot last night but is STILL at such a low number this morning. I think it's just a bit too soon to start dosing at such a low number.
 
If we skip I would want to know what his BG is doing every few hours.
What I would do is feed Bear then test him again about 3 hours later. If his BG is similar or lower, we'll know his pancreas is working. If he's up a good bit, then it's likely he still needs a little insulin support. I'm betting that his BG will be similar or down. Let's see if my gambling instincts are working! ;)
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Rachel
So looking at yesterday's reading and yesterday's +3 is the exact situation as far as food consumption but with 2 Units yesterday. Yesterday he also hadn't had food for 3 hours since his AMPS. So we are looking at a 96 point variance with 2 Units of insulin.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Rachel

Well today can not really be a full duplicate, the time of day is different (different biorhythms), plus different stressers (his back feet seem to be bothering him more today), and water consumption (who knows).
 
Well the yellow tells me you probably still need some insulin support. That's fairly common and is honestly what I expected. Even if the pancreas IS working, it rarely (if ever) starts working all at once. It sputters on and off for a bit before really kicking in. The 122 you had this morning was nice, but it was at the top end of what we consider normal for a kitty not on insulin here. Usually they have lower numbers.

So tonight, let's see what his BG is. You'll probably want to give insulin, even if it is just a small amount, to give him some support and help keep that BG down. :)
 
AWWW Bear is not quite there yet. DANG!:( It was a long shot but his reactions so far are still very encouraging.

So we are looking at a 96 point variance with 2 Units of insulin.

It would be nice if it were that simple but its not. If you look at Bear's numbers each day, he has definitely been bouncing from some dramatic drops and that really muddies the picture. The trick is to find a dose that doesn't set off the dramatic drops so Bear eases into being in good numbers again and doesn't set off his system's "low sugar" panic button. You have to nudge them down into normal numbers. I think it's clear that 3 units is definitely too much and 2 units is still causing a lot of bouncing and that the ProZinc is lasting well through the cycle for Bear and perhaps causing a tiny bit of overlap.

After the extended cycle yesterday and no shot this AM, his system should be leveling out to it's more normal current state. Right now I'm thinking something between 0.5 and 1 unit might be a good place to start tonight but let's see what his pre shot is. You never know.....he could surprise us all again.:cat:
 
@Rachel @MrWorfMen's Mom

So we were at my brother's wedding. My husband Jeff came home to test Bear. There was a misunderstanding I asked him to post to you and he misunderstood and kept checking for you guys to post to him. Opps! So when I got home I asked what you guys thought. He said no one sent a message. Lol. So he went by the last post of Linda's and gave 0.5. Jeff said Bear's won't hardly eat. He ate 10 Chicken treats and barely any wet. So his PMPS and his +1 BG are on his SS. What do you guys think? Sorry for the misunderstanding. Jeff thought you both must be in bed.
 
I am very happy to see that Bear didn't rise much higher through the cycle. I think the 0.5u was a good call. He'll likely go through this cycle with a little less drama.

I know Bear is not happy with testing but with his shenanigans the last few cycles, I'd be inclined to test him again around +3 before giving him a snack (you dont need any sleep do you?:blackeye:) just to be sure he isn't dropping too quickly. Has he eaten anything other than the treats between the shot and now? If not, then I'd try to get him to eat something to try to keep him from dropping too much/too fast.

Too funny about the communication mix up. I checked in a couple of times and then I DID crash on the sofa. I'll be up for a short bit yet. Will check back in before I head to LALALA land. :)
 
I am very happy to see that Bear didn't rise much higher through the cycle. I think the 0.5u was a good call. He'll likely go through this cycle with a little less drama.

I know Bear is not happy with testing but with his shenanigans the last few cycles, I'd be inclined to test him again around +3 before giving him a snack (you dont need any sleep do you?:blackeye:) just to be sure he isn't dropping too quickly. Has he eaten anything other than the treats between the shot and now? If not, then I'd try to get him to eat something to try to keep him from dropping too much/too fast.

Too funny about the communication mix up. I checked in a couple of times and then I DID crash on the sofa. I'll be up for a short bit yet. Will check back in before I head to LALALA land. :)

Since I hadn't heard from you within the hour of my first post I thought you did go to bed. I went by your earlier advice and had Jeff test at +2 and Uhhh Bear is at 335. I guess I will be confused alot by Bear's BG. I fed Bear after that +2 testing because I felt sorry for him and Jeff's worry transferred very well to me. I also feed him before I go to bed and thought I would go to bed soon, lol. So tell me what do you suggest. Bear just ate a whole ounce of wet.
 
I am very happy to see that Bear didn't rise much higher through the cycle. I think the 0.5u was a good call. He'll likely go through this cycle with a little less drama.

I know Bear is not happy with testing but with his shenanigans the last few cycles, I'd be inclined to test him again around +3 before giving him a snack (you dont need any sleep do you?:blackeye:) just to be sure he isn't dropping too quickly. Has he eaten anything other than the treats between the shot and now? If not, then I'd try to get him to eat something to try to keep him from dropping too much/too fast.

Too funny about the communication mix up. I checked in a couple of times and then I DID crash on the sofa. I'll be up for a short bit yet. Will check back in before I head to LALALA land. :)


This neuropathy issue that Bear possibly has. You had said it is common in Feline Diabetes. The last two days Bear doesn't want to walk far, I would say as little as possible. I know Bear is bouncing all over with his BG, if it is neuropathy can he or would he get worse?
 
Ok so as confusing as it seems, the preshot 291 and the +1 278 are virtually the same reading. If Bear is now up to 335 and you've just fed him, he'll probably be fine for the night. Now that said, he's being a tricky soul so I would leave a bit more food out for him overnight. If you do happen to get up middle of the night, grab a test but otherwise I think he'll be just fine.
 
I am very happy to see that Bear didn't rise much higher through the cycle. I think the 0.5u was a good call. He'll likely go through this cycle with a little less drama.

I know Bear is not happy with testing but with his shenanigans the last few cycles, I'd be inclined to test him again around +3 before giving him a snack (you dont need any sleep do you?:blackeye:) just to be sure he isn't dropping too quickly. Has he eaten anything other than the treats between the shot and now? If not, then I'd try to get him to eat something to try to keep him from dropping too much/too fast.

Too funny about the communication mix up. I checked in a couple of times and then I DID crash on the sofa. I'll be up for a short bit yet. Will check back in before I head to LALALA land. :)


I
Ok so as confusing as it seems, the preshot 291 and the +1 278 are virtually the same reading. If Bear is now up to 335 and you've just fed him, he'll probably be fine for the night. Now that said, he's being a tricky soul so I would leave a bit more food out for him overnight. If you do happen to get up middle of the night, grab a test but otherwise I think he'll be just fine.

Ok, that sounds like a good deal for me. You know Bear's dosing schedule has been somewhat chaotic and I really want to keep it on track, so getting some sleep would be great for me. No need to answer my other question tonight. Let's get some sleep. :)
 
As far as the neuropathy is concerned, is he walking on his hocks or just seemingly week in the back legs? Cats recover from the neuropathy as their BG gets regulated and some folks give them a supplement called Zobaline (you can order it online) to help as well. Some of what you are seeing is possibly just Bear feeling off with all the ups and downs of his BG lately. Some cats tend to get a bit lethargic when they are bouncing around like Bear has been.

I would suggest just to be on the safe side particularly given he wasn't eating tonight that you get some Ketone testing strips (they can be dipped in urine) and check him for ketones just to be keep an eye on him. The other thing you can pick up is U100 syringes which can be used with a conversion chart (I think Kris mentioned this before) to give more precise and partial unit doses.

Don't think I'll be around for tomorrow morning's shot (going to a train show) but Kris, Rachel and Djamilla likely will be, so post for help. If you don't get a response in ProZinc forum in a reasonable timeframe, you can always post in Health as it gets more traffic and there might be someone there to help you out. I would stick to the recommendation of no shot if he is under 200 unless you have someone monitoring with you at this point in time.

Signing off. Sweet dreams.
 
Hi Lora. I was just reading through your thread here and shaking my head a bit. What a couple of days you've had! I'd like to summarize/infer a bit and make sure I'm understanding all of this. It sounds like...

1. Bear has just recently been taken off of all kibble - like in the past week? Is he still getting any at all? Or is he all on low carb food and freeze dried treats now? No judgement either way - it just helps us decide on the best dosing advice.
2. He has been on insulin since 8/16, and you started home testing on 9/24 using a human meter?
3. The 3u dose was determined by the vet and was changed based on the PMPS on 9/27?

Can you let me know if I've got that right? I'd love to help you get your Bear stabilized a bit and want to make sure I'm understanding where things are before moving forward.
 
Hi Lora. I was just reading through your thread here and shaking my head a bit. What a couple of days you've had! I'd like to summarize/infer a bit and make sure I'm understanding all of this. It sounds like...

1. Bear has just recently been taken off of all kibble - like in the past week? Is he still getting any at all? Or is he all on low carb food and freeze dried treats now? No judgement either way - it just helps us decide on the best dosing advice.
2. He has been on insulin since 8/16, and you started home testing on 9/24 using a human meter?
3. The 3u dose was determined by the vet and was changed based on the PMPS on 9/27?

Can you let me know if I've got that right? I'd love to help you get your Bear stabilized a bit and want to make sure I'm understanding where things are before moving forward.

Thank you for responding. I know both of us could use some help. Yes you have everything correct except, Bear's dosage was increased to 3 Units August, 28th. I will tag you on the other Threads on the Health Forum.

I think Bear and I have been on a rollercoaster since he was transitioned. He has not had any high calorie Kibble since 9-26-18 and it was only 5 pieces to get his calories up.
 
Hi Lora. I was just reading through your thread here and shaking my head a bit. What a couple of days you've had! I'd like to summarize/infer a bit and make sure I'm understanding all of this. It sounds like...

1. Bear has just recently been taken off of all kibble - like in the past week? Is he still getting any at all? Or is he all on low carb food and freeze dried treats now? No judgement either way - it just helps us decide on the best dosing advice.
2. He has been on insulin since 8/16, and you started home testing on 9/24 using a human meter?
3. The 3u dose was determined by the vet and was changed based on the PMPS on 9/27?

Can you let me know if I've got that right? I'd love to help you get your Bear stabilized a bit and want to make sure I'm understanding where things are before moving forward.

August 26th, 2018 is when he went to 3 Units twice daily. My coffee hasn't kicked in well enough, lol.
 
Back
Top