Deb & Wink
Member Since 2013
Re: Blood Glucose HIGH but Fructosamine LOW
Lantus can last 15-18 hours or more in a cat. We make use of the overlap effect between the two shots to keep the BG's at the correct levels.
You might want to go over to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum to read the Stickies over there about Lantus. They are at the beginning of the list of topics, have a star icon next to them and a little lock symbol. The best ones are New to the Group and Tight Regulation Protocol. Read all of the stickies when you have some time. You might want to read Shooting and Handling Low Numbers also.
On your understanding of the depot, good, very good.
#1 You got it.
#2 Small correction. Some of the excess insulin from an early shot will go to storage, but some will be used by the body. You may see some lower numbers with an early shot.
#3 yes, minimum of 6 cycles (12 hrs in a cycle) to hold a dose, UNLESS you get a BG under 50. That is an automatic reduction is dose.
Hold this 0.25 dose for 3 more cycles and then we will reevaluate.
Mariko, You are really getting the hang of managing diabetes with Lucy and learning so much. I equate this process to a crash course, graduate college level in managing the diabetes. It's tough, stressful emotionally, spiritually, physically. You get an A so far. Be sure to take some time for yourself to relax and enjoy life.
Mariko, you are the best mommabean any cat could wish for. This made me cry, that you love Lucy so much to take care of her so well. I bet she gets the best hugs in the world. If I die and come back as a cat, I would want you as my mommabean.This make it impossible to go on vacation, but it's a deal I made with Lucy, I don't go away, you stay happy, not sick.
Lantus can last 15-18 hours or more in a cat. We make use of the overlap effect between the two shots to keep the BG's at the correct levels.
You might want to go over to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum to read the Stickies over there about Lantus. They are at the beginning of the list of topics, have a star icon next to them and a little lock symbol. The best ones are New to the Group and Tight Regulation Protocol. Read all of the stickies when you have some time. You might want to read Shooting and Handling Low Numbers also.
On your understanding of the depot, good, very good.
#1 You got it.
#2 Small correction. Some of the excess insulin from an early shot will go to storage, but some will be used by the body. You may see some lower numbers with an early shot.
#3 yes, minimum of 6 cycles (12 hrs in a cycle) to hold a dose, UNLESS you get a BG under 50. That is an automatic reduction is dose.
Hold this 0.25 dose for 3 more cycles and then we will reevaluate.
Mariko, You are really getting the hang of managing diabetes with Lucy and learning so much. I equate this process to a crash course, graduate college level in managing the diabetes. It's tough, stressful emotionally, spiritually, physically. You get an A so far. Be sure to take some time for yourself to relax and enjoy life.