Dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
Hi,

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ogEFwwcYHf7ZLndyYe9964BwQroQf-rnPZM3sUqQOAc/edit?usp=sharing

This is Silver's spreadsheet and I dont know what is going on or what to dose. He came out of remission a month ago and I started him on 0.5u. Following the SLGS protocol, I dropped his dose to 0.25 when he went under 5 (not sure US numbers but I think its multiply by 18?). Anyways, he then went below 5 again and so I dropped him to half of 0.25. But I am seeing horrible blacks and reds so have gradually increased him again. Am I doing the right thing? Please someone help.

I work and commute so I am gone 12 hrs a day during the week and can only get proper tests in at the weekends so I know its hard to read. He does seem to go low during the day but so high at AMPS and PMPS.
 
since you aren't there during the week, and you had a huge bounce to black....
I think you should stick with o.5 for this week.... let the dose settle in and see how it goes.....I might even lean on the skinny side for safety.

Does he have an auto feeder so he can bring himself up if needed while you are gone? You could also get some freeze dried raw (like stella and chewy's ) even if you have to leave it dry in a bowl.

Do your best to get an out the door test.... and an in the door test and that will give us a little more data.
You might have to adjust your shot time to do that..... so that he gets his shot at least an hour ( if not two) before you have to walk out the door.

I think that likely just as you caught on 3 Nov that he is dropping during the cycle and then bouncing right back up so all you are seeing are those highs....
We want to keep him safe.
 
Hi there and sorry about the lost remission; I can relate......

I was going to say what Rhiannon said about changing your shot times so that you could get a +1 or +2 test in before you leave so that you would know how the cycle is going and be able to steer with some higher carb food if needed. That would be really helpful and give you a little more comfort leaving him.
 
The other thing that can help is getting a bit more data on the night time cycles. You want to spot how low a dose is taking him and if you aren't home during the day, the night data can help fill in the picture. According to SLGS, you are to hold a dose for 7 days, unless he goes below 90 (5.0). That would have meant holding the 0.25 unit dose for 7 days (starting November 1st), then doing a curve and spot checks, before deciding to increase to 0.5 units. Now that you are on 0.5 units, I would focus on getting as much data as you can in the mid cycle, and see where to go next.

The high numbers you saw before could have been a result of a bounce, in reaction to going lower than he's used to.
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Good luck!
 
since you aren't there during the week, and you had a huge bounce to black....
I think you should stick with o.5 for this week.... let the dose settle in and see how it goes.....I might even lean on the skinny side for safety.

Does he have an auto feeder so he can bring himself up if needed while you are gone? You could also get some freeze dried raw (like stella and chewy's ) even if you have to leave it dry in a bowl.

Do your best to get an out the door test.... and an in the door test and that will give us a little more data.
You might have to adjust your shot time to do that..... so that he gets his shot at least an hour ( if not two) before you have to walk out the door.

I think that likely just as you caught on 3 Nov that he is dropping during the cycle and then bouncing right back up so all you are seeing are those highs....
We want to keep him safe.
I wish I could adjust shot time but I can’t possibly. I leave at 6am not back til 6:30pm. Not possible to test outside those hours. I can’t leave food down as the other cat would eat it and I have no option to separate them.
 
Hi there and sorry about the lost remission; I can relate......

I was going to say what Rhiannon said about changing your shot times so that you could get a +1 or +2 test in before you leave so that you would know how the cycle is going and be able to steer with some higher carb food if needed. That would be really helpful and give you a little more comfort leaving him.

I already get up at the crack of dawn sny ata. Can’t manage an hour earlier. Thanks anyways.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top