Dosing advice please :)

Status
Not open for further replies.
She had greens 3 cycles ago so I would hold a little longer. If you don't see greens in the next 2-3 cycles, then increase to 3.25 units. I don't think it's time to think about fattening up your shots yet.
 
This is where being clear what approach to dosing you're using matters. If you are following SLGS, the several drops in numbers below 90 from 10/3 and thereafter signaled the need for a dose reduction. If you are following TR, you don't reduce the dose unless numbers drop below 50. For SLGS, with the exception of the one dose reduction on 10/11, you've held the dose for a very long time. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 to 5 days, depending on whether nadirs are over or under 200, respectively.

I'm a big fan of TR. In the last week or so, nadirs have been above 86. That leaves plenty of room to increase the dose.
 
This is where being clear what approach to dosing you're using matters. If you are following SLGS, the several drops in numbers below 90 from 10/3 and thereafter signaled the need for a dose reduction. If you are following TR, you don't reduce the dose unless numbers drop below 50. For SLGS, with the exception of the one dose reduction on 10/11, you've held the dose for a very long time. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 to 5 days, depending on whether nadirs are over or under 200, respectively.

I'm a big fan of TR. In the last week or so, nadirs have been above 86. That leaves plenty of room to increase the dose.

So you're thinking it's fine for me to bump her up. I suppose in one sense I'm testing her enough for TR. So when do we stop increasing the dose on TR? And am I correct in thinking that I should base her dose on the lowest she goes in her cycle? I guess even after all this time I'm still a little bit scared lol
 
If you are testing enough for TR, I would go that way too.

So when do we stop increasing the dose on TR
They need what they need as far as insulin goes. And yes, you are correct that the increases are based on the nadirs with some consideration to the Pre Shot number. With her nadirs being mostly in 90's with this dose as of lately, I would increase the next cycle as long as you can monitor her and have plenty of supplies. If you'd rather wait until a AM cycle to increase, that's fine too.
 
Karen said everything I would have said. TR can be a bit off-putting in the beginning. (It was probably less anxiety producing when all we were doing was TR -- everybody here was doing TR until relatively recently so it was what everyone did.) For a newly diagnosed cat, it's the only approach that has the research to back up it's effectiveness for getting a kitty into remission.
 
As much as you are testing, I would follow TR to help get her regulated faster . You are doing a great job testing her and being a diligent care giver! :cat:

Thank you so much. I do believe however Molly has other plans about the increase lol. She just tested 3.1 (55) Hopefuuly she's done dropping but I will keep watching and checking her. But I'm sure I'm correct in thinking to hold this dose for another little bit, yes?
 
She sure is but sadly right back to yellow for amps. She had a poop prior to me testing her that was a little on the soft side for her, so not sure if that influenced her number.
 
If you are doing TR, then give 3u this morning. She hasn't earned a reduction yet.

When I looked at the SS, I noticed you are changing vials or cartridges of Lantus every month. May I ask why?
 
If you are doing TR, then give 3u this morning. She hasn't earned a reduction yet.

When I looked at the SS, I noticed you are changing vials or cartridges of Lantus every month. May I ask why?

It was actually suggested I increase her .25. But after her numbers last night I'm not sure I should. The first couple cartridges half went down the sink and some even on the ceiling lol trying to get her dose just right. The last change looks quick because I finished of the cartridge I was using prior to the Levermir. But I'm getting better at my draws now but before I would rather waste it and be correct in her dose
 
It was actually suggested I increase her .25. But after her numbers last night I'm not sure I should. The first couple cartridges half went down the sink and some even on the ceiling lol trying to get her dose just right. The last change looks quick because I finished of the cartridge I was using prior to the Levermir. But I'm getting better at my draws now but before I would rather waste it and be correct in her dose
With that 56, there is no room to increase. This is turning out to be a good dose, after all. :D

That makes sense about the insulin going quick. :)
 
Cats are very, very resilient.
No dose advice from me - but I suggest you do everything you can to know your kitty, her reactions to insulin and her limits. I see you can do lots of testing on Molly, that helps for sure. Take advantage of it as every kitty is unique.
The ultimate target is to get the kitty into remission and regain the good life without pierced ears and tired kidneys (for the kitty) and sleepless nights (for the owners) - and for that, as far as we (wife and myself) know and follow, kitty has to be the majority of time between 2.8 and 7 (50 and 126 - greens with some blues) on human meters - that's where healthy cats sit.
Some kitties have to stay low in order to regulate the BG curve. At one moment every cat will have go low and stay low in order to have a chance for remission.
Make sure you have on hand some HC food (for emergencies only) - usually a LC food does all the tricks even if the BG is around to the danger zone (2.2 or 40).

Be patient...don't be afraid.....and Good Luck !
 
Last edited:
Thanks so much :) She's been seeing greens and blues more frequently lately, but she still likes to creep up to those yellows. So praying soon she will decide it's ok to be in the greens.
 
Some kitties just gotta bounce!!!
cat1.gif


But really....she's looking better and better!! It's been several weeks since she was in the stinky pinkies!! (anti-jinx)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top