DOSING ADVICE PLEASE - LOUIE IN TEXAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohbell

Member Since 2011
I dont know who has seen or been following the information on Louie but I have been working with Sara and Louie since Thursday nite. Been posting numbers, food, etc.
She has been a great momma bean....trying to do this with no puter access.... working thru me, me asking advice and she is a bit frustrated at the moment. She has stayed home, done her testing like a gooood girl....
She has just tested and he is back up 432!
he was 329 at +7 and now at +9 is 432.
He only at friskeys low carb around two hours ago. she has taken up the food for the pmps... should be soon.
PLEASE ANY ADVICE WOULD HELP
He is getting 1 unit pzibcp.....


her vet just told her to shoot 2 units and watch him! she will not do that tho.
sorry to 911, but she needs to go to work and wants to know what to do! Can be quite hard going thru me on this, so tytyt for all the help
 
It is hard to make sense of the numbers. Could you possibly put together a spreadsheet for her so we could see what is happening? You can set it up and say she has the right to edit.

If I get the jest of it, with one unit he has gone up early, and then surfed until +7 or so and then gone up.

Early nadirs are not uncommon with some cats first on PZI. Most often, once they have been on the insulin a few days, the nadir is closer to 6.

If she wants to increase to 1.25, that should be fine. But she needs to hold that dose awhile and get some data on how he is responding. She also needs to keep on top of the ketone testing.

Remember, this takes a while. 400s are not that awful for pre shots this early in the game. Patience, patience.
 
Have not heard from Louie's mommabean yet, but she will come here today and make a spreadsheet! :smile:
Could someone please direct me to where I can get it???? Want to be prepared when she gets here.
tyty for all the help with Louie thru Beans mammabean... I know it is more difficult going thru someone else instead of directly to the family bean. But with that said, lets put or paw fingers in a crossing and hope for low numbers from Louie this amps. Should be in a couple hrs.
 
Goggle and FdmB have not been playing well together. Depending on her search engine, she may be able sign into Goggle, search Google docs, then Templates for either FDMB spreadsheet or FD spreadsheet. If that doesn't work, try the method in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130
 
Hello all,
Sara has set up a spreadsheet now, but when she went home, Louie was 410 at +5??????? on 1.25 of PZI BCP as of pm last nite and am today???
She has also taken my ketone strips home and will try to get a test in today/tonite
what else could be going ON?????
He just went to the vet 1 wk ago Thursday I believe!
 
Hopefully once we can look at the whole spreadsheet, things will make more sense. Also, could you please post over on the PZI forum also? Although it isn't as busy as Health, you will get more PZI eyes.
 
Ok, time for Louies am shot..
amps 271

last nite
pmps: 449
+6 = 141
on 1.25 unit pzi....
she has to leave soon to go to work and wont be able to test anymore today and wants advice what to shoot today?



but his curve checks never really came down yesterday:
thought she might have fur shot???
amps: 417
+5 = 410
+8.5 = 430
pmps: 449

she does have a spreadsheet now, but will have to update once she gets to work
 
Probably too late but 1 unit looks good., especially if she will be around. His preshots are coming down. Will be glad when we can see everything on a spreadsheet.

Noticed Carl suggested .5 on PZI because she WON't be around. That sounds good.
 
Question...what time (eastern) does louie normally get shots so that we'll know when to be around?
Also, it would be awesome to start a fresh post each day. Sometimes hard to tell if the 911 is "now" or if it's an older post that hadn't had the 911 removed from it yet.

So what did she end up shooting?
carl
 
Sue, Shelly called me and I looked at the 'alltogethnows' (?) whole ss and I said....a fatty.
And leave plenty of food out.
Hmmmm, still the daredevil I suppose. But at least we were close.
 
OK, I guess I'm a little confused. First, I didn't look at the SS, since it was stated it wasn't updated, plus I was on my phone when I saw the 911 and SS and my phone don't play nice together. Too hard to read em. Plus it looked like the 2 posts had been out there for half an hour and hadn't been replied to, so since I saw the one in PZI, I responded to it rather than this one.
I think I said ".5 tops".

Here's what I was thinkin'
Last night he went from 449 to 141 (75% or better) on 1.25. The vet said 2units????? wow. So, I figured even 1.25 was too much, since Louie didn't have 300+ points to spare, right?

I was thinking "okay, half that would be good, and figured he'd see green on that. And then since nobody was going to be around to watch, I play safe (wimpy) and said .5u, figuring it would be safe. I didn't have time (I was working and driving at the time) to go into any detail, just wanted to get an answer out there in case she was waiting to shoot.

Yesterday's numbers just confused the issue, I thought. Either it was a fur-shot, or he had no reaction at all to the insulin. Looks like some got in because it's basically a flat line, all the numbers within meter tolerance.

Is it the "don't wanna lose momentum" thing? I just thought 1 was too much, and anything over that definitely too much.
What am I missing?

Carl

And how's Louie doing? Anybody heard?
 
This is Ohbell, and I have her permission to access under her name while she is on the phone directing me....
Louie is fine today, she took the day to curve a bit and is with him right now.... His numbers, however are not that great today.... Spreadsheet is updated and thanks to everyone helping us.
Eastern time would be 11-11:30., but sometimes advice is needed first and Louie does not want to either eat or has (only once) thrown up, which as postponed this time.....

I will try to help Sara & Louie with the spreadsheet..... does anyone know how to share that between us?????
 
On the spreadsheet over to the right, choose Share. You should be able to put in her email and say she can edit.

Most obvious question - is something different at night? More or less food? At least right now his numbers are lower at night.
 
Wow, looking at the whole spreadsheet now, I'm beginning to wonder if the blue last night was a wonky test.

Was today just a bounce from the low last night? The first couple days on PZI, it just looks like it didn't do all that much, but that could be just an adjustment from humulin to PZI, and his trying to get used to the slower acting insulin? I dunno, I'm really confused the SS. Take one or two cycles and you can see what looks like bouncing, or maybe like you said earlier, a fur shot or two.
She shot 1.25 for the first time, and the next AM cycle was either a bounce or a fur shot. Then the next night, the same sequence. A better drop, and then today, either a bounce or a fur shot. I just don't see a "right dose" indicated yet, but that is mainly due to different doses over a short period of time, and just in general, it hasn't been enough time overall for a pattern to emerge.

Yikes, I'm no help, am I?
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top