Lori&Scout
Member Since 2012
Nipper has diabetes, pancreatitis, and probably acromelagy. My spreadsheet is out of date, sorry for that. I stopped updating it when I switched her from Caninsulin to Lantus and the readings got much more boring (i.e. consistent). Here's the summary: I've been gradually increasing her Lantus dose (first 0.5U per week and then 1U per week) since late January, and she's up to 11U. BG is now consistently between 10-15 mmol/L (180-270) and a little lower at nadir then before injection but not by much. She's not gone below 10 (180) on Lantus before today. My goal has been to gently try to break through this insulin resistance and then back off the dose and see how she does.
The past week she's been vomiting more than usual (vomiting on empty stomach, not vomiting food/hairballs), eating less, and seems a bit off (sleeping more, meowing less). This happens when her pancreas is bad so I haven't been terribly concerned. BG has been in her normal range since Monday night, but I was away for the weekend and my friend was catsitting so I didn't get any readings for during the weekend.
Then this happened:
PMPS: 14.6 (263)
+10.5: 5.5 (99)
+12: 4.4 (79)
I had injected 12U before bed (first 12U dose after a week of 11U). Woke up and bowls were still mostly full so she didn't eat much in the night. I encouraged her to eat at +10.5 and +12 but she didn't eat a full meal either time.
I didn't give morning injection. I plan to keep testing hourly until it goes back up and intervene with honey if it goes any lower. She is snoring on the couch next to me. Anything else I need to do?
I don't know what to shoot this evening. If her appetite is not back to normal I need to give a lower dose, but not sure what to give. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Lori
The past week she's been vomiting more than usual (vomiting on empty stomach, not vomiting food/hairballs), eating less, and seems a bit off (sleeping more, meowing less). This happens when her pancreas is bad so I haven't been terribly concerned. BG has been in her normal range since Monday night, but I was away for the weekend and my friend was catsitting so I didn't get any readings for during the weekend.
Then this happened:
PMPS: 14.6 (263)
+10.5: 5.5 (99)
+12: 4.4 (79)
I had injected 12U before bed (first 12U dose after a week of 11U). Woke up and bowls were still mostly full so she didn't eat much in the night. I encouraged her to eat at +10.5 and +12 but she didn't eat a full meal either time.
I didn't give morning injection. I plan to keep testing hourly until it goes back up and intervene with honey if it goes any lower. She is snoring on the couch next to me. Anything else I need to do?
I don't know what to shoot this evening. If her appetite is not back to normal I need to give a lower dose, but not sure what to give. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Lori

