? Dosing Advice - Out of Town for a Week and Still Dropping Below 50

Jack the Cat

Member Since 2019
Would like your guidance on dosing for Jack the Cat. I have to leave town on Thursday for a week. I have a vet tech as a pet sitter.

Have been testing for 10+ days now and have reduced Jack's insulin from the vet recommended 2U x 2 daily to right now .25 U x 2 daily. His numbers are looking good now except he still has below 50s most days usually at +4. I have been home to react but have to leave town. I know he is better since he is getting sassy again, more alert and is walking so much better but don't want to put him in jeopardy while I am gone.

Some have recommended going to .10 U, but I do not have syringes that go below 1U yet. I have them ordered and they will be delivered by the time I return home. In fact I am just eyeballing going down to .50 and .25. My eyes aren't good enough to go to .10.

He is fed LC wet food at shot time. Recently was able to get him off kibble. But he has been going down below 50 most mornings.

I was thinking of leaving some kibble (Purina Diabetic) out for him (and his partner Rufus) to graze on since my pet sitter can only come twice daily to feed and shoot. And I am sure it will be as hard for her to gauge the .25 as it is for me at the moment.

I was thinking maybe some food would offset his dives into the 50s until I can get back home when I have time and equipment to get him to all blues and greens.

Any guidance is most appreciated.
 
I think your cat wants to be diet controlled very soon. Nowaywoukd I feel comfortable shooting .25 with a nadir of 43 today. Test calls for a reduction. You could try experimenting with colored water and counting drops to get a consistent. .10 and then leave a syringe with colored water to use as a gauge. You could also use digital calipers. I would be scared to continue at .25 with only preshot tests while you are gone. I would not riska hypo with nobody there to assist Jack.
 
I think your cat wants to be diet controlled very soon. Nowaywoukd I feel comfortable shooting .25 with a nadir of 43 today. Test calls for a reduction. You could try experimenting with colored water and counting drops to get a consistent. .10 and then leave a syringe with colored water to use as a gauge. You could also use digital calipers. I would be scared to continue at .25 with only preshot tests while you are gone. I would not riska hypo with nobody there to assist Jack.
 
I would reduce to 0.1. I realize you don’t have syringes with 1/ 2 unit markings but I do believe that your syringes have a zero line. That’s the very first line under the hub. Right under that line is 0.1. I would reduce at his next shot. Usually the depot depletes in about 4 cycles. When you leave on Thursday, if his numbers are still flirting with going under 50, then you might want to withhold insulin while you are gone. But ,I would try the 0.1 dose first.
 
I think I can get digital calipers tomorrow but can you explain what I would do with them?

Sorry this is not anything I have ever dealt with.
 
I would reduce to 0.1. I realize you don’t have syringes with 1/ 2 unit markings but I do believe that your syringes have a zero line. That’s the very first line under the hub. Right under that line is 0.1. I would reduce at his next shot. Usually the depot depletes in about 4 cycles. When you leave on Thursday, if his numbers are still flirting with going under 50, then you might want to withhold insulin while you are gone. But ,I would try the 0.1 dose first.
 
I think your cat wants to be diet controlled very soon. Nowaywoukd I feel comfortable shooting .25 with a nadir of 43 today. Test calls for a reduction. You could try experimenting with colored water and counting drops to get a consistent. .10 and then leave a syringe with colored water to use as a gauge. You could also use digital calipers. I would be scared to continue at .25 with only preshot tests while you are gone. I would not riska hypo with nobody there to assist Jack.

I was able to dose .10 today and Jack had great numbers. Thanks for the guidance.
 
I would reduce to 0.1. I realize you don’t have syringes with 1/ 2 unit markings but I do believe that your syringes have a zero line. That’s the very first line under the hub. Right under that line is 0.1. I would reduce at his next shot. Usually the depot depletes in about 4 cycles. When you leave on Thursday, if his numbers are still flirting with going under 50, then you might want to withhold insulin while you are gone. But ,I would try the 0.1 dose first.

Thank you for pointing out that my syringes have that marking.

I dosed Jack at .10 today and he was all greens and blues...am so happy.

Couldn't have done it without your support and guidance...thank you so very much!
 
Great to see you're happy with the results :)

Tomorrow when you write your daily post make sure that you mention again in the title that you'll be away and want to reassess dose amount while you're gone. Since Jack is still in the greens there is a possibility that it could be safer to forgo insulin while you're gone. Make sure to mention that you have vet techs watching him and whether or not they will be testing his BG. :D

Nice day today Jack :D:D
 
Great to see you're happy with the results :)

Tomorrow when you write your daily post make sure that you mention again in the title that you'll be away and want to reassess dose amount while you're gone. Since Jack is still in the greens there is a possibility that it could be safer to forgo insulin while you're gone. Make sure to mention that you have vet techs watching him and whether or not they will be testing his BG. :D

Nice day today Jack :D:D

Yes will do. Vet tech was just here going over all Jack's stuff and she said the very same thing! She is going to test him both AM and PM and record numbers for me.

It's been a good day for Jack and me!
 
Wowowowowowowow Jack's progress is beautiful! It does look like Jack wants to be diet controlled at this point.

I'm not sure about leaving dry food out for Jack with the pet sitter. It makes sense but we don't want to ruin his progress while you're away. Perhaps tomorrow when you post you can put that question in your title and someone with more experience can weigh in.
 
Back
Top